We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Kings Hotel to your Saves list
Kings Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   139 - 141 Kings Rd, Brighton BN1 2NA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Room was very spacious and clean but in need of updating.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
The location of the hotel is great as it is close to all local attractions and has a great position on the seafront.
OK for a last minute one night stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    231
    206
    127
    97
See reviews for
77
321
47
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The hotel is in need of tlc and a new lift!Arrived on Sunday to be told that the lift wasn't working but was being seen to later,either that didn't happen or it could not be repaired!Room was small but adequate for the one night we stayed although it was very stuffy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

last minute booking so wanted a cheap and cheerful just for the night booked online fairly easily went to check in right on sea front waited over 20 mins before somebody bother to come to reception was given key and asked if l had a car on repliying yes was told to use there parking facility it was another 15 pounds which l paid was not told how to get to room and had to ask the lift is the slowest l have ever used on entering the room there was a very small bathroom with just a shower must have a lot of soap disappearing as the bottles are fixed to the wall the bed was clean not so the carpets the tv is only about 20in and placed on wall could have done with a magnifying glass a tray is provided for drinks this only had enough for 2 drinks each the noise all night was horrendous both from seafront revellers and the awful lift couldn't wait to leave next morning when we got downstairs the dining room was open on checkinh we were told we needed to pay extra again if we wanted any needless to say we left with a vow never to return to them the night cost 60 plus 15 parking not good value nor are the staff very oblidging

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed one night with my husband, paid £179 for a double room. Window didn't open which meant the room was an absolute sweat box. Overall room was grotty, old and definately not worth £179 per night. Lift wasn't working so had to walk up 4 flights of stairs, even if it did it's so old i'd be scared to ride it. Parking is first come first serve basis and is an extra £15. Rip off. Hotel is in need of a deep clean and desperately needs updating. Breakfast was average. There are cheap restaurants down the road that charge £4-5 for a cooked breakfast which i would recommend as an alternative as it's really not worth eating breakfast in the hotel. Sorry to say but if you are charging £179 per night the make some improvements to your hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Never have I experienced such poor service and arrogance. We booked three rooms for one night (luckily only one night!). On our return back to the hotel from a lovely birthday meal out, the family room was infested by ants everywhere! Reception did not want to know and didn't seem to think there was a problem with this! Four children were meant to sleep in this room. All they could offer was a double room!! They refused to sort the ant infestation out and was left up to us to sort. Next morning the arrogant hotel manager who was too coward to face us just brushed it off!! Never would I recommend this place ever! Only people that should visit here is the health inspectors! Also needs a major update!

Room Tip: Don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My friend and I booked a night's stay in a twin room last Friday. We checked in and were given our keys and were told the room was on the first floor. The corridors were dingy and the floorboards were very squeaky.

When we did eventually find our room on first impression the interior was nice, especially the bathroom which was bright and clean but there was no air conditioning and the windows didn't open, although there was a sheet stating if you required a fan this was on request. Considering it was the hottest day of the year, on check in we should have been offered a fan, this is basic customer service.

We were given a room with a backstreet view and for a room costing £115 it would have been nice to have had something interesting to look at. Noise seemed to travel around the room, if it wasn't people walking in the corridors and doors slamming, we also had to endure someone strumming a guitar at stupid o clock! but saying this we slept well, although this may have been due to the fact we were exhausted with the heat.

When we were getting ready the next morning, housekeeping came round and they were told politely by my friend to come back later, checkout was 11.00 am, and it was 9.30 am! I couldn't fault the breakfast, the waitress was efficient and helpful, there was a good choice of food and the location was perfect, right on the seafront.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Hotel

Address: 139 - 141 Kings Rd, Brighton BN1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.