We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brighton Rocks

Brighton Rocks
6 Rock Place, Brighton BN2 1PF, England
01273 600550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #148 of 833 restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Have always loved this bar and hired it out for my birthday this weekend. Music and drinks were excellent and the staff were lovely as well from the moment I made the booking.

Great to hire as well as it is an amazing atmosphere, particularly love the 'man wall' and even the toilets are decorated in newspaper clippings and pictures.

Definitely going to go here more often from now!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    42
    9
    4
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quirky fun cocktail bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Went in for drinks last weekend, it was very busy with a dj inside playing dancehall/reggae type music all night. Despite being really busy the staff were brill, quick service and perfect cocktails everytime (especially loved the mojitos)! We had a fantastic time and stayed till close. I'll be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic party!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I had my birthday party in the function room at Brighton Rocks and it was perfectly organized. The service was excellent, the cocktails was very tasty and well presented.
I would recommend this bar for private events, I had many compliments from my friends!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Bar and Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I went to Brighton Rocks for sunday roast and it was so tasty! the staff is very nice and the atmosphere was great! I will come back to Brighton Rocks for sure!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't book for an event”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Don't book it for an event. They double booked our 30th birthday party. Stuck us in a room that was too small and where public were allowed and told us to get over it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan B, Public Relations Manager at Brighton Rocks, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Mike,
I apologise that your night didn't go as you expected, if we intimated that the larger room was yours for the evening then we sincerely apologise for this confusion.
It's our booking policy that groups of your size (booked in at 25-30 people) are allocated the room to the left of the bar and that groups of the other parties size (booked in at 45-50) are offered the larger space. If you were led to believe the opposite to be the case then the fault lies with us.

We pride ourselves on doing everything we can for our customers, we are a small, locally owned business who have a great reputation for being friendly and professional.
The comments you have made about staff attitude are being taken seriously and are being investigated.

As with any bar we are open to all customers as well as those from pre-arranged events so people venturing into your space is an inevitable though understandably frustrating part of hiring a busy bar.

Again we apologise for the breakdown in communication and I do hope you now understand that complaints of this nature are not water off a ducks back and are being taken very seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brighton Rocks also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Brighton Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brighton Rocks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.