We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breeze Brasserie

Breeze Brasserie
98 Trafalgar Street, Brighton BN1 4ER, England
+44 1273 693377
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 908 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, French, European
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

My wife and myself live in the Seven Dials and only occasionally venture down to Trafalgar Street for eating out., located outside Brighton Station within a few seconds walk. We've eaten at Breeze once before in a rush, but on this occasion and that it was absolutely faultless, food was exquisite, ambience lovely and the service superb. Living so locally I'm a little disappointed we don't go down there more often. Tonight we stolled up Trafalgar Street looking at the other menus in Mange Tout et al, and this was the most appealing and by far it surpassed all, At the end of our meal which was divine (I had the steak and my wife had the Pork Belly for mains and squid and a lovely duck contraption for starters) we met the owner Bruc who was a lovely chap and very hospitable. Further to that we found out he used to own a restaurant in Hove, La Piazza, which exceeded any of the other restaurants in that area. If you're looking for an excellent meal at excellent prices may I suggest you try Breeze. We've now decided we're going there as an alternative to the Dials area (including Seven Dials), it's just as good if not better, not too formal, just lovely relaxed atmosphere. Whilst there we also noticed they do Sunday Roasts at very reasonable prices, an extremely attractive alternative to having a roast in one of the local pubs although they are very nice. Very well recommended Jamie and Amy.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    82
    27
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Very tasty and well worth the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

I purchased a Groupon voucher for £21 for a 3 course meal for 2. The menu offered has a choice of 3/4 starters, mains and dessert. I had the carrot and parsnip soup which was a bit spicy but very tasty. For our mains we both opted for the burger which did not disappoint...the chips were the best I have had in ages and the burger was succulent ...both of us cleared our plates! For dessert I had the lemon cheesecake which was very rich and creamy. My friend opted for the ice cream ...for me that would have been disappointing as they only had vanilla, chocolate or strawberry....no exotic flavours as I would have expected. Throughout our meal the waiter was attentive and helpful but we did not feel rushed. The interior of the restaurant was very pleasant and relaxing....the exterior does not do it justice and had I not read the reviews I probably wouldn't have gone there!
I would go back again although it is not too central to town...it took us about 10 minutes to walk from Churchill Square but is only approximately 5 minutes from Brighton railway station.
All in all a very pleasant evening.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Used a Groupon voucher for evening meal last night. Had 3 course meal from a small set menu. My friend had duck liver pate and I had the fishcakes. Both were so nice we decided to share. Mains was the slow roasted belly of pork with creamy mash and roasted carrots and jus for both of us, (I ordered more jus, there is never enough for me). This was exquisitely cooked and of gorgeous quality, especially the pork which was crunchy crackling on top and meltingly tender underneath. For dessert, we had the lemon cheesecake and cranberry creme brulee, again both really tasty. If I had to criticize then the brulee was a little on the liquid side. The Sicilian red wine was full bodied and the rose dry and light. The restaurant itself had a nice relaxed ambience and our waiter was attentive, funny, friendly and efficient. Will definitely return and thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly staff, nice food and good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Breeze did a great job hosting a work-do lunch for us. They let us take over the whole restaurant and the staff were really helpful and friendly with the organising and on the day. The food was lovely, especially considering the large number of people they were catering for, and the set menu was great value for money. Overall Breeze was the perfect choice for the occasion and the staff were very accommodating to us, even after the alcohol had been flowing for a few hours!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely restuarant, very good service, good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

The outside does not do this place justice. The service was very good the food and choices on the menu was excellant. The owner came and had a chat with us when we had finished our meal. Nice to have a little personal service for a change.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breeze Brasserie also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Breeze Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breeze Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.