We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent seafront hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   149 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent seafront hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We have just spent two nights at the Mercure in Brighton. We had a very good room facing the sea as requested. All the staff were excellent, very efficient and welcoming.
The breakfast was plentiful and of excellent quality.
We would definitely stop again

Room Tip: we stayed in the front of the hotel which had a great view out to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Cotswolds2013,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel on Trip Advisor. Its always a pleasure to receive such encouraging feedback.

I will be discussing your feedback with the team, to whom I know will be equally delighted with your feedback, and will serve as a motivator for them.

If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate in contacting me directly.

Kind Regards
Peter Nye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    316
    269
    113
    74
See reviews for
130
453
31
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deal
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend at this hotel. There were 8 of us (4 couples) and we all had a great time.
Our rooms were all clean and adjacent to each other as requested. The bed was comfortable and the shower was good.
Our package included breakfast which was plentiful and one three course evening meal which was good.
Our package stated that dinner was on the first night but as we were going to a Bryan Ferry concert which started at 7pm we asked if we could swap it for the second night. The hotel kindly agreed to do this.
All staff were helpful, polite and friendly, particularly at reception and at breakfast when they went out of their way to ensure we could all sit at one table.
It is only a 10-15 min walk into the Lanes. There is a really good pub called the Lion and Lobster which is situated behind the hotel.
We will definitely stay here again when next visiting Brighton, particularly if we get a good deal.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear AlanandTracey,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel on Trip Advisor. Its always a pleasure to receive such encouraging feedback.

I will be discussing your feedback with the team, to whom I know will be equally delighted with your feedback, and will serve as a motivator for them.

If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate in contacting me directly.

Kind Regards
Peter Nye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We had a great deal of 2 nights bed and breakfast both mornings and dinner on the first night. Now usually these offers can be only on certain days but this was a weekend. Lucky for us the sun shined all weekend. On entering the hotel your greated by warm friendly staff at the reception who explained everything and couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome.I really felt they meant. The hotel is a bit of a rabbit warren but when you have your bearings it's easy enough to get around.We stayed in a classic room it was decorated beautifully ,clean,modern and the bed was cosy.
We had booked our table for dinner on arrival again greated by warm friendly staff had a fab table looking out to the sea and a beautiful sunset.The food was delicious and very well presented, service was excellent too.
Breakfast was a bit manic as everyone decided to come down at once this did cause a bit of a wait but the bar area had also been laid out for breakfast too so didn't wait long(5 mins)Breakfast was a help yourself and the selection was great there was even a menu for other items ie: kippers,poached eggs etc.
We did have a bit of an issue with the room nextdoor obviously had too much drink and were fighting however a quick call to reception and someone was up checking that everything was ok with them. I then received a phone call to make sure we were oka nd any other problems to let them know.
Check out was as quick and friendly as check in .
My only gripe and it's a small one is the parking charge of £18 a day I know it can be expensive to park in Brighton but this was the hotels own barriered car park.
I would recommend this hotel as it is on the seafront and a 10 minute walk to the town centre and lanes,but most of all the friendliest staff I have ever come across everyone greeted you as they passed and were keen to help and make your stay a pleasant one Thank you

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Debbie E,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel on Trip Advisor. Its always a pleasure to receive such encouraging feedback.

I will be discussing your feedback with the team, to whom I know will be equally delighted with your feedback, and will serve as a motivator for them.

Unfortunately Car parking is somewhat of a premium in brighton and being a city centre hotel with a limited car park we charge a very competitive price of £18 a night coming in cheaper than anywhere else in brighton. We do have hotels within the company that offer free car parking but these are not city centre hotels and have ample car parking spaces

If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate in contacting me directly.

Kind Regards
Peter Nye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

small room but practical . food was lovely. had an evening meal on 1st nite. great service. breakfasts were great and very filling. had no issues with parking and worth the 18 pound charge. the hotel does need updating as not a 4 star but is a very good 3. all staff here were lovely and friendly and can't do enough for u. well done to u all. thankyou . will see u all next summer.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear 2043nooks,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel on Trip Advisor. Its always a pleasure to receive such encouraging feedback.

I will be discussing your feedback with the team, to whom I know will be equally delighted with your feedback, and will serve as a motivator for them.

If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate in contacting me directly.

Kind Regards
Peter Nye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

A good 4 star hotel right on the sea front, 10 minutes walk from the city centre, shops, pubs and eateries. The rooms are a little old and tired but clean and roomy. 28 car parking spaces and excellent food with helpful and friendly staff.

room lighting could be better

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Des F,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel on Trip Advisor. Its always a pleasure to receive such encouraging feedback.

I will be discussing your feedback with the team, to whom I know will be equally delighted with your feedback, and will serve as a motivator for them.

If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate in contacting me directly.

Kind Regards
Peter Nye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Very good location short walk to the pier and the Lane's Old style hotel but comfortable,good breakfast in the restaurant or bar £6,99 if you pay the night before,lovey sea views from restaurant and bar Had.to stay an extra night because of the storm and decided to eat at the hotel .Restaurant manager and waitress were excellent but the meal was not so good. we hope to stay at this hotel again but would not have a evening meal here .We travel quite a bit and have to say all the staff at this hotel are the best we have come across they could not do enough for us ,well done to you all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear swanjack,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel on Trip Advisor. Its always a pleasure to receive such fantastic and encouraging feedback.

I will be discussing your feedback with the team, to whom I know will be equally delighted with your feedback, and will serve as a motivator for them.

If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate in contacting me directly.

Kind Regards
Peter Nye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

Address: 149 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location doesn't come much better than this, right on Brighton seafront with fantastic views of the beach and out to sea. Close to the Brighton Centre and the town centre this elegant Regency style hotel is perfectly situated for business and leisure guests. Each of the 116 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high-speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel has limited parking on site and this is charged at £25.00 Per car overnight and is payable at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Brighton
Brighton Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.