We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel-Amazing food-” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drakes Hotel Brighton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Drakes Hotel Brighton to your Saves list
Drakes Hotel Brighton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PE, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
A DECADE OF DECADENCE
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
brighton/broadstairs
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel-Amazing food-”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

I recently stayed at this hotel for two nights with my partner for my birthday - it was a surprise for myself. Upon arrival we were greeted by the reception team and shown to our bedroom (we had the sea facing feature room-104 i think) my boyfriend had arranged for some rose petals to be scattered around the bath and on the Super King size bed (they told us it was the biggest bed in Brighton) which was so romantic. the view from the room was fantastic, we could see the pier which was lovely at night, especially as we lay in the free standing bath, placed in front of the window sipping on champagne. We enjoyed cocktails in the bar in the evening and the barman was very helpful, helping me choose a cocktail as I am very fussy usually. The staff were very helpful and reccomended places to visit in the area and restaurants to dine at- along with a little map with directions.... Overall Fabulous and will be back if im lucky enough.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    162
    60
    25
    16
See reviews for
19
407
15
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

Returned today from a 2 night stay with my husband in a Seafacing Attic Room. Staff were absolutely excellent, communal areas were chic and well looked after. Our room was compact and there wasn't a huge amount of storage, but for a 2 night break it was perfect. The bath in the bedroom was great and the view is literally out on to the pier - as is the view from laying down in bed - fab. I would say the only downside was the wet room...very small but again, as we were only there for 2 nights it really wasn't necessary for us to have any more space! Ooo, and I would also just say that the wet room is where the toilet is...and it only has opaque glass doors with a slight gap ...possibly you'd want to feel pretty comfortable with your room mate!!

I would definitely return to this hotel...would choose the same room again if a mini-break, a larger one for a longer break!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

I stayed here on business for 3 nights and was very impressed. I had a yin yang sea view room which was supposed to be for one person, but could definitely accommodate 2. The room was small, but perfectly formed. At £100 a night, it was one of the better value rooms. The room was well laid out with a dressing table and desk as well as flat screen tv, dvd player and en suit luxury bathroom with a heated floor. The room also had air conditioning. The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble, from photocopying documents and sending faxes to providing change for the on street parking (cheaper than the hotel). The slippers and dressing gown were a lovely luxury. We ate here one night and the food was excellent. The only downsides were the lack of lift (although there was one for my luggage) and the fact the tea and coffee making facilities were tidied into a cupboard, so it was a pain to get them out to make a quick drink. I would recommend getting a room on the third floor if you can manage it, as the traffic noise is less. I would love to return for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

Absolutely fantasic.
We arrived on Monday 1st June for two nights, and were greeted by friendly and helpful staff. We stayed in the attic room- amazing views, very clean. It made the climb to the top of the hotel more than worth it.
The views from the balcony were completely unspoiled, it made paying that extra bit worth it.
The full english breakfast was amazing - if you stay here you have to try it! Good luck trying to eat it all though! The bar staff were great too- really knew their stuff and had a range of cocktails- i reccomend the Bellinis. Mmmm!
Overall, 10/10 it was briliant. Thank-you to all at Drakes for an amazing two days.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

We stayed at Drakes for our anniversary, and everything was perfect. They even relaxed the '2 nights at weekends' rule for us as we only needed one night, although we had to book late in order to get this which is fair enough. Staff could not have been more charming or helpful, and were able to accommodate my wheat allergy with wheat-free toast on the breakfast tray (amazing breakfast, the scrambled eggs with salmon were perfect). We loved the bath in the bedroom, and the clever use of space made a 'bijou double' feel more than big enough. Very comfortable bed with lots of pillows, great position right near the Pier. Not the cheapest hotel in Brighton but well worth it. Apparently the restaurant is very good, but we had already booked at Terre a Terre (also excellent).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

My husband and I went here for our 1st wedding anniversary for a little bit of luxury, and had a fab time.
The service at the hotel was faultless, the receptionist was friendly and so so helpful, she recommended a fab thai gastro put that we went to. At night time the bar staff were lovely and very helpful again. The bar could do with a wider range of cocktails, although the ones we had were fab.
The location of the hotel was wonderful, we were right on the seafront and about a 5 minute walk from the lanes, and all the hustle and bustle of brighton - perfect.
We stayed in the bijou room which was lovely, if a little small. We did mange to have a massage in our room (organised by the hotel - wonderful!), one of us had to lie on a massage bed and one on the actual bed as there wasn't room for 2 of the massage beds to give you an idea of the room size.
The room was very boutiquee. There were a few things that could have made it perfect though:
I thought the egyptian cotton sheets could have been crispier and ironed. When I stayed at hotel du vin, the sheets were like new.
The dressing gowns were a bit tatty, a shame really as these small simple things could have made it faultless.
The wet room was great, although 2 tiles had come up from the floor and the sink wasn't spotlessly clean.
The carpet pile was coming up, and the bath also wasn't spotlessly clean.
For me these little things, small attention to detail didn't by any means ruin the stay, and didn't really make a difference to us, but I have stayed in some lovely hotels and couldn't help compare. There is a free standing bath in the room which was deep and lovely... I want one.
The view out of the window was awful as we were city facing, it was loads of flats with lots of pigeon poo, but luckily the windows had frosting and blinds, so only saw this when we opened the window.
I was also a little disapointed that our stay didn't include breakfast.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again, but I think I would go for a sea-view room next time. It was a lovely stay and really glad we discovered this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

Don't book attic rooms - 4th floor and no lift! Trying to create boutique style with wetroom and bath in bedroom but room size is not adequate to achieve this. Excellent food in restaurant but don't book a table near the toilets! The staff who are young friendly and very helpful go a little way to justifying the relatively high room rates.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drakes Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakes Hotel Brighton

Address: 44 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#11 Business Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakes Hotel Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned and a true retreat from everyday life. Drakes is a unique design led 20 bedroom "hand-made" hotel, on Brighton's seafront. Everything about drakes is exceptional, from the impeccable service, to the opulent yet serene design and the critically acclaimed "the restaurant at drakes". The offering at Drakes is set to be the ultimate in decadent contemporary luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Drakes Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Drakes Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drakes Hotel Brighton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.