We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a special weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drakes Hotel Brighton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Drakes Hotel Brighton to your Saves list
Drakes Hotel Brighton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PE, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
A DECADE OF DECADENCE
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great for a special weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2006

After a busy working week in London my boyfriend and I decided to have a weekend in Brighton and wanted to stay somewhere a little special. I used to live in Brighton for a number of years and know the place well. I am not a fan of Kemp town where the hotel is situated but it’s just far enough out of the way of the loud bars and clubs down the road so I was presently surprised. This is a boutique hotel so expect a more intimate service. The reception check in is at the bar and we were greeted by pleasant staff. We were taken up to our rooms and were showed the room features (lights, TV etc) and breakfast times.

We had booked a city feature room (no 103) the room was great for us. I did not want a sea view room as the road can be noisy with drunks over the weekend (although we didn’t hear or see many) the room was very contemporary and very pleasing to the eye. We found the storage plenty for a weekend, with cupboards built in the wall either side of the bed and the hanging space behind the electric curtain. The sunken bathroom was really nice and out of the way of the bedroom creating a feeling of space and wonderful lighting. Although the room had no views and the windows were frosted glass it suited us fine at it was quiet.

On the Saturday night we ate at the Gingerman restaurant, which I could not fault one bit. The food was out of this world and such a treat. The staff were fantastic and really know customer service and their food well. Some restaurants can be a bit stuffy in this price range but this one is very relaxed, comfortable, and intimate. A visit to the restaurant is a must if you budget allows. I would definitely recommend this one, book early as they get booked up very quickly.

Overall I would say this is a great hotel with fantastic food and staff, well worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    162
    60
    25
    16
See reviews for
19
406
15
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2006

Spent a night at Drakes, a surprise gift for my girlfriend ;-) I was a bit worried after reading some of the other reviews but I decided to book anyway, and it was a 100% rewarding experience.

I booked the Double Yin-Yang room with sea view (2nd floor). It is not huge but it is definitely well-arranged. The free-standing bathtub was perfect for a long relaxing bath for two... and the wet-room (with heated floor tiles!) makes long sexy showers a real pleasure. The hotel is indeed in front of a busy road, and it can get a bit noisy especially if you leave the windows open during the night (no need to do that though, there's air-conditioning). But going to bed afrer a few glasses of champagne, I could barely care about any noise.

If you really want to passionately enjoy a great night, go for it... if all you look for is something posh for the sake of looking posh, go somewhere else!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2006

my boyfriend and I stayed at Drakes for 3 nights as a treat for both our birthdays. i loved everything about it. the rooms were clean and stylish, the bed was huge and we made very good use of the free standing bath with some bubbles and champagne! the rain shower was incredibly relaxing and warm thanks to the under floor heating, ignore everyone who complains about it being too wet and awkward, it's a wet room! the staff were friendly and helpful and the whole place feels quite exclusive. unfortunately we spent so much money paying for the rather pricey rooms, we couldn't afford any little extras like in-room massages. maybe next time...

my only complaint would be that we had a "city-facing" room. the view was so ugly it had been blocked out with frosted glass and so it felt a little claustrophobic at times. i would definately recommend a sea facing room.

can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2006

We stayed here for just one night - the bed was a dream, the room was gorgeous, and the staff were very good.

The positives were - the bed, the location (esp. excellent view), the bath in the room (novelty value huge - but watch out for people on the top of the double - decker buses!!), and the cocktails.

On the other hand - as other reviewers have said - there was very poor storage - fancy curtain covers the wall with a a small rail behlind - but no depth. The wet room was more awkward than anything else.

We got this room for a steal at £98 online the day before so were pretty happy with ourselves - the weather was excellent and we loved Brighton - so all in all it was a great trip.

But would I pay double for the privilege? maybe for a special occasion because I really liked the place but on balance it is overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2006

Stayed here for two nights after our wedding before going on honeymoon.

