We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Granville Hotel to your Saves list
The Granville Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Specials - 3 4 2
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Staines, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great value for money ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My husband and I first stayed here in March for a long weekend, and stayed in Prinny's room. Agreed the decor was a bit dated, and I've never been overly fond of orange, however we adored the 'light up' glass block double bed lol !!! The bathroom was great and we had the choice of a bath and a shower.
We were made very welcome by all staff, and the breakfasts are fab, and I felt well catered for being vegetarian.
The only downside is that we were disturbed on a couple of occasions by the lift doors situated next to the room, and the door leading to the next floor, also next to the room, but this was only a minor issue that the hotel itself cannot be held responsible for.
Definitely worth future visits, & brilliant value for money !!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    165
    38
    27
    15
See reviews for
36
220
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great location. Friendly staff. Had a great room. Restaurant great for American style bbq and wonderful selection at breakfast from continental to english and american style. Will definitely stay again when in Brighton.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great location, lovely rooms, very friendly helpful staff, brilliant breakfast even for a vegetarian. Enjoyed the parkrun in Preston Park, the Royal Pavilion, "Food for Friends" and the cafes along the seafront.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in the Granville Hotel. Our room had the view on the sea. The road is a little noisy, but it was quiet enough during the night not to disturb our sleep. The jacuzzi tub in the room was a nice surprise and very relaxing. Good breakfast with very friendly service.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are great, but a little noisy due to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Noël Coward room on a bank holiday weekend. It was clean and spacious, with character and the staff were friendly and helpful.

The room is a little worn, but we didn't mind. The jacuzzi tub was good fun but the lack of a proper shower was problematic. The views are great, but it can get a little noisy with street revelry although it didn't prevent us from sleeping. Food at the restaurant was good but be warned the portions are Huge.
To be great the room needed:
- a shower or wall mount spray
- an arm chair or more comfortable seating arrangement
- bathrobes provided

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Two friends and I sayed at this hotel for 4 nights during a conference we were attending. The rooms were lovely and the staff and restaurant fantastic. We couldn't have asked for better and the people in the hotel were very friendly. We had breakfast in the restaurant every morning, which was plentiful and tasty and we tried the restaurant one evening for a meal, which was again brilliant. The staff were great and couldn't help us enough. Our rooms were fresh and clean, with lovely jacuzzi baths (we were given a free upgrade) and I can't say that I've had a better nights sleep when staying anywhere else! We're hoping to be back there next year if at all possible.

Room Tip: Although the seaview rooms are a little bit noisier, its well worth it for the views. The good quali...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Lovely, old hotel on the sea front. Would not hesitate to stay here again, stayed in Prinny's room, again, could not fault it. Lots of space, perfectly clean, great shower, lots of storage and comfy bed. Staff were all super friendly and helpful, check in couldn't be a smoother transaction and the breakfast is fantastic. Lots of choice, fresh, bottomless coffee and amazing local produce. The 'Eggs Benedict' was to die for, a huge portion that sets you up for the day nicely, equally the cooked English was just as good. Freshly pressed orange or apple juice is also included.
I would definitely stay here again, great location, short work to the Laines for shopping, or the pier and there are soo many lovely restaurants to chose from.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Granville Hotel

Address: 124 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Brighton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Granville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the seafront opposite Brighton's historic West Pier, The Granville is a boutique hotel with 24 eclectic bespoke rooms, individually themed from Minimalist to Art Deco, Japanese and Gothic.The Granville Hotel is just a 5-minute walk from shops, restaurants and on the doorstep of many clubs. The rooms have a luxurious bathroom, some with a spa bath or corner bath. Many of the bedrooms have a superb view across the coastline.All of the rooms are furnished with a TV and DVD/CD player. Complimentary broadband wireless internet access is available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Granville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.