We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel - better that expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Ship Hotel to your Saves list
The Old Ship Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Norway
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel - better that expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Nice hotel at excellent location on the beach front in Brighton. Rooms are well kept, but not spotless. No air condition (not an issue this summer...). Excellent and made to order breakfast. In-house parking at extra cost (quite expensive). Well informed and professional staff. Highly recommended with excellent value.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback and experience on Tripadvisor.

As the new General Manager here at the hotel I assure you I take all feedback very seriously and use this as part of out continual service improvement programme I will introduce.

Your feedback regarding breakfast and rooms will be built upon and where possible immediate action will be taken.

Unfortunately parking in Brighton, being a city, is limited and so at a premium.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    359
    228
    86
    50
See reviews for
110
462
31
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My friends and I have stayed at this lovely traditional hotel twice now and highly recommend it. The staff are really friendly, the rooms are nice and the beds so comfortable, location wise it's perfect. I'd definitely recommend a stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback here on Tripadvisor following your stay with us.

I will ensure you lovely words are fed back to the team here.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

On first glance we were disappointed with the hotel but in fairness there were some good points.
1. Location superb, right on the seafront, near the lanes and the pier
2. Breakfast excellent with everything you could ask for.
3. Good value with 2 nights B&B with dinner on first night for under £200 including an upgrade of room

There were some negatives however,
1. The upgrade, I am presuming is a seafront room. The noise was terrible, like camping next to the M1 and kept us awake most of the night
2. The hotel is looking very tired and in need of decorating and updating
3. The evening meal offered little choice, was like a sea front cafe and we were rushed through the three courses in less than an hour despite the fact we kept asking for a break. Do not eat here in the evening, there are some excellent bistro / restaurants nearby for the same price.
4. £46 for two nights car parking is nothing short of extortion.

Overall this hotel needs bringing into the 21st century, but we did enjoy our stay in Brighton, despite the negative points. We would not stop here again though.

Room Tip: Do not have a sea front room if you value your sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback and experience on Tripadvisor following your stay with us here

As the new General Manager here at the hotel I assure you I take all feedback very seriously and use this as part of out continual service improvement programme I will introduce.

It is disapointing to read that you will not choose us again but assure you that where possible immediate action will be taken.

Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The hotel staff were excellent, breakfast first class, the room was clean and comfortable but the room we had 143 overlooked the fish and chip shop which is open to 3am every day which is very very noisy we were kept awake with noise which didnt stop untill 4am!
I would stay again but would request a room that was not near the fish and chip shop!
The hotel is value for money

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback and experience on Tripadvisor following your stay with us here

As the new General Manager here at the hotel I assure you I take all feedback very seriously and use this as part of out continual service improvement programme I will introduce.

Your feedback in particular to the noise from the fish and chip shop in particular is useful and will ensure that either myself or a member of my management stay in the room to take action over the noice polution.

Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I have stayed in a number of hotels in Brighton and this is the best value for money in busy times. The Old Ship could do with with a touch up to the decor but on the whole it is a solid 3 star with friendly staff and reasonably-sized rooms. The decor is ok and it is right in the centre of everything - on the sea-front and near the lanes. If you stay elsewhere you will either pay more or get a worse quality hotel. If you want to pay more go for The Grand but for value for money then The Ship is the place. The aircon wasn't working in the room but they provided us with a fan as there were no other rooms available to switch to which was fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back or else the noise from the seafront/road could disturb you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

No complaints with the staff but the place needs complete refurbishment. Mouldy bath surroundings and broken toilet roll holders. They could at least have been removed rather than leaving the broken parts left screwed on. Very poor value for money especially having to pay £23/24 hrs stay for parking!! Can't complain about the room size. Breakfast very good.

Room Tip: If you're very sensitive to noises, choose rooms at the sides but not towards the front facing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gower. UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband (who is disabled) have just returned from a very enjoyable stay in The Old Ship Hotel, Brighton. Having read some of the comments here (after I booked!), I was a bit hesitant when we arrived. However, my fears were foundless. We were extreemly pleased with our room (320). The bathroom was spotless, with plenty of fluffy towels on a heated towel rail. The bed was large and very comfy. The weather was very hot when we were there, and we were extreemly pleased at the fact that the room had a large ceiling fan, (.which ran silently!) The breakfasts were superb, and the staff were more than helpful - nothing was too much trouble for them. We didn't have an evening meal at the hotel, but I would guess that the standard would be excellent (if the breakfasts were anything to go by).
We'll be going back to stay again in November.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#7 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Ship Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.