We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Krua Anne

Krua Anne
19 Kensington Gardens | BN1 4AL, Brighton, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #358 of 876 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brighton
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Nice spice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully flavoured food, good service and fun atmosphere. Food arrived very quickly and all the veg was really fresh and crisp. Was impressed by the menu note about vegetarian options, encouraging you to ask for fish sauce free option if required.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My Husband and me thought we would try this place after having a day out in Brighton. We mainly went as we love Thai food and the price seemed reasonable (from £5.95 for a main dish at lunch time).

We went quite late for lunch time (nearly 3pm) so there was only us and 2 other tables occupied, the waitress was polite. We both ordered chicken Pad Thai and thought the food was DELICIOUS! Lovely flavours, seasoning, vegetables, plenty of chicken and noodles. We shall definitely be visiting this place again in the future!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This place seems to get mixed reviews!?!?
Popped in here as it was busy, got the last free table, which to me is always a good indicator. And totally enjoyed the food - we just had a green curry and a king prawn pad thai, but both were really tasty, prawns especially, and honestly some of the nicest Thai food I've had in a while. Wished we brought a bottle as they don't sell alcohol, but as it was a walk-by we weren't to know.
I'd agree in the most part with comments on the service, it was abrupt but not discourteous, and it wouldn't stop me coming back for the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Only go here if you want a MacDonalds type of Thai food experience. The waitress with the shaved head at the sides and tattoos on her arms - has no idea of customer relations.

The toliet (singular) is downstairs right next to the open kitchen door - surely contravenes Health and Safety regs. - and looked so disgusting - could not even think washing my hands in the sink as it looked like I would catch something nasty by doing so.

Our main courses were delivered to the table after only two minutes of receiving our starters. Talk about "fast food".

So, totally not a nice eating experience. Needless to say...we paid the bill...but definitely no tip!

DONT GO HERE!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Terrible service - great food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I went to this restaurant today and have to main comments to make: the service was terrible but the food was great. The waitresses don't look at you when taking your order, they are quite rude when speaking to you and worse of all - in my case - they didn't take my order correctly. I asked for grilled beef but I specifically asked if it is possible to have it without chilli. The woman guaranteed that it was possible (I told her I could chose something else) but when the food came it was extremely spicy. This also happened to my friend. However, the other 2 people that were with me had delicious meals...although they had to wait for almost half an hour for soy sauce. The prawn tempoura was also very nice. I believe it's just a matter of the service because If they has listened to us initially I'm sure the food would me amazing. Overall, I recommend that you try it but repeat your order so they don't make mistakes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krua Anne also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Krua Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krua Anne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.