We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be afraid very afraid...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Preston Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Preston Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Preston Park Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   216 Preston Road, Brighton BN1 6UU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 44 hotels in Brighton
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Be afraid very afraid...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

43rd out of 43 ! Well done Preston park hotel. Booked this rat run for a wedding reception!!! Rude barman almost lost his teeth !
Our room was probably the most tired of all rooms in the Northern hemisphere....Even copious amounts of alcohol did nothing to blur the 70's MFI look...so we promptly checked out and headed for a seafront hotel. What amazes me is how do hotels with no interest in people stay in business?

Room Tip: When you see the Preston park hotel keep driving.....and for god's sake don't look back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    13
    22
    26
    50
See reviews for
8
41
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

This place is average but good value for money.

For a short, cheap, stay, would recommend. A bust stop outside which gets you into centre in 10 mins for £2.

Certainly wasn't as dirty as some of the other reviews suggested. Just a bit tired. Room was clean with towels / coffee etc. it could do with a spruce up that's all.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

The room was very dirty in general ,the carpet had lumps under it,the wallpaper was dirty and marked we had a bad nights sleep on a mattress that must have been installed when the building was built. When we first arrived the car park was full I spoke to the receptionist regarding this and she was very rude and told me to park in one of the side roads which meant carrying our luggage a lot further than needed. For a room that cost £110 a night I would have expected better would not recommend this hotel to my enemies. A BIG RIP OFF.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel is in need of renovating, but the price reflects that, Staff where very polite and helpful . The room was clean ,bed was ok , breakfast was ok . If you want cheap hotel ( for Brighton costs ) it is worth it . But I would not spend a week there !!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Room was small, dark and tired looking.
The bathroom was dirty (hair from others still on the floor) the tiles were cracked and the shower had to be held up.
I am annoyed that I didn't complain.
What a dump never again that's for sure

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

The shower did't work. The blind in the bathroom was missing. The net curtains were dirty with holes. The Window in the bathroom had mould on it The carpet was stained in several places. There was only one starter in the bar, same every night. Two different meals on two nights and couldn't tell the difference. Guiness was off. Staff rude. The bar was like sitting in curry, no escape from the tv. Good point. My last night tonight.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Summed up in one word.

Dirty, tired and old. Would not stay again.

Room Tip: my advice would be to avoid it and stay elsewhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Preston Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preston Park Hotel

Address: 216 Preston Road, Brighton BN1 6UU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 44 hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Preston Park Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Preston Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jarvis Preston Park Brighton
Hotel Jarvis Preston Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Preston Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.