We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great 3-day break at The 21” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Twenty One

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Twenty One to your Saves list
The Twenty One
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   21 Charlotte Street | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1AG, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4for3 midweek offer
Ranked #1 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great 3-day break at The 21”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

What a treat to find The Twenty One. Andy and Matt are just the best hosts - fantastic room with everything you could need and all top quality. Delicious breakfasts - brilliant location and the sun shone. We shall be back.

Room Tip: We had number 3 - large bath & shower, desk, king size bed. It was on the first floor too, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,444
    25
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
101
989
102
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife and I have just spent 3 nights at The Twenty One and were sad to leave. Matt and Andy are hugely welcoming and make you feel completely at home. The room was exceptionally clean and decorated to a high standard which is maintained throughout the building. The breakfast choice is superb and the quality of the food was gorgeous. Kemp town is a perfect base for accessing the rest of Brighton. Can't recommend this B&B enough.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

End of March stuck in the house because of heavy snow. Can't help remembering our lovely break in very sunny Brighton in the middle of February. The super weather was just an extra to the excellent stay at 21. As always felt very welcome and the room and hospitality superb. Wish we could have a 21 everywhere we go!

Room Tip: We had a front room on the top floor. Keeping fit by walking up the stairs and a lovely sea view fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Just returned from another excellent stay at The Twenty-One. Matt and Andy are fantastic hosts and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are warm and cosy, the snacks are yummy and the rocky road cake is out of this world. Nothing is left to chance and everything you could possibly need is supplied. The only complaint I have is that with the lovely breakfast and tempting snacks my waistline has increased by two inches!!! You will not find better. Thanks guys for a great stay, we will be back. June & George

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We are grateful for the recommendation to The Twenty-one. We have tried several hotels and B&B’s in the area; this is by far the best place to stay in every way and also great value for money. Our visits to Brighton are now arranged around availability at this first class bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We arrived at Twenty One in the pouring rain (there's a surprise for England!) to be greeted by Matt and Andy who quickly checked us in and arranged our parking permits.
Our room (number 6) was superb and the amount of sweets on the tea tray was amazing so if you have a sweet tooth it's worth staying at The Twenty One just for this!
We really enjoyed our stay from start to finish and we're not too easily pleased but there is not a thing to fault about The Twenty One. We will definately be back!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed for one night in room 3, first floor, front bedroom. I can honestly say it was the best B&B I have ever stayed in. I can see why is has been crowned trip adivsor No.1, anything less would not do it justice. Ipad in the room, cake buy the bed, a selection of free sweets, biscuits and drinks and the all important free WIFI and a friendly relaxed service. I cant think how they could make it better. Well Done!!

Room Tip: Room 3 is first floor front of house with a generous size room, didnt hear any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Twenty One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twenty One

Address: 21 Charlotte Street | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1AG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twenty One 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Twenty One, we hope you will enjoy the fact that our well-maintained period property is located in a quiet residential side street, yet right at the heart of the lively and cosmopolitan Kemp Town area of Brighton. We are a few steps from the seafront (our principal rooms have the benefit of side sea views) and within easy walking distance of all the major attractions. All rooms have brand new en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Twenty One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 21
The Twenty One Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Twenty One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.