We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't know about 4* but just what we needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Ship Hotel to your Saves list
The Old Ship Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I don't know about 4* but just what we needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Booked last minute when we decided our round trip in a day would be too much. Helpful staff at reception, perfectly reasonable room although the hotel is in a busy area and so not perfectly quiet. Less helpful in the bar-we were at the last minute to eat & by the time we had the attention of anyone the clock had ticked past the hour so we could not dine (there was a fuse problem or something distracting everyone). Nevertheless we could have a sandwich which was decent enough for what it was and nicely served.
Comfortable bed and when we left at 5am the night receptionist kindly took us out through the back and pointed out a shortcut to the multi-storey car park to avoid being out in the howling gale. I wouldn't want to stay a week,I don't think, but will certainly stay a night or two next time we visit Brighton.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    356
    227
    84
    50
See reviews for
110
455
31
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Have stayed here a few times now. It is the perfect location, right by the Laines and the pier.
Warm friendly welcome from the staff at reception, i had requested an early check in which they were happy to organise for me. Very courteous and professional as always.
The staff in the bar and restaurant were also friendly and helpful.
My room, while very clean could do with a bit of TLC, more so in the bathroom, it's just a little dated. But everything was in good working order. No complaints.
Looking forward to my next stay in a few weeks!!

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for a sea view. Also, if you get a room on the side, it can be noisy at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here on a Sunday and got a great deal. We stayed in the old part of the hotel in a premium room overlooking the beach front

As it was our anniversary they left us a card and chocolates which is a nice touch.

Bathroom need updating big time. But big spacious room with a comfy bed. Yea facilities in the rooms and full freebies on TV

Not sure Id stay here at the full price but for £90 a night for the location id say it's worth that

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Danny T,

I'm pleased you enjoyed the view from our Premium rooms. We always try our best to recognise an occasion so I’m happy you liked the card and chocolates we provided in your room.

We are ideally located on the sea front, minutes from the famous Brighton Pier also located just 5 minutes walking distance from the Brighton Centre.

Your other comments have bee reported to the maintenance Manager, I thank you for bringing this to my attention.

We hope you return again.

Kind Regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsforth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed at The Old Ship for 5 nights recently whilst on a course. It was very much an average experience, with rooms that need redecorating and corridors and meeting areas that are even more run down. The restaurant actually put us off our breakfast, with paint peeling off the windowsills and the whole place looking in need of a clean. Breakfast itself was very good, buffet style with a lot of choice.

My room was unbearably warm, and the radiator didn't appear to turn down. My colleague had to wait ten minutes whenever he wanted hot water, which we thought was a real waste but the staff stated they knew about the problem! I have to say that the staff were absolutely lovely though which was great and made the stay a lot better.

The location of the hotel on the seafront was also a big plus, and the hotel can't help the city noise which you find anywhere in Brighton.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Ellie B,

I am pleased to read that overall you had an enjoyable business stay with us. Thank you for leaving us your feedback especially regarding our staff’s excellent service.

You may be pleased to learn that we are working on a plan of refurbishment and do hope that you will return to see the improvements for yourself.

We do hope to welcome you back next time you are in Brighton.

Kind regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

* Very helpful on arrival at garage. Price at £23 per day is actually competitive for Brighton although I noticed that the Thistle next door charged only £20. Help offered with luggage and the porter took our baggage from garage via Reception to our room.
* Reception staff were courteous and helpful. My email request for an accessible room had been received and a suitable room allocated.
* The room was "compact" but well appointed with two armchairs, a small table and a good sized dressing/writing table. We had to move the unit on which the TV stood to plug in the "cordless" kettle which was in a cupboard and the plug had to be put through a hole in the back to reach the power socket. On mentioning this at Reception I discovered that one was supposed to use the kettle on the dressing table where there was an available socket. I suggested they cover the hole in the back of the tea making cupboard to avoid confusion to future guests.
* The TV was a modern 38" digital set which could easily be viewed from either the bed or the two armchairs.
* The room was excessively hot, in spite of turning down the radiator control. Being on the Brighton seafront the traffic noise was quite intrusive although the fitted double glazing and supplied earplugs helped. Compensation was the lovely sea view with Brighton Pier quite close.
* The bathroom was quite small with a difficult to use wash hand basin due to the tap being too large and protruding over the basin. Hot water took forever to run from the tap. Extractor fan did not work. There were "grab handles" for the bath but too low for the shower - elderly people need a handle at higher level for safe showering.
* WiFi was supposed to be "available in all rooms" but we could not get it on either iPad to iPhone in room 117 - had to go to the Reception area for a signal.
* Dinner was very good with a perfectly satisfactory choice on the set menu and a much wider selection on the a la carte. Food and plates were hot when served. Waiting staff were well trained, helpful and efficient.
* Breakfast was also very good - good selection of cereals, freshly cooked hot food with hot plates upon which to put it. A toasting machine which actually worked!
* When we tried to order room service we discovered that the room telephone did not work! I had to use my mobile phone to call the hotel reception to place my order. The hotel did, to their credit, waive the room service delivery charge of £5.
* We went on a Secret Escapes deal which was very good value for money. The full price would not have been such good value.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are noisy due to the very busy seafront road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Patrick B,

I am extremely pleased to read that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for leaving us your feedback especially regarding our staff’s helpful service, it is great to read that any issues that were raised to the team were quickly resolved for you.

The points for improvement that you have mentioned have been read carefully and are very much appreciated. Thank you for bringing these to my attention.

We do hope that you will return to us next time you are visiting Brighton.

Kind regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for a 2 night break using our Tesco Club Card vouchers.

All the staff we encountered we very professional, efficient and friendly.

We had a sea view room which was huge (220). The view was wonderful but do beware that it is right on the sea front and the noise from Brighton revellers continued up until 6am on Sunday morning. The hotel do however provide ear plugs if you want to use them!

Bed was nice and comfy and the linen was nice. The bathroom was definitely in need of some TLC but it was clean. Hairdryer, iron, dressing gowns and slippers all provided.

Breakfast was ok. Lots of choice although the cooked breakfast options were a little greasy.

Very centrally located for the Pier, the Lanes and the Brighton Pavillion.

All in all, an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear DizzyNo1,

It is great to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are in a fantastic location and the views are spectacular, I couldn’t agree more.

We do hope to welcome you back, next time you are visiting Brighton.

Warm regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have just got home from a great weekend at The old ship hotel. Yes it's a little tired in places but it's an old hotel so only to be expected. We were on the 4 th floor in room 406 which was at the end of a corridor so we were not disturbed by people walking past our room. We did overlook a street with road works and bins for the thistle hotel next door. So Friday night we did hear bottles being emptied into the bins and early morning road workers. The room was a little cold but one quick call to reception and it was sorted immediately by a heater being given to us. The central heating then was fixed too. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was cold but plenty on offer. It's in an amazing position right on the seafront with easy access to all the shops and restaurants. Would definitely go again. Great value.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear sue m,

It's lovely to read such a nice review and I thank you for taking the time to write this. We do try our best to make every guest feel welcome and to meet all requests and I’m pleased we were able to do these quickly for you.

We do hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Paul Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#7 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Ship Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.