We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SussexTraveller12” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tookta's Cafe

Tookta's Cafe
30 Spring Street, Brighton BN1 3EF, England
+44 1273 748071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 987 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Tookta's authentic Thai cafe` and restaurant offers cuisine of a high standard ,many dishes originating from my own contemporary style ideas and recipes. A family friendly cafe`, Tookta caters for everyone. Spicy, mild, the lot. The customer is our number one priority and Tookta cooks to satisfy everyone's tastes. With a lifetime experience of fine thai food, which some of you may have already encountered at Tookta's Sunday Menu, The Office pub, sydney street, Brighton. Tookta is expert in using only fresh ingredients of the highest quality available. So Come along to Tookta's cafe` and experience the fine, Thai cuisine for yourself!
Polegate
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“SussexTraveller12”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Wow! This restaurant is easily missed. You'll find it up a side street and blending in with the surrounding houses. Superb welcome, friendly staff and Tookta's wonderful cooking. It was lovely to have squid with chilli and garlic without batter. The seafood and vegetable cooked with red chilli paste was very tasty and comes with plenty of rice for those who are hungry.
We finished off our meal with jasmine tea. What a find!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just average. Confused by rating!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Went with a group of 6 friends on a Saturday night. Had a good time. The food is just OK and good value. Certainly not a prime example of what Brighton has to offer by any stretch of the imagination. Bit of a weird setup too. Service, although adequate, felt a bit Fawtly Towers and amateurish. Music too loud too.

I'm a little bemused as to why this restaurant is so highly rated!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 6ft3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The best Thai food around. I've been here twice and it has been fantastic both times. It is small and they will not take reservations so its a bit pot luck on how long you have to wait but still go! The staff are friendly and help with suggestions and the food is large and divine. We will be back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Five star food in a quiet setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Well it's been a year since we last visited this venue, it's like eating tea in ya own home, nicely done, food all fresh home cooked, soups are amazing and the curry is brilliant. You would only have to try this once and you would always go back. I know we will. Thanks for your hospitality and laughter.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M2bfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy restaurant & yummy Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Went to visit for the first time with a couple of friends, Tuesday evening. Ambience was nice!

The service was very friendly and Tookta helped us choose the appropriate dishes. We had veg spring rolls and veg tempura for starters which were great. For mains we had the chicken pad Thai (nr. 24) and the veg stir fry (nr. 19). Both were very good.

A great evening meal at a very reasonable price. We will be coming back for sure!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suikajuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tookta's Cafe also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Tookta's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing