We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Brighton!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Queens Hotel to your Saves list
Queens Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1- 3 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NS, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best location in Brighton!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

lovely hotel situated right in the heart of Brighton. The main shops are a 2 minute walk behind the hotel and the main beach is a 2 minute walk in front of the hotel. The room was modern and clean with a few nice touches such as a fridge and free wifi. The breakfast was standard and the staff were friendly. Having our hotel in such a top spot meant that we didn't have to forward plan our activities and the view from the room was beautiful.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a superior room for the view and were not disappointed - room was HUGE and view was f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I am so delighted to see that your visit was such an enjoyable one , and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    407
    283
    148
    108
See reviews for
167
470
37
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Was looking forward to our trip to Brighton and our stay at the Queens. Rooms aren't cheap so I arrived with high expectations. The positives are the location, couldn't be any better! Breakfast was included, buffet style and you could eat as much as you like!, full English coffee and orange juice all available. Negatives, hotel too hot during the evening, windows that hardly open, I kept banging my head on the wooden pelmet above the window...and the beds are too small. That said we loved our weekend in Brighton, lovely place.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your visit. Over the extremely warm spell , we were providing fans to our guests to use in their rooms , but I fully appreciate that the warm weather was so humid , that these only partially helped.
It is great to see that you enjoyed our central location , and buffet breakfast , and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

I used to live in England, but now I live in The USA.
I have to say, I thought I was booking a somewhat nice place for myself and my teenage son, so we could go visit my brother.
I could not believe what a bad hotel it was.
The rooms were like jersey shore motels without AC!
I had to sleep with the windows open because it was soo hot in the room.
But because the windows were open, all you could hear all night was laughing and screaming from the bars and club outside. We could not sleep. I will never stay there again
The bathroom was really old and needs updating. No fridge in room.
Pretty sad and depressing.
Oh, the breakfast was good.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I was sorry to see that your visit did not meet with your expectations. I appreciate you would have enjoyed fridges in rooms , and of course over the extremely hot and humid weather , air conditioning also.
However , as with a majority of old (Queens Hotel is over 100 years old) traditional British seaside hotels , air conditioning is not a feature that is frequently available. We do however offer fans which can be requested from our reception team.
I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your breakfast during your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The staff were friendly enough and the location can't be faulted at all, so why only three stars for the Queens? Well, it's just one of those venues that you're either going to love or hate. If you don't mind hotels that are, and feel very, very old then you'll probably not get what I don't like about it. It's just that old, shabby, run down feel around the edges, the little details and wear and tear that just put me off. I've stayed in older, but wonderfully presented and maintained hotels, but this is just one of those that feels unloved.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I was sorry to see that you thought the hotel came across as being a little unloved. A majority of our team have been here for many years , and it is the love of the hotel and what we achieve on a daily basis that keeps us here.
I was delighted to see that you found the staff to have been so friendly and that you enjoyed our central location.
We hope to see you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The staff here are very helpful and the level of service is great, the hotel is let down by some shabby spots in the decor and furniture, although the bedroom we stayed in was a lovely large room. It was very clean and the housekeeping team did a fabulous job of changing and cleaning the room daily. Room service was very swift and helpful and the meal itself was superb. The buffet breakfast is very good but not outstanding, but again the staff were very helpful. The central location is fantastic although there is some street noise until rather late. The real negative for me was the heat in the room which as we could not open the window more than 4 inches was quite overwhelming. Air con would have been very good! Overall I would stay here again for the location and staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
It is really wonderful to see how you found our staff to have been helpful and friendly throught your visit , and how generally you enjoyed the time you stayed.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my husband for one night as part of our first wedding anniversary celebrations. It is in a very good location. We stayed in a classic double room (room 105) with a sea view. The room was clean and lovely with high ceilings and floor to ceiling windows. We had a great view of the pier. Bed was comfy. We arranged for champagne in our room on arrival which was brought in as soon as we entered the room. The breakfast was average but nice and edible.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor , and congratulations on your anniversary!
I am delighted to see that you both enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you back again in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The positives - The hotel is very central, practically on the pier! Rooms are of a good standard, breakfast is great (buffet style), staff are friendly, they let us check in early, baggage storage is available, clean and comfy beds.
The negatives - the spa does not have a steam room anymore but this is not deleted from info, no parking so be prepared to pay heavily for the multistorey. What only gave this review 2 stars is that we hardly got any sleep as there was excessive noise from nearby clubs and pubs until gone 4 in the morning! As it was hot, we had the window slightly open but would have stifled otherwise as there was no aircon.
I love Queens but would not stay again because of the noise factor unless I could pay for a seaview room (considerably more expensive than a standard double) which does not face the road near pubs and clubs.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
As we are so centrally located , there can be some occasions when noise from outside can affect our hotel guests , and as you so rightly mentioned , rooms that are higher up and sea facing tend to be the quieter option. Please accept our apologies for any issues you experienced.
In relation to parking options in Brighton , we have a very helpful section on our website (the "contact" section) which provides very helpful information as to the various locations and costs of car park throughout the city , and should be of great help on your next visit.
I am delighted to see that you found our staff to have been friendly , and that generally you enjoyed the hotel facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Address: 1- 3 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Brighton
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Queens Hotel in Brighton, you will receive a warm welcome from our friendly and professional team, one which will ensure your stay with us will be a truly memorable experience. The Queens Hotel Brighton overlooks Brighton Beach, the famous Brighton Pier, and promenade. The area comes alive at night with various restaurants, pubs and clubs situated around the area. The hotel has a large leisure club with Pool, Sauna & steam room as well as 20 cardiovascular & 10 resistance machine as well as a well stocked free weights area & Olympic bench. We also have an in-house spa offering a wide range of beauty treatments & the No1 Bar and Bistro for Breakfast, Afternoon Teas and Evening meals & snacks with our Bar open till 1am Sunday – Thursday, & 3AM Friday and Saturdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.