We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is our pad in Brighton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Legends Hotel

Save Saved
You added Legends Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Legends Hotel
31-34 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1TR, England (Formerly New Europe)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 44 hotels in Brighton
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This is our pad in Brighton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

If you like to lay back and chill this is the place.Until its time to party then you need to go all the way to the basement night club, party till 5am and then have the arduous trek back to your room. why is life so hard?.

Legends plugs itself as a gay hotel But this is not what it is, it's just a grate hotel full stop.

Legends staff are some of the best i have ever met, Welcoming, friendly, helpful and attentive with the kind of customer service focus you only get on BA.

We are a straight couple but love this place for its relaxing vibe.

The room (404) was clean and well appointed but the window was a little tatty around the edges (but that's the scene in Brighton for ya).

The bed was very comfortable, the shower room was clean and a bit small but adequate.
Lots of tea and coffee full fat and decaf. (Well impressed er ladyship with the decaf)
We had a nice view of the pier and the wheel which is one of the best in Brighton I think.

In the morning we had a nice cooked breakfast (have the hash browns) then I had juice, yoghurt, fruit and cereal which you help yourselves to so I did, lovely.

One of the best bits is the terrace wear you can drink and smoke, eating on the terrace is discouraged because of the seagulls they like the hash browns too.

I can go on and on about this place and we only sated one night, gonna do a weekend here and just post the video on utube as a review. Hmmm mybe not!.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    85
    21
    12
    8
See reviews for
10
132
43
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We booked this last minute and booked a standard double room. Upon arrival we were told the room would actually be ready faster than we thought (we were on the 1st floor) and we had been upgraded. When we got to the room (108) it was lovely, spacious and clean with a tonne of tea and coffee, normally you only get a couple sachets but we had about 5/6 teabags, coffee and tea. We were only staying one night! The bathroom was lovely as well with a tub and a shower. Only downside was the room was sweltering and you couldn't have the windows open as the noise was rather loud. However, even on the 1st floor, the noise is nothing a pair of earplugs can't sort out! view of the sea, pier and eye was beautiful and they had a couple of chairs an tables to sit at and enjoy the sights.The The staff were very friendly, asked us how the room was as soon as we came down for dinner, gave us a map of Brighton to help us and were generally very accommodating. We didn't use the bar at night so can't comment on that but from the sounds of it, it was good fun! In the morning we had a lovely cooked breakfast with juice, yoghurt, fruit and cereal to help yourselves to. The lady that served us was very nice and attentive. When we checked out we saw all the staff in the corner having breakfast together which shows what a lovely bunch they are!

Room Tip: As everyone else has said, higher floors means less noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I came to brighton with my partner for a weekend. We decided to take a loft room on the 4th floor in case of noise from the bar/club. The room was very spacious, comfortable and clean, with a nice view over the roofs into brighton. The room was very quiet and our stay relaxing. The staff were friendly and efficient with good cooked breakfasts each morning. The location, both for the main centre of brighton and the gay area could not be better. Having read some of the reviews, we were a little surprised to enjoy staying at the hotel as much as we did. The only negative i can think of is that they did not replenish our shower gels etc one morning. Although the room at £130 a night was quite expensive, we still think it was good value. We will be coming back to brighton soon with some friends who have not visited before and we intend to book here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room at the back for peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

was here in early August from Aberdeen for a few days and i must say was very impressed. The friendliness of the staff and the service was excellent. The breakfast in the morning was one of the best we've had. The room had a view of the pier and the wheel and was more than adequate. The shower room was on the small side and left hardly any room to swing a cat. My mate (who is a smoker) said that his only fault was having to walk through the bar in the middle of the night just to get outside for a cigarette, especially when its full of clubbers. The bar is a bit pricey and would have been nice to get some sort of residents discount. Other than that, i think its definitely a place we will be back to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed at legends during the 2012 Pride weekend, which was incredibly busy. When booking our rooms (5 in our group) we were told that the last room available for single occupancy was small. But this was taking small a little too far. Basically a room with a single bed, a sink and a wall shelf with hooks which was also the wardrobe. A shower room so small it was both uncomfortable and dangerous. The owners could not even be bothered to put a soap dish in the shower ..... three nights of this lack of space was nothing short of purgatory. In addition to this, the room was above the back yard where bottle bins and rubbish bins were being emptied very early in the morning with little or no consideration for guest trying to sleep at 7am!!

