We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Succulent and different” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giggling Squid

Giggling Squid
11 Market Street, Brighton BN1 1HH, England
01273 737373
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 908 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Succulent and different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I had the squid with pepper sauce it was fantastic and my friend had the sizzle gridle. Fantastic flavours. Recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    127
    28
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food was okay, the bill was OUCH”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We went to have some good seafood and were disappointed. The starter was ok-ish but the mains were not convincing. Worst of all though was the noise-level in the little room where we were squeezed with a group of 8 really noisy people and three more tables for two. One of the group really liked his own voice and what was meant to be a nice dinner became a pain for the ears. Also the bill at over £65 for two starters and two mains with a water and two beers felt exagerated. They all put 12.5% service charge on and we didn't feel their service level deserved that much. Won't be back, there's a lot of choice in Brighton and surely better ones.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyandWa, Guest Relations Manager at Giggling Squid, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hi Fusspot,

Thanks for your review,

I'm very sorry that our food didn't meet your expectations, though I'm not sure what you mean by 'not convincing'. The owner is Thai and so we do pride ourselves on the authenticity of our regional knowledge of the dishes we serve.

It is shame that the team didn't pick up on your disappointment however as the service charge should not be added to bills were we have fallen short of our aim to ensure our customers enjoyment. Please accept our apologies for this.

I do hope that you will try as again and, if you do, please feel free to contact me directly.

Janet
help@gigglingsquid.com

Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Thai'll be back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Took my family to the Brighton Giggling Squid for dinner. It was a Friday night so I booked in advance. The day before I had to add an extra chair and they were very helpful. They rang on the day to confirm the booking aswell. The staff are really warm and friendly without being overbearing in any way. We sat on the ground floor in a room full of happy, satisfied faces. Some were there for birthday parties, some for a date and us for some family time. The menu has some nice stories on what inspired certain dishes. The food was fantastic and arrived quite promptly for a busy Friday night, pepper squid, mussels in thai sauce and pork skewers for starters. Good portions (ideal for sharing) and perfectly cooked. The duck, pad cha seabass, rice and noodle mains were delicious and again cooked very well. Nice smells and flavours all round. Good atmosphere, choice of beers and wine and nice central location. Worked out £140 for 5 mains, 3 starters, 2 bottles of wine, tip and a few beers. Lots of great thai places in Brighton, this is one of them, would defo return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent and delicious Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I frequent the giggling squid in church rd hove and market street brighton and they're both the best, most consistently good Thai restaurants I've been to, with a nice wine list and great service. Can't fault the place.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Authentic Thai Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Went here for lunch yesterday and it was fantastic!! sat outside as it was a lovely day, tables are quite closely packed together however. Ordered from the tapas menu, the salt & pepper squid which was absolutely delicious along with the beef salad and the chicken massiman curry all fantastistic!! Fantastic value for money as well as really tasty authentic thai food will definitely return!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giggling Squid also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Giggling Squid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giggling Squid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.