We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre Christmas Lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   137 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2JF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #34 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Pre Christmas Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

I have just had pre Christmas lunch with a party of sixty members of a senior citizens club, and everybody had a very enjoyable time, the restaurant was nicely decorated, there were hats, crackers, baloons and party poppers on the tables, and the meal was served at a leisurely pace by efficient, attentive staff. The food was pretty average, but considering the price good value for money.

There is no cloakroom and coats have to be left on a coat rack by the front entrance which I think is rather vulnerable, one lady told me that on a previous visit her coat had been stolen.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your festive lunch held here at the Holiday Inn Brighton – Seafront
I am glad you had an enjoyable event, it is always a pleasure to hear how our staff looked after our guests.
To reassure you regarding the safety of our guest belongings, we do operate a security system within the hotel which ensures all of our staff are vigilant as well as CCTV cameras being in prominent places.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future and I would like to take this opportunity to wish you a Merry Christmas and a happy new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    212
    269
    166
    114
See reviews for
112
321
43
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We stayed here for one night on a half price deal with lastminute.com which made this a great deal. The room was pleasant and quiet and the staff helpful and polite. Location was good to get to the restaurants etc in Brighton. We upgraded our room when we arrived and are pleased we did so as it made the stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Brighton – Seafront
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and I thank you for your kind words regarding our team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading berks
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

WE were looking forward to a weekend away as we both work in noisy environments but didn t get it on arriving in our room the SEA VIEW could only be seen through a scaffold tower with netting around it. we had to keep the curtains closed as painters could see into our room , there were builders banging about from 8.30 am . in our room especially the bathroom it was dated and dirty .when the door card key wouldnt work after 2 days of working fine,we were told it was our fault , reception gave no apology about the building work but seemed to think shrugging shoulders was the solution, not impressed will not be returning.

Room Tip: a lot of noise at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at the Holiday Inn Brighton – Seafront.
We do have a very robust system within the hotel with regards to a repairs as well as a pro active maintenance programme to ensure that all of the rooms are maintained to the Holiday Inn standard, as part of our plans we have replaced a large number of the windows at both the side and the front of the hotel. Due the height of the side windows we have had to ensure scaffolding is in place for the safety and security of all of our contractors, guests and staff. This is only in place for a short period of time and once the works have been completed it will be removed. None of our sea facing rooms have scaffolding in place so the main sea view is not restricted in any way. Any works completed to improve our building are planned minimise any disruption to our guests and I am sorry that on this occasion you felt that the scaffolding restricted your view.
I do hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We have just stayed at the Holiday Inn on Brighton Seafront. We got a half price deal through Lastminute.com which made it good value. I would not want to pay full price especially for a sea view room.

The standard room was what you would expect from a Holiday Inn although TV reception was poor and the number of channels very limited. Maybe Brighton hasn't gone fully digital yet.

The breakfast buffet was very good (£9.95 if pre-booked).

Overnight car parking in the hotel's secure underground car park - £18 per 24 hours, cheaper for just overnight.

Room Tip: Higher floors would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Brighton – Seafront
I am glad you enjoyed your visit and to take advantage of our on site car parking facilities as well as the breakfast offering we have.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed at Holiday Inn for Brighton for 1 night on Friday 11th November. Managed to get a really good price on this via one of the un-named hotel deals at £54 room only. From the outside the hotel looks like an ugly 70's built tower block. Good check in and really helpful staff. Hotel room was a reasonable size however poor standard of furniture in the room. Room clean and tidy though.
Had a reasonable nights sleep although was disturbed before 10am by housekeeping knocking on the door to make up the room. Did not eat or drink in the hotel. Best thing about the Holiday Inn is its location right on the seafront on the border of brighton/hove. Have regularly seen this hotel advertised in excess of £100 per night and it is just not worth anything like that kind of money.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Brighton – Seafront
I am glad you enjoyed your visit and I thank you for your kind words about our staff. The team do work exceptionally hard to ensure the facilities are clean and tidy and it was a pleasure to hear how you recognise that.
We boast a superb location, both within walking distance of most of Brighton’s local attractions as well as have superb sea views from a selected number of bedrooms as well as the restaurant and lounge areas.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Our room on 1st floor was directly above a live-band who played until 1am! Spoke to reception twice and they couldn't move us. Raised it again on checkout and they made a gesture of a part refund; little consolation for the stress and disrupted sleep. Surely stag-parties etc could have been put on the first floor instead? Annoying as we booked several months in advance.
Other than that the rooms were fairly average, enjoyed breakfast and the staff were otherwise nice, location good (parked on street overnight for just £2).

Room Tip: away from the function room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Thank you for your feedback on your experience with the Holiday Inn Brighton – Seafront

I am sorry that you felt you were disturbed by noise, we try to ensure all of our guests get a good night sleep, whether they are here on business, pleasure or with a stag / hen party. I am glad however that we were able to make a small gesture to demonstrate our apologies for your disturbed night.

I thank you for your additional feedback, it is always a pleasure to hear how our guests enjoyed our facilities and had a good experience with our team

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichester
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I spent one night at the Holiday Inn on 9th November and paid extra for an Executive Room.
The room was of decent size, the bed comfortable, and even a choice of pillows, but everywhere are signs that the hotel is just a bit tired.
The dog-eared brochures and magazines in the plastic rack on the wall, the 1980's box-sized TV with a picture that's grainy and fuzzy, and the untidy and slapdash grouting around the bathroom.
The fact that when I phoned down to Reception at around 8.30pm it rang for 15 minutes yet no one answered.
Breakfast? Alright, but not great. The mushrooms tasted of old and burnt cooking oil, and the bacon was tasteless. Not a disaster, but just a bit slapdash. And lots of staff standing around chatting rather than serving.
These may only be small things, but they are all things that irritate and just shouldn't happen in a 4 star room.
Overall, not the worst, but far from the best.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at the Holiday Inn Brighton – Seafront.
We do have a very robust system within the hotel with regards to a repairs as well as a pro active maintenance programme to ensure that all of the rooms and public areas are maintained to the Holiday Inn standard as well as being checked by the Housekeeping & maintenance supervisory team.
It is disappointing to hear that the staff did not appear as though they were giving the customers their full attention, I would like to reassure you that we hold our customer service in very high regard and we do take your feedback on board.
I do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront

Address: 137 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for one of the best hotels in Brighton and the best Brighton hotel deals? Look no further than the fully Wi-Fi enabled Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront hotel. Standing from other Brighton hotels, Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront features air conditioning throughout and is in a prime spot on the seafront with wonderful views, making it hugely popular amongst Brighton hotels. Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront hotel features at a glance:• Prime location on the seafront • Air conditioned guestrooms• Restaurant with seafront terrace• Guest car parking • 9 excellent meeting and events room• Priority Club® points for the guest • Business Club® points for the booker. This Brighton hotel captures the essence of this quintessentially British seaside town by combining its relaxing atmosphere with easy access to the cosmopolitan nightlife of Brighton. Plus, to make the most of this Brighton hotel’s seafront setting there is both Standard & Executive rooms with superb sea views available. For Brighton hotels set in a prime location the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront hotel should top your list. The hotel is within touching distance of Brighton’s famous beach and only a stone’s throw from some of top things to see and do in Brighton. A stay in the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront hotel puts you only a short walk away from the Brighton Centre, Brighton Dome, Brighton Pier, the Brighton Royal Pavilion and Brighton Sea Life Centre. When considering Brighton hotels for your next short break, family getaway, business meeting or indeed perhaps a Brighton wedding venue make the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront your hotel of choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront Hotel Brighton
Brighton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.