We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kings Hotel to your Saves list
Kings Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   139 - 141 Kings Rd, Brighton BN1 2NA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect for value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just had a girls weekend in Brighton, we are not youngsters. The kings Hotel suited our every need. Good value for money.. Breakfast choice was excellent.. The staff were all extremely helpful and very friendly. The rooms were basic but we slept very well as the beds were to only crisp clean they were also very comfortable which makes a change.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    251
    229
    139
    110
See reviews for
86
363
55
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

When we stayed here in 2011 we booked to stay for three nights, we went home after the second night ! we couldn't stand the noise any longer(as you had to pay £10 a head for your tiny,cold over cooked breakfast) we didn't mind leaving early. We had to take cases up three flights of stairs to our room because the lift wasn't working we found our room freshly decorated you could still smell the paint, the window was Jamed, the carpet felt damp assumed it had been cleaned but there were big stains still.the room had a locked connecting door I think this must of been the bedroom of the room next door once, you could hear the neighbours as if we were all in the same room, you could here everything,the smoke alarm went off during the night after about five mins we were worried there was a fire somewhere so we rang down to reception and was told not to worry it was someone smokin,that was enough for us we packed and went home, they did refund us for one night, only after asking to be, would not recommend this hotel to a couple or a family avoid this one.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed in much worse hotels in Brighton, it was clean, comfortable as long as you are hardy to wind blowing through closed windows. Wireless does not work in the rooms. Judging from colleagues' reactions at breakfast the Chef can't poach eggs. Real problem was with the staff.
I had three large packages containing expensive display stands to send to London which we left with the Receptionists with A4 sized, laminated labels, very strongly attached, clearly stating the delivery address, our mobile numbers, the courier company booked and time of collection and explained to the receptionist we expected to be back in time to meet the courier at 3pm. At 2.30pm we returned to the hotel to wait for the courier to find our packages had gone. The receptionist said a courier at come at 11am and they gave them our boxes but that a lady had phoned at 2ish to say they had received the wrong packages. Despite at this point knowing they must have messed up the receptionist had not troubled to ask who this was, what they had been expecting or asked for a phone number. The hotel said they only had 3 packages left with them so they must have given them to the right courier, when we pointed to the three packages sat next to reception labelled up for collection, the response was "oh yeah, didn't see them", no apology. Luckily we managed to track down our packages but the staff were sullen and unhelpful and did nothing to try and solve a problem entirely of their creating. Useless... oh yes and they can't provide decaf teabags for the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I needed 7 rooms and the Kings came up as an option having booked the adjacent Best Western to find that they could actually only provide 5 rooms!

Needless to say, booked (no discount for 7 rooms other than web price) and got a mixture of the standard doubles, twins and 2 superior rooms.

The review is based upon my impressions but I'll also add in comments from the party i was with.

Room Type - Superior Double

My room was compact and faced west towards Oriental Place, so an indirect view of the sea and the bandstand, so not too bad for a view, but then had the apartments across the road all looking in on me, so closed the curtains.

The room had a makeover and was clean, fresh and had new wallpaper and bathrooms, but had recycled the older bedroom furniture. Not a problem in these cost concious times.

The bathroom was white, white, white and errr, white, Good shower and was cleaned to gleam. All very good.

So, I have no doubts on recommending this and at the bargain online price it was a winner.

I had a quick look at the Deluxe Seaview and it was the best of the bunch, and the only way to go in the future if I return.

Double Standard/Twin

From the reports it was okay, it passed muster but fairly basic and no fancy boutique style wallpaper of posh bathrooms for them. Views were not great either. A few of the party accepted a few complained.

Staff
First class, attentive, helpful and tried hard to keep everyone happy, so a plus point from the usually surly types often found.

Bar
Good, about what you expect to pay, again friendly service and nice seating area.

Breakfast,
Having read reviews, decided to dip out and walk along the seafront for an alfresco breakfast, certainly the best choice.

All in all, I think it was value for money, individual with some nice touches and I would definetly go back and stay another night again with them, albeit in a Superior but more than likely the Deluxe.

I was due down a week later and asked if they would discount me a Deluxe for the night, as I had booked and paid for 7 rooms when down there, and there was no extra discount available, so alas I have booked in another local hotel for that night, so will review that next time

Room Tip: Superior or Deluxe Only - Unless on a budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

First impressions were good , friendly enough welcome. Our stay was for 2 nights and we was placed on the ground floor with a window view of a WALL. Not want to complain so I left it as I only intended in sleeping here!
Room was clean and modern and bed was comfy , power shower with lots of hot water.toilet was abit noisy to flush and could here next doors to.
Breakfast tastiest nice but could of done with abit more, help yourself to toast & cereal , full English consists of one sausage one bacon tbs of beans 1/2 a tomato & 5 button mushrooms.
Location is okay with about 15/20 min walk to the pier.
I would stay again if I was in Brighton

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Don't you just love a fortune spent on glitzy foyers then your given a key to Stalag 17. Well welcome to the Kings hotel. If your lucky to find parking around here well done!
As we arrived late we were confronted by a real glitzy foyer that seemed double as a reception and four ale bar . What seemed like an eternity we were given our key and there started our morbid trek to the top of the hotel. The lift if i remember was not in action and the stairway seemed to be in a state of redecoration..well painting. Overall we new the room was going to disappoint and we were not wrong.At £80 per night i thought they had given us the £8 per night room. The Kings seem to have managed to acquire a job lot of magnolia and white paint. The tattiness and over painting of the tiles in the bathroom as to be seen to be believed. The decor to be honest was a sad affair.As we arrived in the evening we were too tired to even contemplate finding another hotel. We eventually decided to ease the pain of staying and consume 2 bottles of Chateaux Margot and quickly passed out. Come the morning we were away from there faster than a bishop from a brothel raid. Never again!

Room Tip: Ask to see rooms before parting with your hard earned!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.neots
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night !! The location is fantastic . Right in the sea front and close to the pier !! The only thing that let it down was the breakfast !! Consisting of one bit of bacon that tasted of fish one hard boiled poached egg , four mushrooms a tea spoonful of beans, a sausage that I don't think has been anywhere near to a pig and half a tomato!! Better off gettIng one from a greasy cafe down the road !! Still .. We had a good time!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Hotel

Address: 139 - 141 Kings Rd, Brighton BN1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Brighton's rich heritage and it's vibrant seaside lifestyle of today when staying at the Kings Hotel Brighton on Brighton Seafront. Housed in 3 lovingly restored Regency mansions, The Kings Hotel Brighton enjoys a prime location on Brighton's famous seafront. The hotel is steps away from the beach, Brighton Conference Centre and the great shops and entertainment venues of the town centre. You can expect a warm welcome from the friendly team at The Kings Hotel Brighton. Reception is open 24 hours a day, so no matter what time you arrive, a member of staff will be on hand to greet you and offer local information. Each of the 96 bedrooms at this sea front hotel has been appointed with care and style. All rooms are en-suite and offer every comfort needed for a relaxing stay. Many of the rooms boast exceptional sea views. Each room type at The Kings Hotel Brighton is designed for complete comfort. Family rooms and bedrooms adapted for the complete accessibility of guests with mobility difficulties are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.