We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unreliable..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpiper Guest House

Sandpiper Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brighton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandpiper Guest House
Save
You added Sandpiper Guest House to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   11 Russell Square, Brighton BN1 2EE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
cambridgshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Unreliable..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Me and my boyfriend booked to stay at the sandpiper guest house for one night and told the owner what time we would be there so we could get checked in and pay. When we arrived in Brighton we waited around until it was time to check in, when we got to the guest house, it looked as if it was closed and no one was in, we had knocked several times but there was no answer. We waited outside the guest house for a while to see if anyone would turn up to check us in, we had waited around 2 hours and there was still no sign of anyone! At this point we were very tired and getting frustrated considering we had booked a few days before, after waiting this amount of time we had a walk round Brighton and along the beach and decided to go home that night after an unreliable experience with this guest house.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
7
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Very affordable, clean & quiet property. Very accessible to Brighton centre and seafront. The owner was extremely welcoming and kind. We visited for a family birthday and he supplied us with a lovely chocolate cake! The photo of the room from another visitor suggesting an issue of security, doesn't show the bolts at the top and the bottom of both doors. We stayed in this room did not have any concerns about security. Would recommend this place and will stay again.

Room Tip: There is a basement area (own separate locked entrance) with a shared bathroom which is ideal for fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in January, landlord was very friendly and welcoming. It felt very homely hear and was ideal for what we wanted just somewhere to sleep and showered! Very good value for money and excellend location right on top of everything you need - seafront, restuarants, shopping centre and clubs. Liked the fact you could come and go as you please there where no time restrictions. Would stay hear again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Reception was friendly, room and bathroom were clean, there was no breakfast but we knew that before we booked. So I have to disagree with other reviewers, either it's been improved or else the reviews were written by competitors!

Of course being so near the sea front and the town centre nightlife, it was not free of noise, but what would one expect on a Friday or Saturday evening

Considering the low price, for Brighton, we got more and better than those reviews suggested

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Pillows and bed smelled horrible. Could not get a good nights sleep and wake up with headache. I left early and requested a refund for the last night but no chance of that from the owner. He likes to overcharge some people it seems.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

We came to Brighton for a music festival and left it a little late in finding accomodation. Surprisingly, this B&B had vacancies and at £25 pppn we thought we were onto a winner as we were pretty desperate. We were put into the basement flat which shared a bathroom. This wasn't a problem as the other room in the basement was taken by friends of ours.

Good points: cheap, good location, the housemaid was friendly and always did a good job.

Bad points:
1) the door of the rear bedroom (which leads to the garden and street outside) is totally unsecure. No lock, only a chain keeps it closed which can be opened by putting your hand through the window (which has no lock either) - see photo. Could be broken into incredibly easily in 30 seconds with no damage caused. When i complained to the owner he loosly fitted a very small ineffectual bolt. I got the feeling he either wanted to spend as little money as possible or didn't want the door damaged when broken into. We felt our stuff wasn't at all safe and moved it into our friends rooms. I'm not sure how secure the rest of the B&B is.

2) This is basically a student hovel style flat, small, grubby, old furniture, thin walls, cold.


To summarise, this is a cheap b&b with a good location but probably one of the worst you will ever stay in. The guy who runs it seems friendly but if something doesn't work, don't expect him to care. Don't bring anything you don't mind beiong stolen. Would I stay here again? Not unless I was pretty desperate.

This is probably a good example of where spending just an extra £10 a night for somewhere better would be well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

Very reasonably priced. Clean and comfortable. Quiet. In the centre so all sites and amenities within walking distance. Helpful friendly welcoming reception. Tea/coffee facilities. Room tidied daily. TV. Cheaper parking 2 miles away at Hove Train Station - fine if you don't need to use the car.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandpiper Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Guest House

Address: 11 Russell Square, Brighton BN1 2EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Guest House Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandpiper Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.