We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girlie break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Queens Hotel to your Saves list
Queens Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1- 3 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NS, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Girlie break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We had the triple room at the Queens Hotel in Brighton.
Although the hotel is tired in some areas our room was excellent.
It has been recently decorated, it is very light, clean and roomy.
We had two single beds and a small double. All very comfortable.
Tea and coffee making and TV and hair dryer.
The staff in reception, the bar and the dining room were all very helpful and friendly.
The price of £210 for the room for 2 nights was excellent and included breakfast.
Great location for the pier, seafront and the lanes.
We thoroughly recommend this for a great girlie trip.
Also recommend the Little Bay restaurant. Fun Opera singer on Weds and Sat.
Had a fun time and a delicious meal at Aguadolce tapas restaurant.
Open top bus is fun and Brighton Marina worth a visit.

Room Tip: Triple room excellent. Proper beds and large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
Of course we always like to see that our guests have had a really enjoyable visit , and it is nice to see that this was the case for you and your friends. Our rooms are generally quite large , and you found yours to have been both roomy and bright , and you found the facilities in both your room and the rest of the hotel to be to your liking.
We look forward to hopefully seeing you all back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    467
    319
    169
    117
See reviews for
194
545
38
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Whisked away to the Queens Hotel as a birthday treat over the BH Weekend! First two nights were spent in a beautifully spacious family suite. Beds were lovely and comfortable with ample of bedding, perfectly proportioned clean bathroom with a very good shower***!! Decided to fold away the sofa bed leaving us with a lovely lounge area perfect for the afternoon sun! Brilliant wifi connection and found that the staff were alway quick to answer and never unable to help! Staff were friendly! enjoyed banter with the night manager! Third night spent in kingsize room, beautifully made up with amazing views of the pier and seafront,through a gorgeous bay window! Perfect with the sofa and glass/bottle of wine! Beautiful pool, perfect place to un-wind and then sweat it out in the sauna :) Hotel in very central location which is perfect for ourselves .... Really would not notice all the outside noise unless I was purposely looking for it! A* could not recommend more highly! Weekend to remember! Thank you queens hotel!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor , and may I take this opportunity to wish you a belated Happy Birthday!
It is great to see that you had such an enjoyable visit , and found the hotel very much to your liking , and of course our staff to have been so friendly. They are one of the greatest assets the hotel has , and it is always so nice to hear such great feedback about our team.
Its wonderful to see that you would recommend us , and we hope to see you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Spent two nights over Easter weekend paid £410 for a family room with breakfast.
Room very large divided into two with a view up to Worthing. Fridge in the room Bed very hard and uncomfortable. Carpet needs changing. Quiet noisy with traffic and party goers coming home 3am plus.
Breakfast pretty poor, mainly cold scrambled eggs, left most of it. Tables rocky and sticky
in poor condition. no explanation of how the system works just wave you to a free table
and get on with it. Coffee not to bad though.
The staff were ok just doing their job

Won`t come back again was oversold by the glossy hotel website. A bit shabby in every
sector and did not feel in the mood to use the pool spa.
Premier inn for us next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I was sorry to see that you were disappointed with the breakfast selection and service. We operate a "greet & seat" system each morning over breakfast , where our guests are met by a supervisor and seated at a suitable table , and a staff member familiarises our guests with the buffet etc., but if a guest seat themselves directly , unfortunately our staff might not be aware.
Our hot buffet selection is quite extensive , and gets continuously replenished (bacon , sausage , black pudding , beans , scrambled eggs , or if fried , poached , or boiled are preferred , these can be cooked to order , as can vegetarian sausages). In addition our cold buffet selection consists of cereal , toast , fruit , croissants , fruit juice , with tea & coffee being readily available also.
I hope you might consider a return visit to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Sadly no sleep moved rooms but still noise until 4.30 am ! Staff kind but dreadful nightclub and street noise . Ear plugs provided at 3.30 am that's a first . Such a shame . Great location . Left exhausted. Rooms ok but stains on carpet . Breakfast reasonable

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I was sorry to see that your sleep was interrupted during the night , but it is great to read that you found our staff to have been kind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Ok, so I stayed at the Queens just prior to Easter when rates were high. So in some respects considering the cost, the Queens Hotel wasn't exactly "up to spec" in many areas. But as Easter is an expensive time to stay at most establishments, I will try and balance that against what the hotel actually has to offer. So first, let's get the negative stuff out of the way...

