We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Memories of India Brighton Marina

Memories of India Brighton Marina
The Boardwalk | 9b The Waterfront, Brighton BN2 5WA, England
+44 1273 600088
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #304 of 822 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Really good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I went for the lunchtime 2-course offer - 7.35 for 2 courses, inc rice and naan. sounded like great value.

was VERY concerned when i was told that there were no onion bhajis - it was really quiet and really, what Indian can't knock up an onion bhaji, but...

...when the 5 lots of starters did come, they were all really tasty - classics, chicken tikka, sheek kebab, samosas and an aloo pattie kinda thing. AND, when the mains came, they were all really good too - ranging from a korma to a jalfrezi to a rogan josh. it was one of those curries where every mouthful made us all go 'oo, that's gooood' - tender meat, not oily, well spiced, good heat. naans very good too.

read the reviews here only after going. well, all i can say is that if the food comes from a microwave and/or is from frozen, then all the more power to them - was a really really good curry.

Service was a little abrupt, but functional...

and definitely good value for the buffet.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    54
    23
    17
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Menu and good quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

A very tasty meal with some unusual dishes on the menu.
The fried squid starter and Tiger Prawn/Scallop main were excellent.
Location and ambience very pleasant but service could have been better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very inconsistent!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

So when you read the reviews below of 'Memories of India' at the Brighton Marina, I'm not surprised if you're confused. So are we! We've eaten here a few times now over a period of about a year. We've had great meals & dreadful food - which was our last experience a few nights ago. Still confused? So are we. The service was terrible - I had to walk over to the bar to ask if we could order our food (the place was hardly busy). Stale poppadoms, starters that were OK but nothing too special & horrible mains (spicy lamb shank - yuk!). We topped this all off with coffees that we sipped then left. Say no more. So what's going on with this place? The problem is, how can you trust somewhere that's so hit & miss? My guess is that they probably have a management issue - when the place is well managed the service & food is great, when it's not, well, enough said. So come on guys, you've got a great venue & can produce fantastic & interesting Indian food - so how about making sure it's great every night?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Went here for my birthday meal and couldn't have made a better choice! Excellent greeting on the way in. We were seated very quickly and ordered our starters, the food arrived quickly and tasted fantastic! Then we had our main, which was delicious, I myself ordered Chicken Tikka Masala and I cant fault it, there was lots of the food which is great and really represents great value for money, the waiters are friendly and talkative, they really make you feel welcome.The atmosphere in the restaurant is brilliant and the music played in the background adds to the welcoming and tranquil atmosphere, I would recommend Memories of India to anyone looking for top class Indian cuisine and first class waiter service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great service !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We've eaten at this restaurant a couple of times now and really enjoy the food. There are lots of choices, the usual items that you'd expect to see on an Indian menu with some delicious specialities ( duck and lamb choices ). Very good service , nice atmosphere and décor.. Can't wait to visit again and try their Sunday Buffet which has starter, main and dessert for £9.95 , great value !!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Memories of India Brighton Marina also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Memories of India Brighton Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memories of India Brighton Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.