We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Plateau

Plateau
1 Bartholomews, Brighton BN1 1HG, England
01273 733 085
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 873 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Independent bar à vin, restaurant & cocktail bar based in The Lanes, BrightonWe are a unique bar à vin & restaurant with a passion for great food & wine. We have put a great deal of time & love into selecting our wines. At Plateau you can discover interesting & affordable wines that you are unlikely to see on other local wine lists. Our selection is mostly natural with some biodynamic & organic examples. We have sourced wines from local Sussex producers to renowned names & newcomers. To soak up the wine we serve ‘bites’, small dishes perfect to share or great as a starter. Follow your ‘bites’ with a ‘plateau’ to share or a 'plat' & that’s our dinner experience… although don’t forget dessert! Our chefs source organic, fresh, local produce as much as possible.Did we mention the cocktails? They’re probably the best in town & although we don’t serve Carlsberg we do serve some pretty imaginative beers from around the world. We have some top quality spirits, including some rare rum, whisky & cognac…and I almost forgot, keep an eye out for the ‘cocktail de la semaine’ & ‘beer of the moment’.There is no set way to visit Plateau, you can match the wine to the food or the food to the wine. Pop in just for a drink, a few bites or a three-course meal – the idea is that you do whatever suits you.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Slow Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We went to this restaurant for my sons birthday with his partner, my daughter and my husband. The restaurant was very busy and it was a Saturday night but the service was very slow. We sat with our drinks for at least half an hour before our order was taken and then the food was very slow to arrive. The menu is divided into starters or tapas , a few main courses and platters to share. We had the starters of squid which was good and bread with dips. We chose each of the platters between us meat ,fish and vegetable which were all good and very good chips. we could not summon up the energy to wait for a pudding although I had my eye on the doughnuts with limoncello . However the quality of food was marred by the long wait. The restaurant is located in a popular part of town so should expect to be busy. We probably wont go back as in Brighton there is a lot of choice where the food is is as better and quicker.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    80
    20
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lindfield,UK
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great fun,great food,great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We've been to Plateau for lunch but this was the first time for dinner.We were lucky to get a table[booking advised]and we had a really good all round experience.The panfried pollock was sensational.Very good value wines.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great lunchtime service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I brought a colleague in here last week - we were tight on time, but explained that when we placed our order. The service was faultless, and the food still just as lovely as ever! The staff were just about enough to provide good service without being too obvious despite our time limitations.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was my first visit to plateau and I would def go again. The atmosphere was great all evening, never feeling too busy but a lovely buzz while dining. The team were all very friendly and super helpful, their wine advice was spot on and very comprehensive...they knew just bout everything possible about their food and wine, including origin which was a lovely touch. A couple of negatives, I had the crab starter which wasn't what I was expecting and not as flavoursome as others I have had. My steak was cooked well but it was a very fatty cut, which was unfortunate. The desserts and cheese board were lovely. On the whole the food was good and drinks sublime. It's not the cheapest place but it's worth the money and a great option for taking business clients.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable lazy Friday lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Myself and my wife were in Brighton for 2 days to see Emile Sande and we booked Plateau to have a relaxing afternoon before the concert after the good reviews on TA.
We were not disappointed. Really friendly welcome from the French hostess and very attentive service thoroughout our 4 courses and 2 and half hours of leisurely food and wine!
Great oysters to start with many house specialities and plateaus to share for mains. Very tasty!
We went thorough the card and had some beautiful dessert wine on recommendation with the cheese plate to share as the last course!
Nice relaxed atmosphere and overall good value especially compared to the many London French restaurants I eat at on business.
Would definitly recommend and go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plateau also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Plateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plateau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.