We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drakes Hotel Brighton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Drakes Hotel Brighton to your Saves list
Drakes Hotel Brighton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PE, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY & DINE SPECIAL OFFER
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a treat!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This was our first night away from our newborn and it was just perfect.
The room was super clean with complimentary white company products.
Getting ready for our night out may have been the best part of the night. We enjoyed the deep roll top bath whilst drinking the best cocktails delivered to us by a charming gentleman called Leon.
The next morning we had breakfast in bed which sorted us right out.
Overall the quality of the hotel, with the super staff and the location cannot be beaten.
Can't wait to stay again!! Xxx

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    163
    60
    25
    16
See reviews for
19
409
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My partner has been battling a one in a million extremely aggressive cancer since October 2013 and in January 2014 we found out it had grown at an alarming rate while on intensive chemo. So his oncologist told us we could have a few days rest before more tests and treatments start. Anyway we have always loved Brighton and thought it would be a good place to stay. I researched many hotels but none were so warming than those at Drakes. From the first phone call they were so responsive and wanted to do anything they could to make our stay happen. I booked a day in advance and still were so accommodating. Because of money issues that cancer causes we booked to stay in the ground floor city view room which was just in our price range. However when we arrived we were blown away when they told us they had upgraded us to the circular sea view kingsize room! It was such a lovely gesture. This mini holiday was just what we needed and it was priceless seeing a smile on my boyfriends face after such a tough ordeal. The staff are second to none always smiling, asking us how we were etc. The food was wonderful, especially in the restaurant! The lady serving greeted us by our name and looked after us so well. As for the room it was spectacular, stunning roll top bath with impeccable view, clean and had an extremely comfy bed. Have recommended to everyone I know! Cant wait to stay here again in the summer! Thanks Drakes

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelmsfordUK
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Likes: staff friendliness and willingness to help (e.g barman on Thursday night swapped nuts for crisps when we said we didn't like wasabi without asking, Easter egg, etc.). Bed and chair quality in room plus little touches like water, coffee/tea quality, sweets, biscuits etc. Jam and marmalade at breakfast. Room style (did the best with size/shape of room). Some of the restaurant meals. Drinks service always good - with great selection. Price point of food.
Dislike: sleep quality - very noisy because of traffic and clubbers on street. Size or room. Car parking charge.
Could do better: too hot in restaurant. Wine choice. The food is good and well priced but not quite 'there'(e.g. some sweets lacked taste, combinations not quite right, lamb was blue instead of pink).
Overall - thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will recommend and stay again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

My sisters and I booked Drakes as a birthday treat for our mum's 87th birthday. We did telephone the hotel prior to booking to inquire whether the hotel was suitable for someone with mobility problems. We booked the ground floor sea view room for her and the rest of the party had the attic room. There are no lifts but if you are energetic enough you'll be fine. The hotel is lovely, the rooms amazing. From from the moment we stepped through the door we were greeted very warmly by the reception staff. We had dinner in the hotel on the first night and the meal was truly splendid, something you expect at a Michelin star restaurant. All the staff at Drakes were amazingly helpful. Special thanks must go to Sheila and Cally who really went out of their way to help mum when she couldn't manage the stairs for dinner and breakfast. Only one small downside was that they ask for the full payment upfront which was surprising. I guess they have had problems in the past. I hope they will review this procedure as it was off putting. But that won't deter us from returning to this wonderful hotel. Thank you again Drakes for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor sea view room has an excellent view of Brighton pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel but we did book a table for dinner. All I can say was that this was one of the nicest meals I've ever had. I enjoy good food and this was absolutely delicious. My starter of quail was scrumptious and my partner enjoyed his gnocchi (which I felt could have been a little bigger in portion). The mains of beef, which I was told was some of the most tender he has ever had, and the rabbit I had went down extremely well! The puddings were both very tasty and presented nicely. On top of what you ordered, the extra little bits of food - parmesan and bacon brioche, mint and pea soup served in a tea cup and the mandarin (not quite sure what it was called but it was like a paste) all added to the enjoyment of the meal.

Being a small venue the atmosphere is intimate and relaxing. The waitress was perfectly attentive but unobtrusive - something which I feel many places get wrong. If you are staying in Brighton and fancy treating yourself or someone else to a truly wonderful meal then take them to Drakes. It's not cheap but it's worth every penny!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We have always thought that the Restaurant at Drakes is the best in the country so where else would we go to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary but this time we decided to also stay at Drakes as well & what a fantastic choice that was. The room was stunning & immaculate with fantastic views of the sea front, without exception EVERY member of staff was amazing & could not do enough to both make us feel welcome & to celebrate our special anniversary. The location of the hotel is perfect, right on the sea front but close to town & just away from the more commercial parts of Brighton, like I said, just perfect. Parking was right outside the hotel so again, could not be better. Then we get to the restaurant & all I can say is that it's THE BEST we have ever been to (& we have been to some very fancy ones). Our stay was PERFECT & Drakes is TOTALLY AMAZING, if you ever get chance to go there, do so, you will not regret it

Room Tip: Any, they are all individual & amazing, just pick the best you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night in a ying yang sea view double. Great room with good view of the sea front . Room isn't the largest but adequate for 2 people for a night or two. Breakfast was very good and staff always helpfull and friendly .

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drakes Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakes Hotel Brighton

Address: 44 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#12 Business Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakes Hotel Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned and a true retreat from everyday life. Drakes is a unique design led 20 bedroom "hand-made" hotel, on Brighton's seafront. Everything about drakes is exceptional, from the impeccable service, to the opulent yet serene design and the critically acclaimed "the restaurant at drakes". The offering at Drakes is set to be the ultimate in decadent contemporary luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Drakes Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Drakes Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drakes Hotel Brighton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.