We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“27 Bed and Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 27 Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added 27 Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
27 Bed & Breakfast
27 Upper Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1QE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“27 Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a fabulous place to stay. Alan and Ollie were the perfect hosts and made us feel very welcome. Our room on the top floor was perfect, quiet and cosy. The bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was served in our room and was absolutely delicious. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms are perfect if you want a romantic, quiet stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALandOL, Owner at 27 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words in your review. We really appreciate you taking the time to do this and hopefully we will be able to look after you on your next trip to Brighton.
Take good care
Alan & Ollie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    16
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
252
42
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The 'take home message' from this review is as follows: if you're going to visit Brighton, stay at 27. Don't even think of staying anywhere else!

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights over the May Bank Holiday. We chose 27 after reading the fantastic reviews on here, so our expectations were high. We weren't in any way disappointed! The B&B is ideally situated, a stones throw from the beach/pier and a short walk from the lanes area. The decor is simple yet striking, and our room was immaculate. We really appreciated the high quality linen and soft furnishings - we had the best nights sleep in ages! We stayed in room number 5, which has an en-suite wet room and a separate toilet down a short flight of stairs. We knew when we booked that the room was going to be a bit on the small side, but as we didn't plan to spend much time in it we weren't concerned. It turned out to be more than big enough, and the space has been cleverly utilised to fit everything in. However if space is important to you, consider booking one of the larger rooms. The rooms were complete with bottled water, as well as tea/coffee/hot chocolate making facilities. We even had mini-jars of marshmallows and biscuits... heaven! If that wasn't enough, fresh fruit and other snacks were available in the dining room during the day.

As for the hosts, we can't speak highly enough. Alan and Ollie made us feel truly welcome, and made sure that we wanted for nothing during our stay. On arrival, Alan gave us a map of Brighton and pointed out the various places of interest. Perfect for us, as first-time visitors to the area.

The only problem with this B&B is that the breakfasts are simply divine. Out of this world. All future breakfasts pale in comparison to the culinary feast that is presented to you each morning! We have stayed at a couple of other B&Bs since and have been bitterly disappointed by the breakfast, my husband sighing wistfully "it's not like 27..." Be prepared for the same!

All in all, fantastic place, fabulous hosts, awesome food, brilliant value for money... book your stay now!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALandOL, Owner at 27 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
WOW!! Many thanks for your fantastic review. Ollie and I are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you can see I have taken your feedback onboard and now I am replying to our guests that take the time to review us. I had never thought of doing this until chatting to you guys about it, but see the benefits from doing this so a huge thank you.

Ollie and I really appreciate all your kind words in your review and appreciate hugely that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We like in your review you have been exact in what you say about the rooms/ products and services and for this we really thank you. Naturally we are really pleased you enjoyed our breakfasts in the house but not going to mention anything about those scrambled eggs!!!

Hopefully we can look after you both again on your next visit to Brighton and we look forward to this and hopefully it wont be too long away.

Take good care
Alan & Ollie
X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The outside of 27 B&B is really well cared for and we felt really pleased with our choice walking up. The welcome from Ollie and Alan was warm and helpful and they gave us money off vouchers and recommended pubs / places to eat when we asked. Snacks of muffins and fruit plus extra tea is available downstairs all the time.
Our room on the top floor was just gorgeous; impeccably clean and really pretty. The towels and linens were soft and smelt fabulous! Really soft robes were also provided. Bed and pillows the best we've had in a hotel or B&B!
The location is perfect - 2 minutes to the seafront, 5 minutes to town.
Breakfast was a treat! Massive choice of cold and hot foods, which you pre-order the night before. The smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were fantastic.
Overall you get the feeling that nothing would be too much trouble for Alan and Ollie. We'd definitely stay here again if / when we're back in Brighton.

Room Tip: The superior doubles include breakfast brought to your room, rather than in the dining room. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALandOL, Owner at 27 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Ollie and I hope you will stay with us here again if you visit Brighton. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and all we have on offer for our guests. We do aim to be relaxed yet offer the best to our guests and reading your review we feel you felt this, which makes it all worthwhile.
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
Take care
Alan & Ollie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed here for a romantic two-night getaway over May Bank holiday. The room was beautifully appointed and the location, situated in classy Kemptown, was perfect. Full of great restaurants, pubs and bars, it was only a short stroll to the centre of town (5-10mins), but far enough away create that peaceful atmosphere a romantic coastal break should evoke. Alan and Ollie were the perfect hosts, warm and helpful without being overbearing, and offered excellent suggestions on where to eat on what to see. Having our fabulous breakfast served at a table in our room was a wonderful touch. I would definitely recommend 27 B&B to any friends visiting Brighton.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALandOL, Owner at 27 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind words in your review. Ollie and I do like to make our guests feel welcome not only in the house but around and about in Brighton. We are pleased you enjoyed having breakfast in your room, this is a concept you would mainly find in hotels however, this is being received by our guests very well.
Take care
Alan & Ollie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here a few weeks back and were blown away by how amazing it was. Beautiful decor, delicious food and great owners - so friendly and accommodating! It is fantastic value for money - better than most hotels. We have very high standards and this place exceeded them.

Definitely staying there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALandOL, Owner at 27 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope we can look after you on your next visit to Brighton.
Take care
Alan & Ollie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

27 bb perfectly combines the personal touch of a B&B with the professional service and interior style of a top class hotel. You are made to feel very welcome from the start and nothing is too much trouble for Alan and Ollie. The accommodation was spotless and has a clean, contemporary and stylish interior with everything you need for a relaxing stay (the super soft bathrobes were great!). Our room was very quiet and comfortable which meant we had a great night's sleep. Breakfast was delicious with a choice of cereals, yoghurt, fruit juice and a full English (veggie and gluten free diets are also catered for). We'd definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALandOL, Owner at 27 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. We really appreciate that you enjoyed your time here in Brighton with us. Although the room you stayed in is small, we really like that you appreciated what we have done inside to make our guests more comfortable, especially the soft dressing gowns. We do try and cater for individual dietary requirements as feel in this day and age it is so important. Hope to look after you on your next visit to Brighton.
Take care
Alan & Ollie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Booked our stay at 27 B&B after reading the excellent reviews on tripadvisor. Were not disappointed! Alan and Ollie were wonderfully welcoming and provided us with advice on parking, places to eat, etc. Excellent location; short walk to the beach, pier, shops and the Brighton Centre. The room was beautiful and had THE comfiest bed ever!! Brilliant night's sleep. Large variety of choice for breakfast hot/cold. Everything we had was delicious! Thanks Alan and Ollie for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Room 3 on the first floor is very quiet. It has a wet room and a separate toilet just down the hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALandOL, Owner at 27 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi there. Many thanks for your kind words in your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Brighton and we really look forward to looking after you again when you visit.
Take care
Alan & Ollie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 27 Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 27 Bed & Breakfast

Address: 27 Upper Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1QE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On holiday or business or just the weekend then enjoy the relaxed and friendly atmosphere of this small guest house. Situated close to the sea, town centre and tourist attractions. Established for over twenty and is highly recommended. A warm welcome awaits you at this small traditional guest house. Free Wi-fi internet connection available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your 27 Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
27 Hotel Brighton
27 Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 27 Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.