We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Old Ship Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Old Ship Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 44 hotels in Brighton
Essex
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Only stayed one night in this hotel and had a very pleasant stay, bedrooms were very comfortable, nice cosy beds, tea making facilities and tv (bathroom did lack a hairdryer though) and good heating. Hotel itself is pleasant and in some places needing an uplift, but seeing it is 450 years old, cant expect too much. Highlight though is the breakfast, amazing! Excellent quality, vast choices and lots to choose from. Enjoy your stay. Would advise not suitable for disabled, too many steps in the lobby area and no other means available.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay espescially the breakfast. I am sorry you did not have a hairdryer and have asked my head housekeeper to audit all rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    289
    178
    67
    41
See reviews for
89
354
20
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The location is perfect, right on the sea front near the pier. But the good points stop there
The room (322) was terrible. It had cracks all over the ceiling. The walls and ceiling were badly stained. The windows and the window surrounds were filthy. The skirting boards were cracked, dirty and stained. The bathroom was disgusting (dirty, stained and cracking) around the bath, basin and toilet so much so that we felt cleaner by not having a shower.
The breakfast room was similar to a holiday camp (formica tables and terrible chairs). There were coffee machines which only produced hot water which tasted as it should have done. The food was "edible", but the staff lacked any courtesy, clearing plates without asking and leaning across to do so. In summary the hotel was incredibly bad and should not even warrant an AA 1 star. The current 4 star rating must have been awarded in the 1920s when it may have had something to offer other than its location. I have taken photos to send to puma hotels underline the points that I have made

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
I was dissapointed to read your review following your stay with us here. We have retained our 4 star status in August this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The service and politeness of the staff are excellent, rooms can be a bit dated but are clean.
The choices at breakfast are the best I have experienced in Britain. We had one meal in the 'Steak on Sea' restaurant and it was a bit disappointing. The hotel has a lovely location, near the pier and shops. It was a bit noisy, but Brighton is such a lively place that you do expect it. The character and charm of the hotel more than made up for this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. Plans are currenty in progress regarding the bedroom product but am pleased you found them clean. I am sorry you were dissapointed with Steak on Sea and all feedback will be used as part of our new menu launch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was our second visit, decided to up grade to the 'premium' room. So what did we get extra?? Some slippers, a bath robe (with a note basically saying, don't nick the bathrobe but you can buy one for £25!) A sea view but a couple of terrible nights sleep due to noise. Breakfast is brill, lots of choice something to suit everyone. Location is great. Needs better pillows. Parking is a rip off £24 for the night! I think if your staying at the hotel this should be discounted or free!

Room Tip: Go higher in the building so you don't hear the noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your review and am sorry you do not feel the upgrade is worth it. Guests are more than welcome to take the bathrobes home with them but they are chargeable and us is only included during your stay. Parking is a premium in Brighton. As a City Centre location offering complimentary parking is not an option but we regularly monitor parking charges throughout the city to ensure we are not overcharging.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We always stay at The Old Ship when visiting Brighton - it suits us! Location is as good as it gets and the rather faded glory suits me down to the ground! Sure it needs a refurb to allow it to become "luxury" - the room corridors are a bit shabby but the rooms are fine - clean and very fit for purpose . Furthermore it is extremely reasonable in cost - if you expect five star luxury at these prices and at this sort of location - stop dreaming!

Staff all very pleasant indeed and breakfast really jolly good .

In summary . Great Staff , Great Location , perfectly adequate rooms & and a Jolly Good Breakfast - what more can you ask for at the price?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your review.

I sorry you found the corridors to be shabby but pleased that overall you had a great stay.

Now that we are part of the Puma Hotels Collection plans are currently underway for the hotel and hope that soon formal notication can be communicated.

One thing we will not forget during the planning is our loyal and committed guests like yourself.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

A location that can't be beaten right on the Brighton seafront. This hotel is absolutely charming with comfortable beds and nicely appointed rooms. Parking is available which can be unusual in Brighton. Restaurant and shops are all close by and the famous pier is 5 minutes away. We could see it from our room.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your review and pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our 2 day break was totally ruined by so much noise from the street outside at night time. We chose the hotel because of it's location to the shops. We had no sleep whatsoever throughout the night so spent the best part of the next day sleeping instead of shopping. The manager moved us on our 2nd day to a quieter, nicer room on the 5th floor although it was freezing and we had to stuff towels into the gaps around the sash windows. On the whole, a lovely building but the rooms are in need of updating. Superb staff, very friendly and helpful.. just a shame that the rooms aren't more sound proofed from the inevitable noise from the Friday and Saturday night clubbers. Definitely not good if there are kids with you.

Room Tip: Do not choose a sea view as you won't sleep from all the noise from the clubs and pubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review. Brighton is a lively and vibrant city and am sorry if the noise from outside affected your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#7 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has charegable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Ship Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.