In there is one single criticism to level at the hotel it is, the exterior and communal interior areas are lacking. They are in desperate need of refurbishment. The exterior is tired and the paint is peeling and it's not particularly clean. Once entering the reception area, it's clear this place hasn't been refurbished in a long time. Perhaps twenty years or so. The furnishings are tattered and worn, and generally the place looks like something out of 1980. It's looks a little sad, unloved and uncared for. That said, it's clean. And the bar area HAS been refurbished. But clearly the hotel could really do with some TLC in this respect.

Right that's the bad, onto the good.

The staff are, as many have pointed out in other reviews, very friendly and courteous and professional. Also, once we made out way through the depressing flock blue walls of the corridors and into our family room, walking into the room itself was like stepping into another hotel. The room was modern, it was clean and very comfortable. A nice clean and decent size bathroom. Three very comfortable beds with lovely bed linen. Location wise you can't really go wrong. It's great. The lanes and all they have to offer as the hotel lie opposite the hotel, on hype other side is the promenade and two minutes away the pier.

Breakfast is good, plentiful and offers pretty much everything most people will want.

I was considering giving the hotel 3 out of 5, but honestly felt that didn't do it justice overall. Out of peak season, you could stay at a much more reasonable rate I'm sure. And it is possible to look past the shortcomings of those interiors, which at worst are just plain dated.

So on that basis happy to recommend the Queens. And hope that they do get around to sorting out those remaining areas that do need refurbishment.

Would stay here again :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
It is always much appreciated to hear our staff are such a great part of the hotels lasting impression . we shall take on board your comments about the decor , and I am very happy to see that you would recommend us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had booked from the website which showed the hotel looking great. Fairly sure that the photos are from somewhere else.this was our honeymoon. 2 nights sea view £300. We had booked and told the staff that this was our honeymoon and to ensure that we got a pretty room. The room we were shown smelt of b.o. and every piece of furniture was chipped. Carpet was filthy and the bathroom had pubws in the bath. We asked for another and were shown a few othera. We selected one which was a bit better. Still same chipped furniture abd brown stains and mould in bathroom but at least fresh paint. It was awfull the throbbing dance music kept us awake and the breakfast was awful, packet scrambled eggs cheap bacon and sausages. We left as soon as we could after the first night and were charged £200 for a grubby uncomfortable room and shocking memories of our honeymoon. There is not a single wall or skirting board in this hotel that does not have chips and marks on it. Don't do it!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I am very sorry to see that you were disappointed with your visit.
I understand from my colleagues with whom you relayed your initial concerns with , that although they tried everything they could to help resolve your issues , you checked out early.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Whilst the room was nice at almost £200 the breakfast was dreadful even the orange juice was cheap rubbish along with the tea. They actually watered down the fresh orange juice these hotels that charge more than London prices should be much better

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.
I must apologise for any disappointment you experienced with the quality of the breakfast juice and tea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Address: 1- 3 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Queens Hotel in Brighton, you will receive a warm welcome from our friendly and professional team, one which will ensure your stay with us will be a truly memorable experience. The Queens Hotel Brighton overlooks Brighton Beach, the famous Brighton Pier, and promenade. The area comes alive at night with various restaurants, pubs and clubs situated around the area. The hotel has a large leisure club with Pool, Sauna & steam room as well as 20 cardiovascular & 10 resistance machine as well as a well stocked free weights area & Olympic bench. We also have an in-house spa offering a wide range of beauty treatments & the No1 Bar and Bistro for Breakfast, Afternoon Teas and Evening meals & snacks with our Bar open till 1am Sunday – Thursday, & 3AM Friday and Saturdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.