We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SussexTraveller12” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tookta's Cafe

Tookta's Cafe
30 Spring St, Brighton BN1 3EF, England
+44 1273 748071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 840 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: We are now open on Tuesday-Saturday from 6PM-10Pm. Fully licensed restaurant. We are now take booking from 2 people, a table from 6 person 10% service charge will be added. Thank you.
Polegate
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“SussexTraveller12”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Wow! This restaurant is easily missed. You'll find it up a side street and blending in with the surrounding houses. Superb welcome, friendly staff and Tookta's wonderful cooking. It was lovely to have squid with chilli and garlic without batter. The seafood and vegetable cooked with red chilli paste was very tasty and comes with plenty of rice for those who are hungry.
We finished off our meal with jasmine tea. What a find!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    39
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just average. Confused by rating!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Went with a group of 6 friends on a Saturday night. Had a good time. The food is just OK and good value. Certainly not a prime example of what Brighton has to offer by any stretch of the imagination. Bit of a weird setup too. Service, although adequate, felt a bit Fawtly Towers and amateurish. Music too loud too.

I'm a little bemused as to why this restaurant is so highly rated!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The best Thai food around. I've been here twice and it has been fantastic both times. It is small and they will not take reservations so its a bit pot luck on how long you have to wait but still go! The staff are friendly and help with suggestions and the food is large and divine. We will be back.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Five star food in a quiet setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Well it's been a year since we last visited this venue, it's like eating tea in ya own home, nicely done, food all fresh home cooked, soups are amazing and the curry is brilliant. You would only have to try this once and you would always go back. I know we will. Thanks for your hospitality and laughter.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cosy restaurant & yummy Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Went to visit for the first time with a couple of friends, Tuesday evening. Ambience was nice!

The service was very friendly and Tookta helped us choose the appropriate dishes. We had veg spring rolls and veg tempura for starters which were great. For mains we had the chicken pad Thai (nr. 24) and the veg stir fry (nr. 19). Both were very good.

A great evening meal at a very reasonable price. We will be coming back for sure!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tookta's Cafe also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Tookta's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tookta's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.