We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still brilliant!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andorra Hotel

Andorra Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Andorra Hotel to your Saves list
Andorra Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   15/16 Oriental Place, Brighton BN1 2LJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Bedfordshire
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Still brilliant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Son and i returned to the Andorra this year on tue 3rd Sept, staying until thurs 5th. This year we had room no. 17. Lovely and clean (tho dont think anyone had run a vac UNDER the beds! Found a pill, and several small bits of rubbish) One or two small problems, like if you put the plug in the sink, when you drained it muck came up onto the floor of the shower! But for a short stay this place is great. The owner and his wife are LOVELY and we will be back again im sure. If you are looking for perfection this would not be the place to stay, but if you are looking for somewhere that is a well placed base for your stay , comfortable enough and helpful staff then you would not do better!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    25
    17
    9
    10
See reviews for
7
16
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My first time here at the Andorra also right by the sea front and shops and good value here will be coming back again easy all so to get a bus or train to Eastbourne or other towns also plenty to do in Brighton places to go too Dome etc.

Room Tip: First time here right by the sea front and good value will be coming back again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The staff here couldn't be better, 10/10, welcoming and customer focused- be it the reception or breakfast room. That's the good news! It was also one of the cheapest hotels, given the time we wanted to stay, so this needs to be taken into account. Reasonable budget accommadation.

The hotel decor is generally a bit dated, and this is unfortunate as first impressions are very important.

The room we had was bright and airy, better decor than the hotel generally. Tea and coffee etc and plenty of power points, tv and good lighting. The bed wasn't comfy, quite hard / thin mattress. The room was noisy being at the front, smokers outside noise etc and the windows rattled severely in the wind- sounds trivial, but it was a pain!! The bathroom was really small, swinging a cat etc... not possible! The shower was old fashioned and needs updating. The shower door didn't close and so you got a puddle. The bathroom was generally poor decor too, not good!

The breakfast was fine, there's a set menu, but you could mix and match, if you asked nicely. Choosing scrambled or poached eggs seems to ensure an extra fresh product.

So I'd say this was good 2 star, ok for a night or 2, but I'd not want to stay longer. The annoying thing about this place is that the manager / staff (sometimes a problem) were great - it's just the hotel's decor etc lets it down- needs some investment!

Room Tip: Ask for a rear facing room, as front facing rooms get quite a bit of noise; and the hotel guests smo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

we arrived on the Friday night and booked in and went up to our room on entering the room the smell that greeted us was one of a musty smell my partner went and had a shower and noticed the shower leaking from out side the shower cubicle , I went down to complain the guy at the reception came and took a look and said the hotel was full so he could not offer us another room so he gave us another towel but clearly from the look of the floor it had leaked for some time , the décor was chip wall paper and the bathroom equally grim .
the breakfast was poor the orange juice tastes like orange squash diluted in water and as for the cooked breakfast it was basic , the room was booked on the Saturday night I pity those who have our room I htink they ought to call in the hotel inspector.

Room Tip: I read the reviews of this hotel before choosing and it sounded ideal but I htink you should make up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a hen do for 2 nights so there were 10 of us in total. The owners are absolutely lovely, welcoming & friendly. I'd stay again just to see them!

Although the decor may not be new & modern, the rooms & bathroom were clean & cleaned on our one day stay. My negative about the stay is that the bathrooms were quite small & showers not particularly powerful, but they did the job. Breakfast was very good, would recommend the poached eggs, & toast, butter & marmalade were on tap! The hash brown was also cooked to perfection! With their set breakfast menu they also allowed you to move it around if you fancied a different combo. Again, lovely accommodating people.

As we were a hen do, before our big night out they allowed us to use their lobby for a couple of hours to have some champagne before we went out.

Locations wise, you are right on the sea front & walking distance from the town, the lanes & bars pubs & clubs.


As a cheap place to stay for a few nights, I'd recommend! Again decor is dated, but otherwise this is really great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The welcome was warm and so was I after climbing to the 3rd floor with my suitcase.
The decor is painted wood chip and looking very warn. In my room was a layer of loose paint which had flaked off the walls on one side of the bed. It was very dusty.
I must say the en suite bathroom had a most excellent shower and was very clean.
I found the top floor quiet. The breakfast was mediocre not offering anything remotely healthy.
Cornflakes or Ricecrispies, white toast and juice which tasted like squash.
The Full English breakfast was also uninspiring but served quickly.
The staff were helpful and gave information on the local area.
The location for the beach and shops is good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

As we booked close to our break time we did not have much choice and selected The Andorra as the the photos made it look fine and the location is good, just off the sea front.
However,after checking into the room we noticed the decor was poor, the wallpaper was bubbling in places.The toilet and shower were very small a and the metal soap holder attached to the shower wall was broken which meant unless you were careful it would crash onto the ground just missing your feet! After the first day, I noticed that the room had not been cleaned properly,They had simply replaced the bed cover,shoving the dirty one inside the wardrobe! They did not clean the bathroom floor and they did not replace the tea,coffee,milk etc.
The breakfast was at best poor. I ordered 2 bolied eggs and they came much too soft so the next morning I requested that they have 10 minutes yet they came too soft again!
Not good enough for £70 a night!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andorra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andorra Hotel

Address: 15/16 Oriental Place, Brighton BN1 2LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Andorra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Andorra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andorra Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andorra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.