We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Ritz but great view and perfect location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Madeira Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added New Madeira Hotel to your Saves list
New Madeira Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   19-23 Marine Parade | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1TL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not the Ritz but great view and perfect location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Went as part of hen weekend, room was as expected albeit a bit cold, no frills but we were out and about in Brighton all day and night so wasn't that fussed. We found staff were helpful, there are better hotels so if I was going with my husband and kids I wouldn't choose this hotel but for hen do it was fine. Club on Friday and Saturday in hotel so expect noise.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    53
    53
    31
    41
See reviews for
28
41
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I had been here before but that was with my best mate after we'd been to a nearby gig,,
This time I was with the wife and two young daughters..
The staff are lovely! Very friendly and helpful. Our room was fantastic. A double bed, single and a cot. The view across to the Pier was brilliant!
The breakfast was lovely!
We shall be back!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had a lot of fun on the one night our family of five adults stayed at this hotel. The hotel is a bit funky, but that's okay, it's Brighton! Right across from the Brighton Pier, wow, what a nice evening view...although one of our rooms was on the backside of the hotel. Beds were comfortable but the hotel is very spare. Has gigantic windows that include warning signs -- not to fall out, make sure they are locked at all times, and one sign suggested not to step out on the balcony...good suggestion. While a little weird, that's what made it fun. Staff was also friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Appalling experience! Windows were so bad, single glazed on a main road with added bonus of nightclub attached! We had to stuff gaps with newspaper and towels because it was so noisy and absolutely freezing. Curtains may have helped if they actually fitted the windows! The night manager just shrugged his shoulders at our 1am complaint which resulted in us packing our bags and driving home at 2am. No reply to our emails, absolutely disgusted by our treatment here. No wonder they ask for full payment up front!
Perfect for insomniacs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at 1pm on Saturday afternoon, although check in wasn't until 2pm they let us check in earlier as our room was ready. I couldn't believe how nice the rooms were, we had 2 rooms between 5 girls. ( triple and double room ) in the triple room there was a double bed and 2 singles, all very clean. We also had a little walk in wardrobe area! Plenty of mirrors for us girls getting flames up. Rooms were very clean... Possibly newly refurbished also. Overall stay was great especially for such good prices. Booking to visit again in February!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mid wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Upon arrival on Friday night, we were not exactly greeted but snarled at! The receptionist was not courteous, helpful or very friendly, but very abrupt and rude. There were no parking spaces available and not likely to be any on the following day, contrary to what was said on the Booking.com website. Only 1 key available for the room. The room itself was spacious, reasonably clean and with a fantastic view out over the prom and to the sea, equally the location was also very good.
Unfortunately, unknown to us, on the ground floor is the "Funkyfish" night club which stays open until 3am which when we phoned down to reception at approx 1230am we found out.
On our departure another receptionist was on duty to check us out, at no point were we asked if we had enjoyed our stay, we didn't even get a "Good Morning" or even a "Thank You".
The cost of this stay was £108.75 per night which did not include breakfast and also I paid over £35.00 for parking off site. A very expensive weekend away.
In contrast, we stayed at a 5 Star hotel in Cardiff last night on our way home - Cost £89.00 and all the staff in this hotel were polite and courteous.
I strongly suggest that the hotel owners seriously consider sending all their front line staff on customer service and hospitality courses.

Room Tip: Think very carefully before staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

No sound proofing and overpriced - we were charged £90. No lamps or wardrobes. Night club volume level in our room was equivalent to a stereo turned up high so sleep impossible even when wearing headphones. They should not be letting out those ground floor rooms. Feeling angry and sleep deprived.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to New Madeira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Madeira Hotel

Address: 19-23 Marine Parade | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1TL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — New Madeira Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your New Madeira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Madeira Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.