We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Old Ship Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Ship Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 44 hotels in Brighton
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at this hotel. It's pretty good. It is an old building - apparently the oldest hotel in Brighton - so the layout is a bit quirky. We got one of the rooms at the back with no view, which wasn't a problem for us, but the decor is a bit "tired" - unpainted filler in door frame. Not a problem for us, but it is supposed to be a 4 star hotel.
The staff were really good; friendly and polite. Food is what you would expect. You can stuff yourself silly at breakfast, and many do, so there were times when they had run out of hot food and we had to wait.
Fantastic location on the front. I was surprised that there are no buses running along this part of the front, but that's not the fault of the hotel.
The only negative was that the room was a little cold. Usually, I find hotels too hot, but not this room (room 101!). The radiator seemed to come on and go off at random. Not a huge issue, but, again, this is a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: The cheap rooms - ..01 and ..02, are at the back so you won't get a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    290
    180
    67
    41
See reviews for
90
355
20
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Old Ship for 2 nights. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the maids were still working in the corridors at 6.30pm. All the staff were very polite and friendly.

The room was very clean and I was surprised how nice it was given some of the reviews, maybe a little dated but for the price great value. A minor point would be that the shower wasn't fitted properly on the wall.

Two things need to be looked at 1) no blind in the bathroom, the lower part of the window was opaque however the top part wasn't and whilst we were not on a main road there were windows opposite so it was a little off putting. 2) The bed had a big dip in the middle so the first night was spent trying not to roll into the centre, by the 2nd night we were more used to it but the room (202) would benefit from a new mattress.

Despite the points above this hotel is really nice and the location is fantastic. The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome and for the price we would return

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am sorry you found that the bed dipped and the shower not fixing properly. I have reported this to maintenance and where possible immediate action will be taken.

I am pleased however that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Old Ship Hotel is the oldest hotel in Brighton!!! It’s currently going through a re-furb with the addition of Gym, New Restaurant, and Upgraded Rooms etc.

Check in was quick, I think I had one of the best rooms in the hotel right at the front on the 1 floor. View was amazing big open doors that looked out onto the stunning Brighton seafront, that’s what Brighton’s all about.

They room was old but nice, huge comfy bed and nice seating area. Bathroom was small and could do with a bit of an update and the water was hot but not as hot as I would like it.

The location is what makes the hotel, its right on the seafront in the heart of the city, you can walk to everything!!!

Didn’t have Breakfast, but did have some late night room service off the limited menu.

Overall it was a great stay and a great night’s sleep; as long as you don’t pay over the odds you won’t be disappointed.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room at the front of the hotel with seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review and am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Old Ship Hotel, part of the Puma Hotel Collection.

If you are planning a return trip please do try our extensive buffet breakfast.

Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melrand, france
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

After reading some of the negative reviews, we were a bit worried about staying at this hotel., particularly as it was a birthday gift from our children. However, the staff were very helpful and friendly, particularly Gillian who handled the breakfasts and the young man on reception who brought us an extra heater and blanket for the very cold night that we stayed. The hotel is perfectly located being close to the Lanes and Jamie's restaurant in the next street. It may have a few quirks but nothing that one wouldn't expect from a hotel of this age and character. If you want modern perfection then stay in one of the hotel chain boxes. But if you want the old charm and grandeur then this is the hotel to choose, especially as the rooms were at a very reasonable price.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: We were in room 342 which was fine and a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Many thanks for your review.

As the oldest hotel in Brighton and a listed building we are full of character and "quirks". I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you found the team here helpfull.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at The Old Ship over the weekend. The hotel location couldn't be beaten. We were lucky enough to have a sea view room. What a view !! The room was clean & comfortable. The bathroom was fine. The rooms are looking a little tired. But overall was happy and satisfied. Breakfast was good. Good choices but the hot food could have been a bit hotter. Staff friendly and helpful. Hotel has recently been taken over by the Puma group so hopefully they will be investing in this very historic building and bringing it back to glory.

Room Tip: Have a Sea View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and now that we are part of the Puma Hotels Collection refurbishment will commence including bedrooms, corridors and a resident only gym

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden of England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is steeped in history and proudly stands In a prominent location on Brighton sea front. On entering you get the feeling of a bygone age due to the tired decor. The receptionist was very polite and helpful but I couldn't help noticing that her keyboard for the computer was raised from the desk on a home made chipboard stand which looked crudely thrown together. The lift to the second floor was very small and old but had character. Wow when we got out we were met by a labyrinth of narrow uneven floored corridors. Eventually we found our room which thankfully was at the rear of the hotel. The room was a good size and nicely presented but the light switch didn't appear to turn anything on. The wall lights had pull cords and bedside lamps were operated by nearby wall switches...strange! The bathroom appeared to have been recently updated but had a strange smell. All in all the room was pleasant. During the night I was awoken by the toilet cistern continually filling itself. The bed was comfortable and provided a reasonable sleep. In the morning I turned the shower on and was adjusting the temperature when the water stopped flowing but I could hear it running. I think a pipe inside the wall had come loose. I managed to run a bath and couldn't wait for breakfast. The dining room furniture was extremely tired. The seat covers were very old and I swapped one chair as it was covered in white paint stains. The breakfast was ok. We checked out telling the receptionist about the problems in bathroom etc. she didn't offer an apology or anything and took our payment.
This hotel has a great location and was fairly cheap for a one night stay. It could seriously do with modernising. Would I stay again probably not.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your review

I am sorry for the dissapoinment you experienced and assure you that all feedback is fully reviewed and where possible action taken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed here for one night in a standard double room. The room was very clean and confortable with all the needed features i.e tea and coffee, hair dryer, tv. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was lovely!

GREAT value for money and directly opposite the sea. Only complaints are that the lift was very old and slow, but did its job. And the corridoors were a bit grubby. Other than that the hotel reception area was lovely, room was fantastic and staff were very friendly. Would definently stay here again :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I was pleased you enjoyed your stay. As we are now part of the Puma Hotel Colleciton we will be commencing refurbishment works shortly including all corridors.

I look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#7 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has charegable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Ship Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.