Positives? A good full English Breakfast with good quality ingredients and excellent Scrambled Eggs. The staff are friendly and for the most part efficient. Breakfast tables are too small making it hard work to eat your meal in any comfort.

One appreciates the staff were very busy during this hectic period and they coped admirably - the hotel offers easy convenience to the town center, pubs, clubs and other attractions.

The hotel is trying to be all things too all men - thats fine, but peoples expectations are a little higher than that offered in room 301 and the management, would, in my opinion do themselves a great favour in removing this as a letting room at any cost.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LegendsMO, Public Relations Manager at Legends Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your feedback.

Brighton Pride is our busiest time of year and this room was 60% cheaper than a standard room. We feel that it's unfair to book the cheapest room in the hotel and expect the same standard as our more expensive rooms at this vastly reduced price.

Many hotels have room categories and we provide this room type due to demand. These rooms are hugely popular and designed specifically for those on a very tight budget who still wish to experience all that Legends and Brighton has to offer. To keep the price low, the rooms are smaller and we only provide the basic essentials but you still get a lovely bed. They are only sold to the customer after explaining this. Most customers who are on a limited budget feel that it works for them. All these rooms comply with safety regulations. We feel that this room type represents great value for what it is.

Anyone requiring more than the very basic facilities should stay in one of our Standards or for that bit extra, our Luxury rooms, these are very competitively priced. They have an array of facilities and many offer stunning sea views. We are constantly upgrading these rooms and luxuries are available from as little as £95 per night

Right now we are offering a great deal exclusive to Tripadvisor so there's no better time to try Legends.

Kind Regards,
Arran & Matt
Marketing Team at Legends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Positives: Access to city centre and helpful staff

Negatives: Very small rooms. We had booked the regular double rooms, which were tiny, the double bed was small. The bathroom was the smallest I have ever seen in a hotel, with the wash basin fitted in the room coz there was no room in the bathroom. Reminded me of dormitory rooms during university! Also the room, even on the third floor was very noisy during the nights, because of the night club downstairs and across the road. unless you close the windows, which is difficult during summer nights!

All in all, would not recommend it, if you like some space in your rooms and like peace during nightime. But the staff were very friendly and helpful and access to the city was good. Full english breakfast was of good quality, but otherwise the cereal, fruits, etc spread was fairly limited.

Room Tip: Rooms for 307, 308, 309 are good rooms to have. Avoid *05 number rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

All the younger gay man would want (sadly I do not fit into that mould)
Hotel, bar and night club (very good idea) however I personally found it quite noisy to the early hours (doh) this is not a criticism of Legends, I knew what I was letting my self in for when I booked. To be far I did get some sleep as I got used to it.
Staff well there were some very cute staff and they were courteous at all times and I found approachable in time of need.
Being a lover of food (chubby to say the least) the breakfast was of a high standard good on ya lads/ lasses
Brighton very vibrant city will return
But with me ear plugs LOL

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Legends Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legends Hotel

Address: 31-34 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1TR, England (Formerly New Europe)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Brighton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#11 Business Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Legends Hotel is in a central seafront location, right in the heart of Brighton. The hotel is finished to the highest standards with high quality fittings and furnishings. We offer an amazing array of en-suite quality rooms, all en-suite many with stunning sea views, full English breakfast is included. Relax in luxury, enjoy a drink on the elegant terrace or take part in the hustle and bustle on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Legends Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legends Hotel, Bar And Club Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legends Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.