We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Amsterdam Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11-12 Marine Parade | Kemptown, Brighton BN2 1TL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

just returned from a 3 night break at the Amsterdam. The staff were brilliant and the room was big and clean.The location is perfect with great sea views. The hotel bar serves a good selection of drinks at reasonable prices. Reading some of the reviews,i wish i'd tried the caribbean food. Maybe next time. The continental breakfast was ok,but i don't think you should have to pay extra for a cooked brekkie. All in all a good hotel that i would definately return to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    93
    38
    16
    16
See reviews for
11
128
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed on a Saturday night, got upgraded on arrival. The room had a reat view of Brighton pier and the ferris wheel. It was Caribbean night at the hotel and the chef came out to ensure we were happy with the food and that he would happily cook anything else if there was something we didn't like. I thought this was very good customer service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel positions itself as being "Gay" and as such, takes its gay clientele very much for granted.

The facilities are very tired and basic.

A wet room with shower is good, but all the grouting on the tiles has mould.

The room lights are on motion detectors, so if you stop moving for a few moments, the lights go out.

Tip: if you want to watch TV in your room and the set keeps losing the signal, switch off the set and switch it on again (as if you were re-booting your computer) and you might be able to carry on watching (not guaranteed).

Over £100/night over the Holiday Weekend - a bit too expensive.

Would I stay there again? Probably not.

Room Tip: At the back and away from the side street - people get very noisy in the street at 2 o'clock in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I ate in the restaurant and had the Caribbean food. So great to eat something fresh and flavoursome for a change. I had the Trinidadian fish cakes to start which we're delicious and served with homemade Tatar sauce and side salad. Then I had the curried mutton with Roti which was amazing. The mutton was so tender.
The portion sizes were quite big and I was full up but as we made a night of sitting in the sunshine and looking at the lovely seafront and people walking by I eventually had the sticky toffee pudding with piña colada ice cream. Oh my god! Unbelievable. Make sure you leave enough room to try the deserts.
The staff were really friendly and the chef even delivered our dishes to the table himself and was very friendly.
I have finally found great food in Brighton at a great price and I'm going to be a regular.
Looking forward to the Jerk Chicken tonight.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in the hotel for my 21st birthday yesterday, originally we booked the double en suite with terrace but got upgraded to the penthouse suite upon our arrival. It was such a lovely surprise. The penthouse was amazingly good. Very spacious, modern/unique decor. The view from the living room was outstanding with the Brighton wheel and the beach right outside our window. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who's looking for a seafront prime location but at an affordable price too. Overall I had a great birthday and was very sad to leave. Definitely revisiting again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have used theAmsterdam hotel from its early struggling days to the present time it truly has come of age. Many of Brightyon's hotels are small and friendly but not very professional. You have managed to be that much bigger that much more slick and as polished an outfit as I have come across. Having been in the hotel game for forty years or more I do know what I'm talking about. Well done I will certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Visited The Amsterdam bar and restaurant yesterday with a friend. The bar staff were friendly and it's in a great location just on the sea front. We sat outside to eat in the lovely sunshine. My friend and I both had the Jerk Chicken - it was soo tastey and the portion sizes were good. Would definitely recommend. We had the ginger and toffee pudding after and it was so yummy! I would like to go back and try the whole menu :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hotel

Address: 11-12 Marine Parade | Kemptown, Brighton BN2 1TL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the seafront, in the heart of vibrant Kemptown, opposite Brighton's famous Palace Pier, the Amsterdam Hotel offers award-winning accommodation and free Wi-Fi. The Amsterdam Hotel offers a selection of large, newly decorated rooms to suit all budgets. All rooms have a large en suite walk-in shower room, a flat-screen TV with Freeview digital channels, and tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have stunning views over Brighton's famous pier, the beach, and the seafront. Light and airy, the stylish and contemporary bar was completely refurbished in 2013. Looking out to sea, the bar has a large outdoor terrace, a big-screen music video system and free Wi-Fi. In the mornings, guests can purchase continental or cooked breakfast at the hotel. In the heart of Brighton's vibrant scene, the hotel is close to all of the amazing restaurants, friendly bars, theatres, shops and, of course, the exciting nightlife ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.