We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Seaside Hotel Showing Its Age.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Langfords Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Langfords Hotel to your Saves list
Langfords Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 - 16 Third Avenue, Brighton BN3 2PX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Classic Seaside Hotel Showing Its Age.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed here for one night to get-together with some friends. This hotel is similar to many seaside hotels of a certain era that are trying their best to maintain standards and be competative on price. Its a bit of a rabbit warren as seperate buildings are cobbled together so make sure you take the correct staircase to your room. Staff at reception were friendly and efficient and helped with the complex parking arrangements in the area. (Add £6 per day to park). The reasonably sized room was worn around the edges as you would expect but nice and clean with Tea/Coffee facilites, Digital TV but no phone (Room 202). The after hours bar service was conducted by the Night Porter and was only beer, wine and soft drinks. There was quite a lot of late night noise from other groups staying at the hotel which judging from other comments must happen periodically. Breakfast was excellent and included in the price paid. Altogether an OK hotel that was selected for its proximaty to the restaurant we were celebrating at for the evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    87
    48
    29
    46
See reviews for
37
84
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I Stayed for two nights, Very nice Hotel but got the forgotten single room again that
every hotel seems to have, ( Room 404).
Very bland,small and needs decorating.
Very nice breakfast in a great room, the hotel was very quiet for a busy
summer weekend, could do a lot better as has great potential to be a good hotel near the beach
and restaurants.
Staff seem very shy, bit odd for a customer service industry.
Will stay again but will check room out before hand.

Room Tip: Have a Double front room with curtains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed at Langfords for 2 nights on a business trip. Room 404 was small & uncomfortable and in need of redecoration. Breakfast was very good.
Beware the great unwashed! I experienced drunken, foul language abuse from upstairs windows and the hotel steps when returning at 1 a.m. This was followed by a fire alarm at 4.30 a.m. caused by smoking in a room (confirmed by Reception). No compensation was offered and my written complaint received no reply.
I have stayed in hotels all over the world. This experience was one of the worst.
Hotel management have a responsibility to all guests, not just to larger parties.

Room Tip: Avoid 404 (single)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, Stoke on trent
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We found this place last minute. Very clean and good sized room with decent sized en-suite. Friendly staff, breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and at a reasonable price. Decor was what I would call 'classic' but not falling apart. Great location for Brighton and Hove. Near the beach.

Room Tip: No lift stairs only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

What a brilliant hotel for a hen weekend! I have absolutely nothing to grumble over and as I'm the bride I'd be the first the moan! But they were very accommodating to my hens! We did have a broken shower and. Tv that didn't work but they did compensate us by giving us a radio and changed our wobbly stool for one that was much better! The staff there were very friendly including the night staff who looked like the guy out of the rocky horror show! Lol I would definitely stay here again!!! Xxx

Room Tip: Just beware they will only except cash or CREDIT CARD as a deposit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We just got back from a two night stay in the Langford with 7 of my friends, we had three rooms between us. Each room was very clean, tea and coffee making facilities were completely stocked as was the bathroom. Tv needed retuning after the digital switchover but I was happy to help with that. The hotel itself was fine, the bar stayed open as long as you were buying. There was quite a few stag and hen party's on but that was fine, no problems and the hotel is obviously popular as it seemed very full. Breakfast was great, a wide selection. After finding out we were staying here I looked on trip advisor to see what to expect and I was a bit worried really by what people had put. But I was definitely presently surprised, I wouldnt take my wife and kids here as its not really family orientated but for a getaway with your friends I would thoroughly recommend it. Thanks for a great stay and weekend .

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed here last week. Looks very much like a youth hostel when you walk in, very down at heel and scruffy, with basic and spartan furnishings. I perked up a lot however when I got into my room to be greeted by a four poster bed, and huge bathroom with jacuzzi bath. Except the bath didn't work. Just the shower. And then the TV reception disappeared. The Wifi followed suit fairly quickly afterwards. Then, to top it all off, the next morning I had absolutely no hot water, despite waiting until near 11 in hope. Really poor value considering the other places you can stay in Brighton for the same money

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langfords Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langfords Hotel

Address: 8 - 16 Third Avenue, Brighton BN3 2PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Langfords Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langfords Hotel in Hove is situated on a tree-lined avenue a short stroll from the shingle beach of Brighton and Hove’s historical seafront; only a fifteen minute walk from the bustling centre of the South Coast’s famous seaside resort of ‘kiss-me-quick’ Brighton. Although Brighton retains its cheeky reputation, it has grown up considerably since it merged with its immediate neighbour, Hove – when it became a new British city for the Millennium; a gift from HM The Queen! The combined treat of ‘Brighton & Hove’ officially merging, is that the City has become one of Britain’s most savvy twenty-first century Media Hubs – and The Langfords keeps pace happily, with conference packages to suit corporate delegates or for ‘start-ups’ in need of some space when meeting with clients…The Langfords is a lovely, red-brick Victorian building echoing with old charm and brimming with character. The hotel has 58 very well proportioned bedrooms (all with en-suite facilities), and the spacious lounge bar has direct access to our lawned gardens – perfect for relaxing in on those sunny summer days and warm evenings. We also have eight function suites and a reputation for excellent conference and wedding facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Langfords Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langfords Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langfords Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.