We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Brighton - Thank you Rowena!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   137 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2JF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #34 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Luton, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn Brighton - Thank you Rowena!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed in the Holiday Inn whilst on a solo trip to Brighton for sea, sun, shopping and Zoe Wanamaker at the Theatre Royale. My trip was made a whole lot better by the way that Rowena dealt with me at the Holiday Inn reception - yes I'm a regular there and yes I'm a platinum club member but I saw her deal with many residents in an efficient, courteous and friendly manner. For me, she made it possible to check in a little early, receive a room upgrade and spend a little time in the sunshine before making it to the theatre performance with plenty of time to spare. She even gave me a bottle of water and a bar of chocolate as a welcome gift. She has a lovely smile and a welcoming attitude - a credit to Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Hccook,

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront.

I have shared these comments with the team and in particular Rowena from reception. it is always great to recieve such positive feedback and to share with every department.

Once again thank you for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Mansfield,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    242
    290
    178
    118
See reviews for
124
358
44
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My family came down for my graduation and we booked three rooms. Staff were helpful and friendly throughout our stay. The rooms were good although I booked two single rooms for my mum and sister and they got a double bed. Very helpful with my niece and her baby - staff even washed up bottles for her and the travel cot was good quality. Breakfast was excellent with a very wide choice of good quality full English, fruits, continental and cereals. We stayed for Sunday lunch which was good although roast potatoes were a bit dry. Accompanied by very pleasant live music - very relaxing. The desserts were excellent. I would definitely stay here again. The hotel is right on the seafront and music plays from a speaker outside where you can sit and watch the world go by.
Only minor critique would be:
TVs are old - not flat screen or many channels
Booked an exec room and had a view of blocks of flats, not the sea - would have expected slightly better views for the price
The outside of the double glazed windows had not been cleaned for a long time.
Otherwise, very good stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Monicahoney,

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront.

I have shared these comments with the team here at the Hotel, it is always great to recieve such positive feedback and share these comments with each department.

Once again thank you for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Hotel is located on the seafront,directly in front of remains of the West Pier that was destroyed in 2003 by fire and storms.The room we had (125) had a balcony with a full sea view.Even though we were on the Kings Road,the main seafront thoroughfare,the road noise was minimal.Free Wi Fi in each room was great.Tea Making facilities in the room were welcome.A choice of soft or firm pillows was a lovely touch.Staff were discreet and incredibly helpful and not a bit pushy.All in all,a well run hotel that I would heartily recommend to all types of travellers.
Top Tip:Even if its not your first trip to Brighton (it was ours and we will certainly be back),book a "Brighton Greeter".These are all Brightonians who give up their spare time to bring visitors around the city and get a feel for the places one might not go.Ask for our greeter,Bryan Moody,if possible.He is a thorough gentleman and hugely entertaining.Definitely the sprightliest pensioner I have ever met!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have amazing sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Tadhg_L,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront.

I have shared your comments with the rest of the team here at the hotel, it is always nice to recieve such positive feedback and to share with the rest of the team.

Once again thank you for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were slightly put off by the previous reviews on here however booked the hotel anyway as we got a good deal due to being priority club members and figured we wouldn't be spending too much time in the room anyway.

No complaints about the room, the bathroom was nice as was the bedroom - the curtains blocked out all light so had a great night's sleep and the bed was surprisingly comfortable.

The reception area and bar are nice and fairly modern, although the bar didn't have all the alcohol to make half the cocktails on their cocktail menu so had to go elsewhere and find some other bars which spoilt our night a bit as we had to wander around in the freezing cold trying to find somewhere to have some drinks.

The hotel doesn't look great from the outside and parking is expensive at £18 per day - it doesn't seem right that you should have to pay for parking when you're staying at a hotel.

We were happy with the location as it wasn't too far from the pier and cafes etc but not too close to everything so it was nice and quiet.

Unfortunately we didn't think the staff were that friendly, we weren't greeted in a welcoming way and on check out I was made to feel stupid for asking a simple question about whether the parking fee had already been charged to my card. Disappointed with the customer service received by the reception staff on both occasions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Jane_D154,

Thank you for your comments regarding you recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront.

