We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb eatery an unexpected gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 24 St Georges

24 St Georges
24 St Georges Road | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1ED, England
+44 1273 626060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 822 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $29 - $89
Cuisines: European, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Hampshire, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb eatery an unexpected gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were recomended to eat here and it certainly did not disapoint. Staf were friendly, attentive but not intrusive. for a resaturant of this style service was perfectaly timed. Menu is not extensive but you would be hard pressed not to find something to entice your pallet.
The food was immaculately presented and beautifully cooked.
If you choose from their 2 or 3 course specials This would be a bargain price (we did not but both of our starters were from the list)
My wife had lobster croutons and lobster panacota ( i tried a taste....excelent) followed, after the mint sorbett, by fillet of beef and rounded off by a very imaginative strawberries and cream, you should try this it's not what you expect!
I had the Lamb to start, beautiful flavour, followed by the taste of the Downs, pigeon breast and pork, all full of flavour. I had cheese to round off, well presented and unusually these days served at the correct temperature, cheese should not be served cold as it kill the flavour.
Even going off the specials menue this only cost us £80 with drinks quite a bargain for what you get.
If you are in Brighton you must go here it is a real gem

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    529
    70
    26
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yummy meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Went to this restaurant as we live nearby and had not been for a long time we had forgotten how good the food is we went for the menu of the day great food great price and my dessert of salted chocolate was the just divine will definitely be going more often

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Superb food. Small but delicious menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Visited for lunch withy my wife. We had Duck with Foie Gras cherries and Lobster Croutons for our starters and the Trout with clams and Beef Fillet for our mains. The presentation was impeccable and the flavours superb. Everything was cooked perfectly and we were presented with a quails egg in a mushroom coating as a "little taster" while we waited for our food. Service was polite and attentive without being overbearing. If you want food that you would see on the final of masterchef visit this place! The menu is small but this is food of a higher class than any chain restaurant. Prices are very reasonable. £80 for lunch with drinks and coffee.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Most enjoyable meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Friends came to visit us on Saturday and I had to book a restaurant for Saturday night,I had checked out many restaurants in Brighton but felt this one would be the most appropriate as it seemed to have an interesting menu and it was recommended by another local resident .I was so pleased the food was amazing ,in fact our friends said they couldn't remember the last time they felt a meal was so worth the money , they thought it was the best restaurant they had been in for ages, I have to agree with this as well!Great staff ,very friendly ,made us feel very welcome and the ambience is just right. Love it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Creative and tasty diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I was a bit scared the portions will be too small but we ended up quite full after our diner at 24 St Georges. Everything was really delicate and well presented. We had the scallops and lobster starters, followed by the Taste of the Downs and the Trout and everything was cooked to perfection. The mojito sorbet was very tasty as well. I tried the apricot and black olive baked alaska, and what a pleasant surprise! The chef must be really creative !
The wine list was nice so we enjoyed a lovely diner. The staff was professional but also very friendly. Would recommend the walk from Brighton to deserve such a lovely diner!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 24 St Georges also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to 24 St Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 24 St Georges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.