We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre in the extreme” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Langfords Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Langfords Hotel to your Saves list
Langfords Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 - 16 Third Avenue, Brighton BN3 2PX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mediocre in the extreme”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Very tired hotel which could do with a lot of TLC - décor, paintwork, upholstery all disappointing. Reception service OK, bar expensive for what it was. The fire door in the corridor outside our room wasn't properly set to softly close so we had bang after bang all night. One of the lamps in the room had a test certificate which was out of date. Our toilet seat hinge cover was broken and the hinge below badly corroded. The mastic around the shower tray was stained. An odd lip between the bathroom and bedroom meant stubbed toes every time we walked through.

Location good for access to Hove and a good walk over to Brighton. On street parking relatively easy and not bad price - don't buy the £7.00/day permit at reception as pay & display is only £5.00/day.

Wouldn't rush back for sure, but if desperate it does offer a comfortable bed with clean sheets in a relatively convenient location

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
This is a disheartening review overall though we are pleased you found a number of aspects of your stay positive

The Langfords strives to provide her guests with value for money and choice - the choice for example of having peace of mind by leaving sufficient parking vouchers in ones car so that there is no 'feeding of the meter' to remember. This is an incredibly popular service but equally if a customer chooses to do things 'manually' then that is great too

To be clear, our electrical test responsibilities were completed a couple of months ago and, of course, the hotel continues to receive investment to further upgrade the property, not least as we view the Langfords as very much the Grande Dame of Third Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    87
    48
    29
    46
See reviews for
37
84
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We chose this hotel because of the reasonable prices for our 3 night break with friends. We were pleasantly surprised because its B&B prices but the hotel is spacious with nice rooms, bar area, good breakfast and very pleasant, helpful staff. The location was more like a 20-30 minute stroll,but we weren't in a hurry and it was generally a nice walk in the sunshine and it was away from the hussle and bustle of central Brighton. You could get buses or a taxi back from central Brighton was about £7. We would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
What a super review and we really appreciate your support, particularly as there is so much choice in the City

The Langfords strives to provide value for money and is ideally located and, as you say, a pleasant stroll along the seafront into the city centre

There is no greater tribute than the return of a loyal guest so hopefully we can see you again before too long. Renewed thanks meanwhile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I really did this like this hotel. I stayed here from Sunday to the Thursday with my friend and I was a little worried after reading some of the reviews!

We got to the hotel and i was shocked. We really liked it. The receptionist was friendly and helpful. We got to the room and it was really big!

A double bed, chairs , Table, sofa and the bathroom had a bath and a shower! ( Shocked you would get that for a budget price compared to Travelodge)

The baloney was nice and I could see the sea from it.Our friends stayed in a travelodge in Brighton centre and they were jealous of us!

The only downside is parking is expensive in brighton so we got the train. It's quite a distance to carry bags to the hotel but you could easily get a taxi for a fiver...

Overall, we really did enjoy our stay at the Langfords. So much that we are organising another trip down to brighton for New Years and we will defo stay at the Langfords!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you so much for this stellar review. The staff are ecstatic too and while there is plenty of 2014 still to enjoy, we are really looking forward to your return trip in the New Year. As your plans come together, please contact our manager Pavol as he is standing ready to help with your booking

It is kind of you to acknowledge the range of reviews here - we welcome genuine reviews and take seriously guest feedback and the opportunity it gives us to learn which is why we will respond to each and every review, unlike the majority of hotels

Thank you again for your kind remarks and support - a real summer pick me up
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

My advice is to keep away. Booked for three days. Stupidly paid for three days on arrival. Was so disgusted with the room provided that we stayed just long enough to book an alternative hotel. Handed back the keys and only when I asked for a refund did they offer an alternative room. By that time if had enough and foolishly declined the offer. Seen this ploy before anyway. offer a better room to a desperate guest then start heaping on the extra charges. I reasoned that what I'd seen of the hotel and the disgusting room I'd been offered I didn't want stay there anyway. Of course, they won't do a refund of the second and third days tariff because they aren't authorised and the hotel policy says that can't, etc. Very uncooperative. This is the worst hotel I've been to in UK and it's even worse than some of the Bush hotels I've stayed in Australia.
Problems included:
No cooling and Windows that cannot open enough to ventilate the room.
Bathroom smelly musty and the exhaust fan did not work at all.
Bed (not the sheets) looked dirty and had what looked like blood on the upholstery.
Huge iron shaped burn mark on the carpet.
Smallest tv I've seen for years.
Hotel parking arrangements cost 40 percent more than paying via the on street meter.
If you stay here you have been warned.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We are truly disheartened by this review and sadly do not understand what this guest is hoping to achieve [other than the obvious] as they were offered a luxury room by way of upgrade [at no extra cost, to be very clear on this point] but for whatever reason elected to leave the hotel and then try and 'put the milk back in the bottle'

