We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peerless!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Twenty One

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Twenty One to your Saves list
The Twenty One
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   21 Charlotte Street | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1AG, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4for3 midweek offer
Ranked #1 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Peerless!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Yes, simply peerless. The cleanest rooms. The best breakfast. The finest hosts, even if Matt did greet me with 'I see you're feeding your face then.' He's allowed his little eccentricities. The 21 is sublime.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,444
    25
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
101
989
102
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome. From the offset we were sat down with a drink and given loads of tips and information on things to see and do whilst in Brighton. The room was immaculately presented and very comfortable. The breakfast choice and quality of food was amazing and plentiful. We were only here for 2 nights but wished we could have stayed longer. This B&B is in an excellent location just off the seafront and everything is within walking distance. They fully deserve their 5 star rating from Trip Advisor and we would recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Brighton.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I think its all been said! a really, really nice place to stay. Excellent room, excellent food, best service I've ever encountered.We especially appreciated the complimentary bottles of water in the fridge, tucked away in the wardrobe, and the wine glasses - so much nicer than having to use the toothbrush mugs! And the fact that consumables were replenished daily, which is by no means the norm, even in so-called top-quality hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed for an overnight trip earlier this month with my heavily pregnant wife as a belated birthday celebration. We have stayed at various boutique B+Bs in Brighton and this beat them all hands down. I will not go over all the details mentioned in the other reviews but to say that they are truly representative. The attention to detail is really first class and the standard of decor in the communal and guest areas is superb. Matt and Andy even left a box of chocolates and a card for my birthday- very thoughtful and a nice welcome. Great location for all the attractions and a seaview from our room.
Should be the only choice for a Brighton trip- well done guys!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My best friend and I have just spent the weekend at The Twenty One in Brighton to celebrate our 30th birthdays.
Before arriving we already expected something good given the raving reviews! However, the whole experience massively exceeded any expectations. From the welcoming smiles of Matt & Andy to the well needed glass of wine they handed to us after we arrived very late to check in due to being stuck in traffic for forever.
We were later than planned checking in but Matt & Andy were very warm & welcoming, helping us find parking and taking our bags to our room followed by them kindly taking the time to give us a full run down of the local area and the best places to see & where's best to eat.
The room was like a home from home with so many generous suprises waiting for us from gorgeous bath robes to an insane compliments tray! The bathroom was 5 star standard with all the necessary complimentary items incase you forget to bring yours (which I did!) To add to this the huge range of DVD's that are kindly provided for you to watch during your stay as well as the generous trust of Matt & Andy allowing you to help yourself to complimentary drinks from the breakfast room as you come & go. In addition to this the room was also re-stocked of goodies and bed re-made whilst we were out :)
One other very important subject to mention is the simply outstanding breakfast you are provided with..... The menu is so varied and we were presented with fresh warm croissants the minute we sat down. The food was absolutely to die for, all fresh produce cooked to perfection.
I literally could not fault this place, Matt & Andy obviously put their heart & soul into running it and you feel that every second you're there. They take the time to speak to you and find out about your stay and even knidly provide you with pain killers when you *may* have drank a little too much the night before! haha. Could not have felt more welcome or comfortable here.
I would definitely recommend The Twenty One without hesitation every time and fully intend to return :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was our second time staying at the 21 and it was just as good as the first. Excellent rooms, great food and lovely hosts. The breakfast is great with plenty of choice and the addition of a free drinks fridge available throughout your stay a great bonus. Look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Me and my wife both needed a relaxing break.We chose Brighton as we have never been.
We stayed overnight in room three.It was wonderful.The room was spotless and beautifuly decorated.There was lovely biscuits and cakes for us to help ourself too.The bathroom was magnificant my wife said it was the best long bath she ever had.The bed was very comfy.
Matt and Andy made us very welcome and were ever so helpful they even sat with us and pointed out on the local map all the hot spots That evening we went to River Spice curry house in town which was excellent.The highlight for me was the cooked breakfast in the morning it was the best i have ever had.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Twenty One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twenty One

Address: 21 Charlotte Street | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1AG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twenty One 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Twenty One, we hope you will enjoy the fact that our well-maintained period property is located in a quiet residential side street, yet right at the heart of the lively and cosmopolitan Kemp Town area of Brighton. We are a few steps from the seafront (our principal rooms have the benefit of side sea views) and within easy walking distance of all the major attractions. All rooms have brand new en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Twenty One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 21
The Twenty One Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Twenty One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.