We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the highlights of Brighton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of North Laine

North Laine
Between Church Street and Trafalgar Street, Brighton, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 60 Attractions in Brighton
Type: Neighborhoods, Cultural
Activities: Shopping, Nightlife
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of Brighton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

You can spend a whole afternoon strolling along the narrow lanes window shopping or people watching! Plenty of little specialty shops selling all sort of collectibles, from CDs and DVDs of the old to antiques, clothings and most other things you can think of. Need to take a break, just head into one of the many unique cafes and enjoy a nice piece of layered cream cake, sandwich or even a cup of home-made warm soup. We liked it so much that we visited twice during our 3 days in Brighton!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    641
    297
    44
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love brighton hate parking charges”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We have visited Brighton every Christmas to do our shopping for about the last 7 years, we love it. We had a great time again this year we enjoy to food and atmosphere and ability to complete our shopping all in one place. When we returned to our car we were shocked to be charged £25 for the pleasure if parking our car! A lot of our family gifts are not budgeted at this price! Needless to say we'll be shopping at blue water and lakeside next year where it's free. So sad that another commercialised giant wins over the small shops, plus the choice at these places doesn't compare but parking is free!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“independent rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I love how there are so many independent traders in Brighton. So unique and excellent quality. So much diversity... from vintage to contemporary individually hand designed everything : )

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Love shopping in the North Laine streets with my daughter. Something for everyone. Great food on offer especially in the veggie cafes.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Quirky shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Great Independent shops, cafes. Quirky. One of my favourite places in Brighton to go for a stroll, people watch and watch the world go by, pick up a coffee or a bargain. great for retro dressing and living!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Laine also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to North Laine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Laine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.