We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drakes Hotel Brighton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Drakes Hotel Brighton to your Saves list
Drakes Hotel Brighton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PE, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

I stayed here after having laser eye surgery locally (yes it does hurt!) and the staff (one woman on reception in particular) couldn't have been more helpful. I turned up 2 hours early and they still provided me with the sea view room I had booked. The room had a spectacular view, was very elegant if somewhat impractical in some respects. The only fault i could site is the noise from the road, and from the stiletto heels from the room above during the night!. Otherwise one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in anywhere in this price range.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    178
    67
    27
    17
See reviews for
23
453
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

If you're staying in Brighton try Drakes. I found it through Trip Advisor and have just stayed there for 2 nights. Initial telephone contact was very helpful and subsequent changes by me to the booking were accepted without complaint. The room was great, beautifully clean and tidy and the celebration package I had ordered was very impressive. Nothing was too much trouble and all staff were friendly & professional. If I wanted to be particularly critical I would say the room lacked a bidet but otherwise I would change nothing. Pretty damned near perfect!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

I was given the task of organising a company away day, including training and meetings with a big team dinner at the end.

Immediately after speaking to the Drakes staff in charge of bookings, I knew they would be the right hotel. Incredibly easy to communicate with and arrange the booking, they were prompt, knowledgeable and keen to help.

They were able to provide us an amazing two days that, although it was 'work' felt far more like a luxury break.

Check in was smooth and we were welcome by beaming members of staff who showed us to our meeting room, while our bags were whisked away to our rooms.

The conference room was well appointed and equipped, with very thoughtful staff checking on our needs throughout the day.

Most 'working lunches' consist of slightly dry sandwiches that have been left out for too long and smothered in cheap mayonaise, this was a tasty and fresh lunch that was very welcome.

Dinner at Drakes Restaurant that night was fantastic. The menu was incredibly well prepared, with knowledgeable staff who answered all questions of wine, ingredients & provenance of the food while being friendly and warm. While the decor is slightly plain, the space is well used and you are not cramped in like so many other restaurants keen to maximise custom. Food quality wise, it all tasted superb. Regularly eating out with work at top restaurants such as Maze, 15 & Claridge's, the food at Drakes more than held its own.

The bedrooms were all outstanding, with 12 rooms booked I got a good over view of all of them. Constitantly to a high quality, eery team member was happy with their rooms, with the extra features such as huge walk in showers, luxurious free-standing baths, comfortable beds and stunning views all with brilliant chic interior design (with very cleverly placed mod cons) meant that everybody had a wonderful stay.

Location wise, you could not ask for better. A great sea-air keeps the place nice and fresh with stunning views and ease of access to the pier and brighton centre a few minutes walk away.

The whole team had a fantastic time away at Drakes, and from an organisational point of view they were also fantastic to work with due to high quality service throughout.

Personally, I am really looking forward to an excuse to stay at Drakes again for a night or two.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

Really lovely hotel with great staff. They made us feel so welcome right from the start. Food was sublime, room was quirky but stylish. Very comfy bed!!

Will definitely be using this hotel again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Drakes does not represent good value for money. Prices are high, decor similar to a Travel Inn, mouldy bathroom and stained curtains/sofa.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

I went to Drakes for one night with my boyfriend for my birthday and we stayed in the attic room 404.....book this if you can!! The view is absolutely amazing....you are right on the front, with the pier to the right, looking out to the sea...the weather was gorgeous, so waking up to this was so nice!
The room is small, but a decent size...vey clean and modern. the bed is ULTRA comfy with gorgeous pillows. You are provided with a kettle, coffee cafetiere, Twinings tea & herbal tea, complementary water and The White Company toiletries.
The highlight of the room, is that you are in the top room on the roof, so you can climb out of the windows on the your own private roof terrace. We took outthe chairs and relaxed with a bottle fizz!

The bathroom is very small....its a wet room with the shower in the middle of the ceiling, so when you shower, you get everything wet...the toilet, sink, but it was fine. The bathroom door is a frosted glass door which doesnt give you much privacy, but it was fine.

We didnt eat in the hotel or have breakfast, but we order some coctails which were gorgeous and they were brought up to our room. There are no lifts, so the stairs take their toll on you if you have had a few drinks! Staff were very accomadating and polite, we were asked to pay for the room on arrival, the anything else such as drinks and parking were paid when we left. There is only 4 car park spaces on the front of the hotel, but i think they have some more round the back.

Even though we checked out at 11, we were able to leave our car on the drive until 2pm, which was good.

I would highly recommend this hotel, but we would have booked it for 2 nights as it went really quick!
We went out to eat at Havana restaurant on Duke Street...go there if you want a romantic meal...gorgeous food, and lovely coctail menu..

Enjoy!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

a well located and easily accesible hotel. Had a yin-yang double with a tub in the window, looking out at the pier. Brilliant view. Room was small but servicable. Wet room was a bit of a faff - stopped us from staying a second night on impulse. However would definately go back and stay in a larger room next time. Service was very efficient, warm and friendly - lovely young things.

Oh - not for the unfit or lazy. Lots of stairs! Make sure you have brekkie at Bill's - delicious.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Drakes Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakes Hotel Brighton

Address: 44 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#8 Family Hotel in Brighton
#11 Business Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakes Hotel Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned and a true retreat from everyday life. Drakes is a unique design led 20 bedroom "hand-made" hotel, on Brighton's seafront. Everything about drakes is exceptional, from the impeccable service, to the opulent yet serene design and the critically acclaimed "the restaurant at drakes". The offering at Drakes is set to be the ultimate in decadent contemporary luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Drakes Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Drakes Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drakes Hotel Brighton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.