We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor

The Manor
52 Gardner Street, Brighton, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #375 of 908 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stopped off for lunch here, and were impressed with the menu which catered well for veggies as well as meat eaters. I had cheese and tomato tart and chips from the specials board, my daughter had stuffed roast chicken, also a special, and my son just fancied a bowl of chips. We also had hot chocolates with cream and marshmallows - delicious!!
The food arrived in good time, from the friendly but busy waitresses. It was all very nice, very fresh, and we felt we had chosen well. The place got busier and busier while we were there, understandably so! The bill came to about £26, which is reasonable in Brighton.
It's certainly somewhere we would go back to, next time we are in Brighton.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    12
    3
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited twice in two days due to the excellent friendly service. We stumbled across here in the North Laines, and were pleased, as we didn't want to got to Starbucks ect for coffee. The hot chocolate with cream is excellent, brownies scones and tea cakes all very good, shame there was no cake when we visited. Hubs had the almost healthy breakfast as his second breakfast of the day, it looked very nice as did bacon sandwiches. Didn't go for lunch as we had a booking elsewhere, which was a disappointment, should have had lunch at the Manor.
Dogs welcome and good baby changing facilities with nappy bags ect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steyning, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brighton's best kept secret!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

A freezing cold Sunday morning but we received a lovely warm welcome from the waitress and were given a window table to watch the world go by. Our breakfast arrived quickly and was delicious, the service was friendly and attentive, the coffee the best I've found in this area. The Manor seemed to be filled with locals and regulars which speaks volumes for its food and atmosphere, so whilst I normally think life too short to write a review, The Manor is a secret that needs to be shared. Go visit it!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing: stale, mouldy sandwiches & poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We took some friends who were visiting Brighton for lunch here - and wished we hadn't. The warm salad was poor value: a few chunks of unappetising-looking sweet potato and feta cheese for just under £6.

However, the real let down were the sandwiches: the bread was very stale, the pulled pork filling bland, slimy and there wasn't much of it. But the most unacceptable thing was that we found mould on the crusts of the bread, showing just how stale the bread was. We pointed this out to the senior waitress who made no apology.

To be fair, our friend enjoyed their jacket potato (you can't ruin that!) and they didn't charge us for the two mouldy sandwiches, not that I would have paid for them anyway. We would have felt slightly better about the situation if the staff had made some form of apology to us for such a disappointing lunch. We definitely won't be returning.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great "super cafe"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Lovely "super cafe" that served a great mix of well cooked and served food, lovely service - we'll visit again!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Manor also viewed

Hove, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.