We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, friendly staff, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tookta's Cafe

Tookta's Cafe
30 Spring Street, Brighton BN1 3EF, England
+44 1273 748071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 908 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Tookta's authentic Thai cafe` and restaurant offers cuisine of a high standard ,many dishes originating from my own contemporary style ideas and recipes. A family friendly cafe`, Tookta caters for everyone. Spicy, mild, the lot. The customer is our number one priority and Tookta cooks to satisfy everyone's tastes. With a lifetime experience of fine thai food, which some of you may have already encountered at Tookta's Sunday Menu, The Office pub, sydney street, Brighton. Tookta is expert in using only fresh ingredients of the highest quality available. So Come along to Tookta's cafe` and experience the fine, Thai cuisine for yourself!
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“good food, friendly staff, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We ate 2 meals - both cooked exactly to order, and both with the full Thai set of flavours.

We have lived in the Far East, and the food tonight was well up to far East standard; all ingredients were correct and the taste was properly authentic.

Recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    43
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Best beef massaman curry i've ever had. Tookta who owns it is the chef, she is great fun and very welcoming. Its a tiny place so book well in advance if you want to go at the weekend but we just turned up on a Wednesday night.
Cant wait to go back.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

You know a restaurant is good when you keep going back and we can't stay away!! Great food, lovely cosy atmosphere and a friendly host.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing freshly prepared authentic Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

What a great find! The food here is amazing, everything is cooked freshly to order - it comes out piping hot as soon as its made. You can really taste the fresh herbs and spices - rivals the food we've had in Thailand itself!
Be prepared though, this is only a small restaurant - about 24 seats and its first come first served (no bookings) so you need to get there no later than 7 - 7.15pm for a table. The decor and furnishings are very retro but actually this adds to the charm of this place.
The waiting staff are great - very down to earth - and totally honest about wait times. When we visited they had to turn numerous diners away as the place was full. Tootka herself came to check we had enjoyed our meal. A really friendly, down to earth and 'say it the way it is' waiting staff without being rude. Pricing is also very reasonable considering the quality of food. Would definitely visit again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Thai food in Europe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Just like the reviews said, this place is great. Not the biggest menu which just makes it easier to choose from and the food/service along with everything else was excellent. Highly recommend this place to everyone visiting Brighton.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tookta's Cafe also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Tookta's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tookta's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.