The Langfords strives to provide value for money and providing our guests a choice. We have never made any bones about the hotel being the subject of ongoing improvements and we are ever mindful of the huge amount of choice in the City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Let's be honest, you can't expect too much for £40 so I went along with a very open mind.
Was checked in by a very pleasant young man with glasses who also worked behind the bar and hosed down the building in the garden area - drinks were served perfectly and while hosing down he was most anxious he was not making too much noise and therefore disturbing our enjoyment. Full marks to him.
The reception, bar and seating area are lovely, very comfortable and nicely decorated with the added touches of board games. I thought the carpet and furniture here were all first class.
My bed was comfortable and the sheets crisp and white. The shower was excellent and gave a consistently hot and powerful wash.
Breakfast which I think I paid £7 for in advance was delicious - too much, in fact and yet again served by about three charming young ladies.
When returning to Brighton I would most certainly stay here again and it only misses out on five stars from me due to some minor housekeeping issues which would not take long to remedy - the carpet outside my room is worn and therefore a trip hazard, the same in my bedroom where a slightly larger grip would sort the problem and finally some paint touch ups around the door (room 202) and skirting boards would really help. The painting, an hour at most I feel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
We are humbled by the warmth and helpfulness of this review, especially from such an illustrious Trip Advisor contributor so thank you so much and for your custom

Your suggestions are really helpful too and we were delighted you were able to highlight the value for money Langfords strives to provide

Please visit again soon as we would love to host you again. The staff are over the moon too
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

A functional hotel with many corridors and bright rooms. Polite helpful staff. Good internet coverage in my room, a triple room for just one, so spacious but would have been tight for three apart for just using it to sleep. Close to Hove restaurants, and to the beach with an ease stroll into Brighton. Breakfast good.

Good value when booking well in advance

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We appreciated your visiting from Wiltshire and always value the thoughts of Trip Advisor senior contributors, so many thanks for this candid review

The Langfords strives to provide value for money and we are delighted to offer guests a complimentary super-fast fibre WIFI experience

Hopefully we can see you back in the City before too long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Recently just stayed at the Langfords Hotel for 3 nights and absolutely loved it, our room was on the first floor with an ensuite bathroom- only slight issue here being that there were two remaining hairs from the previous occupant, otherwise the room was spacious with a balcony and seemed to be quite clean. The wifi was really good which was an unexpected surprise. The bed was pretty comfortable and there was little noise from the street. We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay and didn't want to leave! The slight problems with our room was the fact that the light on the ceiling didn't look thoroughly secure and the TV fixture seemed to be coming away from the wall. Otherwise I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, we are hoping to return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We really enjoyed hosting you and thank you so much for your warm remarks and affirmation

Equally, I am sorry there were a few niggles with the room which we have passed back to both our maintenance and housekeeping teams. Action has been taken as a result. Hopefully we can see you back before very long

We have worked hard, with our partners Liveport, on our fast, friendly and fibre enhanced guest WIFI so we truly appreciate your mentioning this specifically
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langfords Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langfords Hotel

Address: 8 - 16 Third Avenue, Brighton BN3 2PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Langfords Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langfords Hotel in Hove is situated on a tree-lined avenue a short stroll from the shingle beach of Brighton and Hove’s historical seafront; only a fifteen minute walk from the bustling centre of the South Coast’s famous seaside resort of ‘kiss-me-quick’ Brighton. Although Brighton retains its cheeky reputation, it has grown up considerably since it merged with its immediate neighbour, Hove – when it became a new British city for the Millennium; a gift from HM The Queen! The combined treat of ‘Brighton & Hove’ officially merging, is that the City has become one of Britain’s most savvy twenty-first century Media Hubs – and The Langfords keeps pace happily, with conference packages to suit corporate delegates or for ‘start-ups’ in need of some space when meeting with clients…The Langfords is a lovely, red-brick Victorian building echoing with old charm and brimming with character. The hotel has 58 very well proportioned bedrooms (all with en-suite facilities), and the spacious lounge bar has direct access to our lawned gardens – perfect for relaxing in on those sunny summer days and warm evenings. We also have eight function suites and a reputation for excellent conference and wedding facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Langfords Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langfords Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langfords Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.