We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely homely welcoming place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 27 Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added 27 Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
27 Bed & Breakfast
27 Upper Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1QE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Leeds
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a lovely homely welcoming place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Alan and Ollie are great and so helpful and chatty and open. The bed was so comfy that I just didn't want to get out of it in the morning but the tempation of breakfast served in our room was too much to resist so I succumbed...and glad I did too. Yummy sausages and bacon and probably the best fried egg I've had in ages ( think I need to stop buying the cheap ones when I'm at home hehe). The room was perfect in size and really retained a very natural feel and style to it...we really could of been staying in someones lovely home rather than a B&B. The only negative was that the bathroom was a little small but that certainly wouldn't put me off staying there again and I know that Alan and Ollie are looking to do some further renovation work at the end of the year and extending the bathroom in that room is on the cards. In terms of the location it was perfect as it was only a 10min walk to The Laines and North Lanes area and about the same to the Pier.
I'd definatley recommend staying here and I certainly hope to get the chance to go back. Alan and Ollie really do deserve for 27B&B to be a success as they clearly have passion ,enthusiasm and genuine desire to please their guests.! ( And if I lived in Brighton I'd def want them as my mates as as think they'd be fun to hang out with too).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    16
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
252
42
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

Best B&B we have ever stayed in. Ollie and Alan are perfect hosts and always have someone good to recommend for dinner/drinks/activities. The breakfasts were fantastic and the rooms were immaculate. The location is good walking distance to all the major sites and close to a bus stop (if u need one). I highly recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

I have booked and cancelled a few hotels in the past few months, and when it states no cancellation fee, I have not been charged.
27 Bed and Breakfast even though stating there is no charge for cancellation, CHARGE 50% OF THE FIRST NIGHT, AS A BOOKING FEE!!! it is hidden away in the "conditions"

Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALandOL, Owner at 27 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
With reference to your review you have placed, unfortunately your review is not accurate. We have had communication via e mail and we are deeply sorry that you feel let down.

You have headed your review " Cancellation deception", which is a very strong title as our policy is clear on both our website and also the email you received confirming your booking.

This is taken directly from our website:

" We operate a 50% of the first nightsCancellations:

If you cancel Your Booking within 72 hours of the scheduled Check-in time we require the full balance of Your stay. If you cancel Your booking more than 72 hours before arrival then 50% of the first nights accommodation taken at Booking will not be refunded."

This is an exact copy of the e mail that was sent on booking with us:

"Default Deposit Policy 50 percent of the first night will be charged on the day of booking and is non-refundable"

What has clearly happened is that you havent read the terms and conditions of the booking you made.

In saying all this we would, however, like to thank you for highlighting our policy on Tripadvisor as this will ensure all future bookings are aware of our policy.

Hopefully we can be of service to you in the future and you can experience our attention to detail we pride ourself with here at "27".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

I have literally never stayed anywhere this good in my life. Allan and Ollie take serious professional pride in taking care of their guests and clearly love what they do. Every thing about this place is perfect. Really sorry I had to leave. They make the food and service in 5 star hotels seem terrible in comparison.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

We stayed in the King Room which had a King-Size bed, on-suite, and allowed us breakfast served in our room.
Overall our stay was excellent, the owners were fantastic and extremely helpful, the room was very nice, and the bed excellent,
They served a wonderful breakfast which like many things at 27 had good attention to detail and there was a very good selection available.
The location is very good, 5 mins from the Pier, 10-15 mins from the Lanes and the main shops, and about 20-30 mins to the Marina (all walking).
Would highly recommend anyone looking to stay here.

Room Tip: Recommend the King Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaucluse, france
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

This is an excellent small b and b, with low-key elegance and style in its furnishings and presentation. Ollie and Alan are professionals in the service industry, and very charming people too. The position of this b and b - between downtown Brighton and charismatic Kemp Town, with the sea in view at the end of the street - makes it a perfect base for exploring the city. Warmly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

We've just returned from our stay at this lovely B&B and cannot recommend it highly enough. Alan and Ollie are great hosts and genuinely lovely people who are very eager to please. They were so friendly and helpful from the moment we checked in and it's clear that their considerable experience in the travel industry has meant that they provide excellent service from the minute you arrive until the minute you leave.

We stayed in room 2 which was lovely - spacious and stylish with the most comfortable bed in the world! Breakfast in our room was a nice touch and the food itself was brilliant! Alan cooked the hot food to perfection and the choice was great with smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on the menu as well as the traditional hot options, cereal, yoghurt, toast etc.

The location is great with all the bars, restaurants and clubs just a few minutes walk away.

We will definitely stay here again and look forward to seeing Alan and Ollie when we do. Their friendliness and welcoming approach has also ensured that we will recommend them to all our friends and family and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 27 Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 27 Bed & Breakfast

Address: 27 Upper Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1QE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On holiday or business or just the weekend then enjoy the relaxed and friendly atmosphere of this small guest house. Situated close to the sea, town centre and tourist attractions. Established for over twenty and is highly recommended. A warm welcome awaits you at this small traditional guest house. Free Wi-fi internet connection available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your 27 Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
27 Hotel Brighton
27 Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 27 Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.