Lovely hotel, friendly staff. You can drop bags off early for them to put in your room, ask for chocolates, champers etc to be left in your rooom for you. They even offered to run a bath for us ready for our arrival if we wanted it!

The continental breakfast is extra but was excellent and well worth the money! We got a warm croissant, a petit pan au chocolat, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, fruit juice and tea or coffee - each!

Had no problem with hot water even for a bath in the evening or shower in the morning. Loved the air con and under floor heating in the wet room. Had no problem with street noise like other people reviewed - and we had a sea facing double room.

Just be careful of the wet room - put the loo roll in the cupboard before you shower and it's all fine!

Oh and there was enough clothes hanging space for two people for a weekend.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris france
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2006

We arrived at Drakes,laden down with bags and struggled up the stairs to the entrance(no ramp)-and then had to struggle up the four flights of very steep stairs to our room-there is no lift and on our arrival noone to help with luggage, the stairs are VERY steep-if you have any problems or even if you aren't as fit a you'd like-don't think about getting a room on one of the higher floors.Our room was in the attic, unfortunately the sea- facing rooms had sold out, so we had a lovely view of various tower blocks and scruffy back gardens, it was a non-smoking room, but that just meant that the outside gutter had been used as an enormous ashtray and you looked out on a huge pile of cigarette butts.The room was smaller than I expected and a bit tired,they offer room service- but I couldn't work out how they would have space to actually put a tray down anywhere.There is a freestanding bath in the room which is ok and then the world's smallest "wet room"-that's the romantic take on things- in reality, it means you have a minute bathroom and the shower is basically over the toilet- you have to remove all bags,towels etc., if you want to have a shower, because the entire bathroom gets flooded, no matter how careful you are- soaking wet toilet paper, anyone? There is no hand held shower either,so if you have long hair - it is really difficult to wash.The plasma screen T.V. and CD player were top of the range, but who actually comes here to hole themelves up in the room to watch T.V.?People seemed to be coming coming for honeymoons,anniversaries and celebrations- they would have done better to spend the money on more basic things,there are two bedside lights but you can't use them independently- they are either both on or both off-silly little things like that!And the toilet is right next to the bed and the door is made of rather flimsy, semi-translucent glass-you can see through it-so I wouldn't come here if you don't know each other well ,definitely not a first date room ! or if your bowels are of a nervous or shy disposition! Basically,rooms are ok,but quite poky and unfortunately really not worth the money they are asking.However, the staff could not have been more polite,gracious and helpful and the location is great, right on the seafront and within easy walking distance of anything you might want to see,The hotel also offers passes to the local Gym and can arrange personal shopping excursions and massages in room,the Gingerman has a great reputation,although we didn't eat there and the bar is nice, there are some good things about the hotel, but that makes the little niggles seem worse!Close,but no cigar!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2006

My partner and I stayed at Drakes as we were attending my brothers 40th birthday meal at the hotels gingerman restaurant. The first day was fantastic, we had booked a sea facing suite with a freestanding bath tub in the window, we were so busy on the saturday that we didnt get to use it but wish we had as on the second evening there was no hot water all night! On the second day we were enjoying a much deserved lay in when we were woken up at 8am with someone elses coffee order - surely not difficult to get right when you only have 20 rooms!! Room was lovely but agree with previous reviewer - smalller than they look on the website. Cleaning standards weren't quite up to scratch and wardrobe space is terrible! the food at the Gingerman was FANTASTIC and I can thoroughly recommend this restaurant. overall, we had an ok stay but overpriced. to their credit we spoke to the duty manager about lack of hot water and were credited £50 and given free drinks.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Drakes Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakes Hotel Brighton

Address: 44 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#11 Business Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakes Hotel Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned and a true retreat from everyday life. Drakes is a unique design led 20 bedroom "hand-made" hotel, on Brighton's seafront. Everything about drakes is exceptional, from the impeccable service, to the opulent yet serene design and the critically acclaimed "the restaurant at drakes". The offering at Drakes is set to be the ultimate in decadent contemporary luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Drakes Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Drakes Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drakes Hotel Brighton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.