We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting older now but still has some ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Ship Hotel to your Saves list
The Old Ship Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Chester, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Getting older now but still has some ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Spent an overnighter at the Old Ship, almost 28 years to the day from our wedding night stay. It is beginning to get tired, the elevator is very small and a little jumpy, the garage parking rather tight and antiquated. However, the room was clean, bright and very comfy if a little cramped. We had a sea view room which was not such a good choice. The wind ratlled the windows all night and the revellers from the beach side pubs were very noisey until the early hours. A small point but the bathroom did not have an air extractor with the associated problems. Service was fine apart from when ordering tea and criossant for breakfast and we were told that criossants were not available and if we wanted tea we should make it with the coffee maker in the room. This is not what we wanted. We were asked if we wanted a paper in the morning and then we were charged for it but I understatnd that this is not uncommon in the UK. There was free WIFI in the room which all worked fine. For a night or two I would recommend it but not for an extended stay. The attached restaurant had a very limited menue but there are a large and varied number of establishments close by. It was nice going back after so many years but not sure I would go again.
BTW take care with the entrance revolving doors. They are very small and with luggage can be a problem. I had the unfortunate experience of having the following panel push me in the back as I entered which pushed my face into the edge of the outside stationary section. I had a very bruised nose and forehead and actually had to sit down for a while to get over the dizzyness.

Room Tip: A sea view is nice but can be rather noisey from night time revellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    359
    228
    86
    50
See reviews for
110
462
31
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here for a friends 50th birthday at a different venue. We were automatically upgraded to a sea-facing room at no extra cost - great view of the wind, rain and other typical English seaside summertime sights. Cost was reasonable too. The room was very comfortable and decor was fine if not pristine. Bed very comfortable, shower fantastic. Breakfast was wonderful, best hotel breakfast I've had for a long time: a huge range of fruit, cereal, cooked food, and home made pancakes, toast etc

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms worth the the £20 upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed here on 15th June for 2 nights. I was a little concerned having read the reviews and also been in the hotel 12 months ago for a conference. I was pleasantly suprised on arrival. The exterior has recently been painted and the reception are clean and bright. Check in was quick and we were moved rooms at check in as our allocated room had some water damage to the ceiling following the heavy rain. Our room was on the 3rd floor and seaview. Room was large bright having recently been decorated. Large window and patio doors overlooking sea front and small window to side street. The bathroom was incredibly small, but clean. Shower was good and plenty of hot water. (How much time does anyone spend in the bathroom anyway?).

Yes it is a little noisy on the seafront, but what do you expect??? You are in Brighton with all it's Hen Nights / Stag Dos and partying. It was not so bad as you couldn't sleep.

Breakfast is amazing - so much choice and buffet - so eat as much as you like. Chef on hand to cook fresh omelettes and waffles. Cava served on Sat morning, so Bucks Fizz to kick the day off.

Bar area is quite small with limited seating - gets busy as people walk in off the seafront for drinks etc.

All in all a great hotel, fantastic location and good value for money

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelazul79
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend break. The location of the hotel was perfect, close to the beach and the lanes. Apart from that it needs a lot of work.

The hotel itself needs a complete revamp - the communal areas as well as the bedroom.
The room itself was small and the bathroom was really dirty. There is a about a 5 inch gap under the bathroom door. The floor in the bathroom had so many cracked and broken tiles I was afraid I was going to cut my feet. The sink plug was block with so much hair we need to take it out in order to use it.

Breakfast was an experience in itself. There was no clean tables and we had to clean and set our own table. The was watered down so much that it didn´t even have a hint coffee. The quality of the food and the juice was so poor we couldn´t ever eat anything. The staff was so badly trained that there was no systems of work and they ended up making more work for themselves.

Sorry but I couldn´t recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Safe your money and go for room only
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston UK
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed at the Old Ship which is perfectly located on the prom and minutes from the Lanes. Big big downside with this old hotel is the noise from outside from revellers, drunks etc especially if you stay on the Ship Street side.
Staff are very nice but the Old Ship could do with putting in dry dock and given a good old spruce up.
No fitness roomor pool at this hotel

Room Tip: If staying at weekend avoid the Ship Street side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Dirty bathroom, small superior room,no air con, windows that won't open, NOISY. Welcome to stag and hen night party city
Club nearby kicks out at about 3.30 am.
It is a total mystery to me how this hotel rates 4* it is at best a 2* hotel and that is only in the third world.
Please look at the photos that I posted
This hotel needs reporting to the hotel rating inspectors not to mention the environmental health officer
DISGUSTING to be AVOIDED AT ALL COSTS

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Hotel was fine. Nice large room. Good size bathroom - a bit dated but ok. The location of the hotel means that you are constantly aware of people along the seafront - day & night. Bring earplugs & you'll hardly notice. Inside the hotel was noisy as well however - maybe the stag party our waitress spoke about at breakfast! Breakfast is plentiful though the full English bacon was a bit too "porky pig" for me.
If you get the room at a decent price (£71 booked well in advance) & bring your earplugs then all is fine. After all it is Brighton & its going to be "lively"!

Room Tip: Maybe a room way at the back of the hotel might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PW-GeneralManager, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#7 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Ship Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.