I was dissapointed to read that you had recieved poor customer service from the reception team, as we pride ourselves on great customer service and in particular the team on reception who always recieve such positive feedback.

I have shared these comments with the team, and this will assist with further training in customer service for the team.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Kind regards,

Wayne Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed here 3 times on business over a 2 week period and found it to be a decent hotel.

The public areas are well kept and the staff here are efficient and friendly. The bedrooms are of a good standard, albeit the air-conditioned heating wasn't working in the first room I stayed in. However, upon reporting it to reception, I was immediately offered a change of room or a heater - that's all you can ask for really: when things go wrong that they are put right immediately.

Some slight inconsistencies. As a Priority Club member, I was given a voucher for a free coffee from the bar on the first stay, but not on the subsequent stays. There was also some ambiguity around whether the in-room wifi was free or charged.

Breakfast was OK - had better and had worse but once again, the staff in the restaurant were top notch.

As a regular business traveller, this is one of the better hotels I have stayed in and it deserves recognition for that - well done folks - job done.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Stevie_Ramone,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront.

I have shared these comments with the rest of the team here at the hotel, in particular reception and restaurant, and is great for the team to be recognised for great customer service.

Once again thank you for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Wayne Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Started badly by haveing to queue for an entrance token to the carpark, involved a walk from the entrance about 100yds to reception that was only single handed. We were upgraded but only one water, usually one per guest.
The room was clean. However the electicals were malfunctioning some lights not working , they were corrected on reporting them.
Breakfast was usual Holiday in style but the fried eggs had seen better days as well over cooked.
As we were on route to Gatwick we know we have other choices

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Ronchadwick,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront.

I have shared your comments with the team here at the hotel so we can continue improving our standards and guest satisfaction.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Kind regards,

Wayne Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The staff are very pleasant every time you ask them for something they should have provided without being asked eg plates at breakfast, HOT coffee, to replenish the buffet table etc. the rooms are extremely clean but very dated with the biggest, oldest tv I have seen for a long time. The picture quality was so poor so we simply 'listened' to the news. My biggest problem was the dressing table. I could not use the mirror with the curtains open and couldn't see if the curtains were closed as the lights were so poor. Would I use this hotel again? I don't think so as it was not cheap.

Room Tip: The sea view room are large but you wouldn't want to spend a lot of time there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear JVea,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront.

I was dissapointed to hear you had an usatisfactory stay with us, and have shared these comments with the team here at the hotel so we can rectify and continue with our training.

The bedrooms will be undergoing a refurbishment over the next 20 months, to modernise the product.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Kind regards,

Wayne Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront

Address: 137 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for one of the best hotels in Brighton and the best Brighton hotel deals? Look no further than the fully Wi-Fi enabled Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront hotel. Standing from other Brighton hotels, Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront features air conditioning throughout and is in a prime spot on the seafront with wonderful views, making it hugely popular amongst Brighton hotels. Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront hotel features at a glance:• Prime location on the seafront • Air conditioned guestrooms• Restaurant with seafront terrace• Guest car parking • 9 excellent meeting and events room• Priority Club® points for the guest • Business Club® points for the booker. This Brighton hotel captures the essence of this quintessentially British seaside town by combining its relaxing atmosphere with easy access to the cosmopolitan nightlife of Brighton. Plus, to make the most of this Brighton hotel’s seafront setting there is both Standard & Executive rooms with superb sea views available. For Brighton hotels set in a prime location the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront hotel should top your list. The hotel is within touching distance of Brighton’s famous beach and only a stone’s throw from some of top things to see and do in Brighton. A stay in the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront hotel puts you only a short walk away from the Brighton Centre, Brighton Dome, Brighton Pier, the Brighton Royal Pavilion and Brighton Sea Life Centre. When considering Brighton hotels for your next short break, family getaway, business meeting or indeed perhaps a Brighton wedding venue make the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront your hotel of choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront Hotel Brighton
Brighton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.