We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless in Brighton” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Ship Hotel to your Saves list
The Old Ship Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Hythe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sleepless in Brighton”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great location but extremely noisy if you are at the front due to drunks from nightclubs going home! still shouting and screaming at 05.30hrs. Dont pay for sea view if you want a quiet nights sleep, ask for room at the back! dont go to American Diner on the corner after show. On door closing time is 22.30hrs. We were all turned away at 21.55hrs! obviouslly not worried about taking money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am sorry if people outside the hotel disturbed your stay. The Diner is not ours so I cannot comment on this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    428
    257
    101
    57
See reviews for
126
538
34
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Really liked the Old Ship, I managed to secure a great rate via TravelRepublic and was more than happy with everything on offer. From the chap who checked me in, which was very efficient. Having booked online, I literally had to show my confirmation and was then given my room key and on my way.

The lift to the rooms is via the bar which was spacious enough for this size of hotel. One gripe possibly is that there seemed to be only one rickety old lift, this was fine but my room was on the 4th floor and I did find it easier sometimes to walk up and down rather than wait around.

The rooms were fine, spacious and you can pay for a sea-view I didn't this time around as I wasn't planning on spending too much time in there. The free wi-fi is a bonus, it's a little patchy in its connectivity, that said it's free and was adequate.

Sound enough sleep, no noise and this was at the weekend so really pleased with that. The breakfast was fantastic, really good selection of juices, cereals, bread and hot food that included sausages, mushrooms, bacon, egg, beans, hash browns and much more.

Well worth the money and if you shop around and get a good deal then even better. I have stayed in a good few hotels in Brighton now and this is definitely up there with the best in terms of value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you ever so much for your review

I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay including the free wifi

We very much look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We've been coming to this hotel every couple of years and in fact got married here in 2010. We were interested to see what it would be like with the change to Puma hotels. So here are the positives and the negatives

+ives: Service excellent. I enquired whether there were any shoeshine kits available. On being told no, the member of staff (who might well have been the manager) said he'd go out and get one for me. The lady on breakfasts remains the same - a lovely cheerful lady who adds a lot of character. The breakfasts are also still very nice (soya milk was provided on request, always a good sign). The sea view remains of course stunning.

Not so +ives: The refurb in the downstairs restaurant looks really tacky due to its design (think seaside postcard images stencilled on the windows so you can't see in from outside)
I can't speak for the food which may well be wonderful, although I noticed they've got rid of the interesting tea selection and just do bog standard twinings (with no earl grey - shock!)
The rooms also need refurbishing which I think is happening now so it remains to be seen what they will be like. Lower floor sea view rooms noisy but of course there's nothing that can be done about that (apart from double glazing).

We had a nice time but the noisy room/lack of a refurb and apparent loss of character (even though the previous character was boutique flaky - how many times did they lose our reservations?) means 3 out of 5. Hopefully these are just teething problems and hopefully when we return, we'll get character and service.

Room Tip: The higher up the better for noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your review following your stay with us.

Im a pleased you enjoyed breakfast. Steak on Sea was initially launched in the summer last year and since then has been under review and tweeks made. Am now pleased to confirm that the stencils have also now gone.

Bedroom refurbishment starts soon and hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night. It was an excellent deal and I would really recommend it. The service was very friendly and the breakfast great. Our room was spacious and very pleasant. The only slight negative was the noise from the side street as the room did not have doubel glazing. It was not a noisy night but I guess this could have been different!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review.

As part of our plans for 2013 we are trialling accoustic glass which should help the noise. As a listed building double glazing windows are currently not an option/

Glad however you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Nice hotel, nice rooms and great staff...
Our only grumble which really bampered our stay was that even with the heating full on - the room was freezing!
Great location mind you- minutes from queens road which brings you central to every thing. And another short walk to the peir.
Rooms clean but the tiles very cold under foot in the bathroom.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am sorry you found the room cold. Unfortunately we do not have under floor heating in the bathrooms.

We are in a great locaiton for visiting Brighton and hope to welcome you back again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Lovely traditional hotel on the seafront. We were only using the room as a base and had shopped around online for a good deal, but if we had paid the hotel's going rate I tihnk we would have been sorely disappointed. The room was in need of decorating, the window rattled, the picture on the wall was falling apart, and the radiator looked like it was about to burst open. But the room was clean and the staff friendly. Parking was available too, which was handy. Breakfast was an extensive buffet, but I've had better tasting breakfasts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am sorry you found breakfast and the room dissapointing. We are working on plans for 2013 to refurbish our rooms.

Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I had a room booked for me at this hotel by someone else, so I can't comment on the booking system/prices, but I would like to say that I found the hotel staff very friendly and helpful and the room was very nice. The only things wrong with the room was that it was quite dark even with all the lights on (but that didn't matter as I just went to sleep anyway) and the shower wouldn't stop dripping. The breakfast food selection was pretty good too, I would have appreciated some soy milk to have with the cereal as I am lactose intolerant but there was plenty on offer so I just had something else instead.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. As we purchase new bulbs for the hotel we are looking at ways to improve the lighting from the current energy saving bulbs we have.

Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Brighton
#6 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Ship Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.