We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Granville Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Granville Hotel to your Saves list
The Granville Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FA, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Original”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

As you walk towards the hotel, you can't help but feel you've made a mistake. As you walk into the hotel and greeted by the friendly reception staff, that feeling disappears.
If your looking for a modern hotel and everything to be impeccable, you will be disappointed. This is a charming original hotel that seems to fit in well with the quirky atmosphere of Brighton.
We stayed in the West Pier room, the room was a little small but the amazing views more than made up for it. As mentioned before, the rooms are a little tired but homey and in that way quite comfortable. The large jacuzzi and different style of the room made it a very original experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    176
    38
    29
    17
See reviews for
40
234
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

We made a late phone booking and the staff were very friendly and helpful and fitted our special needs perfectly. When I added an extra room on the internet form the staff recognised the address and automatically connected us. Everyone went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, and our rooms were just what we wanted - very comfortable but with lots of character - and wonderful views. Our superior room couldn't have been better, and the disabled access worked fine, although the breakfast room was a little difficult as there wasn't a lift, but help was always at hand.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

This hotel is not impressive from outside. It is one of the best places I have ever stayed. The staff are great and very helpful. When you check in you have to sign a promise that if caught smoking there is a fine of £150!
As a non smoker this is a bonus.
The location is great-sea view rooms cost more but are worthit.
Breakfasts are very good.
One small gripe-bathrooms need extra cleaning and painting.
Great place!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

I booked the Balcony room for my boyfriends birthday. The room has been updated since the pics on the website.....its beautiful, huge wall-size elegant mirrors, a fantastic view of the old pier from the window. The huge four poster bed was amazingly comfy and the equally huge jacuzzi bathtub was a fantastic bonus. Its always a worry booking a themed room incase its a bit tacky but I was so so pleased with this room, and the hotel itself is really quirky and the staff were so friendly and so helpful. If you want something a bit original this is definitely it! I was just sad that we could only stay one sunday night....i wouldve happily moved in!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We did not have a booking but when we turned up and asked if there were any available rooms the staff were very helpful showing us the available rooms before we decided to stay. They also gave us a map of the area and pointed out the tings worth seeing. The hotel is directly on the seafront so the location could not be any better. Unfortunately there was no parking so we left our car in the Square overnight for a cost of £12.50.

We paid £60 for the Beardsley Room with breakfast, The room was on the 4th floor, there was lift access most of the way but then a few stairs to climb, which was fine for us. The room was large and nicely decorated. It did not have a sea view but it was quiet and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious with a separate shower and a great roll top bath - very enjoyable! The room had tea/coffee facilities and a TV with DVD, the hotel has a range od DVDs which you can borrow free of charge, unfortunately ours would not read the DVDs but when we told reception they were quick to respond.
The bed was VERY comfortable.
Breakfast was amazing - cooked to order we enjoyed Scrabled Egg and Ham Bagel and a full Brighton Breakfast, there is also a range of cereals, toast, fruit, juices etc to help yourself to.
The hotel offers free WIFI and the use of 2 computers with internet access. The computers were a little temperamental but maybe just because we are not used to using Macs.

Overall a great stay and we will definately stay again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

We have just spent a weekend at the Granville Hotel in the Marina room - a second floor double room with a sea view and decorated with a nautical theme. The room had a lovely large bay window with plenty of room for us both to sit with a glass of wine and watch the world go by - very relaxing.

The hotel is clean and comfortable but is looking a little bit shabby in areas. On the one hand it makes a nice change to stay somewhere individual rather than another indentikit chain hotel, but perhaps they need to make some minor improvements - our bed headboard for example was sitting at a strange angle, the iron plug was loose and the lift seemed to pick and choose when it wanted to work.

Another odd thing was that while the bathroom was nicely done out and had a lovely corner jacuzzi bath, there was no shower - only a hand-held mixer shower as part of the bath taps. Given that most people are likely to take many more showers than jacuzzi baths it seemed a bit of a strange omission.

The staff were very friendly and helpful - not that we really saw them outside check in and out.

Despite the hotel being fully booked it was quiet and peaceful and the layout of the corridors meant that you didn't have people walking past your room at all hours.

The hotel has a great location and its quick and easy to walk along to the pier, shops and entertainment areas. There is a great Greek restaurant just next door where we had a delicious meal.

Overall I would recommend the hotel and would definitely stay there again. Its worth paying extra for a sea view because that's what really makes this hotel special.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

great location, helpful staff, comfortable bed and quiet room (no noise from the street nor from inside the hotel), excellent breakfast cooked to order and with lots of different options, free wi-fi throughout the hotel, possibility of coming back at any time during the night. overall we would definitely stay here again.

we didn't really mind but the room was small and the decor was quite tired (but then again we chose the cheapest room available and were happy with it).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Granville Hotel

Address: 124 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Brighton
#10 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Granville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the seafront opposite Brighton's historic West Pier, The Granville is a boutique hotel with 24 eclectic bespoke rooms, individually themed from Minimalist to Art Deco, Japanese and Gothic.The Granville Hotel is just a 5-minute walk from shops, restaurants and on the doorstep of many clubs. The rooms have a luxurious bathroom, some with a spa bath or corner bath. Many of the bedrooms have a superb view across the coastline.All of the rooms are furnished with a TV and DVD/CD player. Complimentary broadband wireless internet access is available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Granville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.