We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely evening at lovely restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Townhouse Restaurant - CLOSED

The Townhouse Restaurant
81 - 82 St James Street, Brighton BN2 1PA, England
01273 693216
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in the vibrant Kemp Town area of Brighton, The Townhouse provides a welcome change from stuffy restaurant dining, offering relaxed service and wonderful food. Utterly chilled out, The Townhouse not only has a dining room and bar in which to enjoy the company of friends, but a piano room where guests gather around the baby grand to sip wine and enjoy the tinkling of the ivories.
fareham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely evening at lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Our family of eight spent an extremely enjoyable evening at The Townhouse. We had excellent service, by very attentive staff. The menu was of a high quality and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meal. We would highly recommend it and will be sure to return!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    51
    29
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant atmosphere with excellent food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were drawn to this restaurant mainly because of the man playing the piano but also because of the menu. And we weren't disappointed. The food was amazing and the atmosphere made it a really lovely evening. The service was brilliant and we will definitely be going back next time we're in Brighton.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have been coming to this place for many years and i have to say last night was the best experience for a long time. the new chef is very talented and the food was absolutely fabulous.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OK but nothing special”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Went with a group of friends, food not to the standard expected. Steak not that good a quality, wife's fish dish had a lot more potato than fish!

lovely staff and service, shame about the chefs,

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“What a great meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We had a wonderful meal here during a recent visit to Brighton, being regulars to Kemp Town we have tried so many of the offerings and it had been some time since we had been to The Town House so we decided to return, and glad we did!

The food was excellent, the Ox Cheek in particular was to die for but the only downside on the food was that the dessert we (and most other tables) wanted was sold out!!!

Great ambiance, loved the pianist who showed great skill and a quick witted sense of humour to break into Singing in the Rain once the heavens opened outside!

The waiting staff were lovely, very attentive couldn't do enough for us and even made a point of coming over and saying Hi when we bumped into them in another local bar the next evening.

Sure to visit next time we are in town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Townhouse Restaurant also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Townhouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.