We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smashing Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Umi Brighton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Umi Brighton Hotel to your Saves list
Umi Brighton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   64 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Smashing Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Went to Brighton to see Russell Brand ,we picked the Umi ,because of its central location. On arrival ,we were greeted by a lovely man on reception, who was polite and helpful, our room was so nice ,surprised to find we overlooked the sea, a stunning view. Beds were really comfortable. Really convenient for the Brighton Centre. Breakfast was good and plentiful, we liked the quirky Restaurant area. Will be returning to this fab hotel. Price for 1 night with breakfast in the middle of Brighton, was very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umi B, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your lovely review and comments, very pleasing to read you enjoyed your stay in Brighton and here at the Umi. We look forward to seeing you when you next in Brighton

Umi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    343
    197
    117
    119
See reviews for
107
416
58
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wyboston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed here for a night for our anniversary. On arrival staff were friendly and helpful and we were upgraded to a sea view for our anniversary very thoughtful and kind.

Read the reviews before travelling but tend to make my own mind up. The room was large with a lovely bay window and just what we needed. The bathroom was fine but shower was temperamental but was sufficient.

The room was clean and comfortable and for me that's what you want I'm not bothered what the decor is like yes it could do with a lick of paint have stayed in worse.

I I'll defo return to this hotel next time I'm in Brighton.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umi B, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to Umi in the near future

The Umi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveley, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend took me on a surprise visit to Brighton, quick effortless check in, lift to 2nd floor, opened the door to the room and discovered he had booked a room with a gorgeous sea view room, I loved it!! Very spacious room, and bathroom, big bed, bit of a soft mattress but ok.
Breakfast was included which was plentiful and delicious, and I loved the decor in the restaurant.
Fab location, everything on your doorstep!
Cannot wait to visit again, but we shall be a family of 3 on our next visit as I conceived on our stay in the hotel, we are very excited to be expecting our baby very soon!! :-))

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed at this hotel in January 2014, and paid approx £80 for the night. The prices advertised vary dramatically so beware. this is a budget hotel.
The good points - fantastic location right on the beach, close to the Lanes shopping area, the pier and Kemptown bars and restaurants. The staff on reception were very friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and spacious, decent hospitality tray to make teas and coffees etc - simple white linen and towels, and room has a bath.
The bad - the rooms are tired, pillows are flat (only one pillow per person), bathroom in need of an update - chips on the bath etc. No temperature control in the room and the radiator seemed to go on and off at intervals so at times was cold in the room. However the worst element is that there is a road leading to bar /club at the rear of the room which my room overlooked at several times during the early hours there was fighting, screaming and very loud noise leading from revellers finding their way home. Despite being on the 5th floor the noise travelled (old window frames not double glazed to reduce noise) resulting in a very interrupted nights sleep (to be honest very little sleep at all ).
Breakfast was terrible, very limited selection of poor quality food. Pastries and crossants ran out before the breakfast service had finished and I was advised there was no more available.
My advice if you're staying at this hotel is to book room only - there are many many cafes within 5 mins walk which offer a great breakfast selection in a much nicer environment.

If viewed as a budget hotel its in a good location and it probably hits the mark (just make sure you're not in a room at the rear of the property) and avoid breakfast though. But don't be fooled into thinking its a luxury hotel its not.

I've written this review late as I'm in the process of booking another trip to Brighton later this month and noticed the Umi advertising rooms at £245 per night ! i think that price could mislead some purchasers into thinking its top end hotel and its not.

To end on a positive though the reception staff were excellent and helpful, and sea front location just five mins from train station is also good.

Room Tip: make sure room does not overlook the road/entry at the back leading to pubs and club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umi B, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting a review on trip advisor following your stay in January and feel it prudent to reply to some of your comments.
The Umi is a 3 star AA rated Hotel and does not market itself as a top end hotel. Our pricing is in line with the other centrally located hotels on the seafront and the £245 rate you quote is on a prime night with a sea view accommodating up to 5 people and or an superior room and is still considerably lower than other hotels in the same location. Our single rooms start from as little £45 and all our web sites show up to date images of the hotel and its bedrooms.so in no way misleading
All rooms have bounce back pillows and spare pillows in the wardrobe area and if any of our guests require more than 2 pillows per person, they only have to ask.
You can not book a hotel situated on Brighton City sea front amongst the cities bars, clubs and restaurants and be surprised you can hear some external noise?
Our breakfast buffet is priced at £4.95 eat all you can from a choice of bacon, sausages, eggs, beans, tomatoes, mushrooms, choice of fruit juices, croissants, choice of breads and cereals, fresh fruit, tea and coffee and is actually known for the best value breakfast in the area. Like all restaurants, we do sometimes run out of items and apologise this was the case on the morning of your stay. In addition we offer a breakfast in our branded Coffee Republic coffee shop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Apart from the girl on reception and one of the chambermaids, the staff either seemed to be stressed or disinterested. Certainly no-one made an effort to be engaging and smile, apart from the 2 people just mentioned. The room was clean and bright and basic.No radio and a hairdryer that looked like a throw back to the 40's, which was awful. The bathroom needed a re-vamp, and with a huge hook on the back of the door, entering the bathroom was a very tight squeeze as the door could only be half opened. Far better to have placed the hook on the wall tiles. The pillows felt like they had had all the filling knocked out of them, so a comfortable sleep was not on the cards. The breakfast buffet was reasonable standard fair, and the evening menu was o.k., but we chose to eat out. The location of the hotel was its plus points - that and the use of the gym at a neighboring hotel. Decor through out is tired and scruffy.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 507 if you want a room with a view. Our room over looked chimney pots and buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umi B, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Madam,
You have already taken the time to complete one of our guest questionnaires placed in our rooms and now taken the time to post a review on trip Advisor. I have already emailed you with regards your comments and feel it a shame you didn't take the time to speak to any of the team at the time of your stay, which would have solved some of the issues you thought you had, such as
The Tv's in all our rooms have a minimum of 100 channels and 10 radio channels, but my understanding from your response to my email was you would prefer to have seen the radio separately on your bedside table - I must say this is a very old fashioned concept and in the current times you will find all hotels will put their radio channels on the TV just as one has at home.
The hair drier in the bathroom is a standard hotel hair drier and is designed in such a way for safety reasons, but as mentioned to you in my email there is also a portable hair drier supplied in the cupboard in your room.
As many hotels we supply a bathroom hook on the back of our bathroom door as a standard.
The hotel would have been more than happy to supply you with new pillows if you had asked.
Our restaurant serves a vast range of options and you mention it was fair, but didn't actually sample it as chose to go out so didn't use our restaurant.?
The hotel is old dates back to the 1800s but is far from scruffy and over the last 18 months has been decorated inside and out. You are quite right you booked a standard ( cheaper ) room that did not benefit from a sea view, but Umi has many bedrooms that do have a wonderful view, which on checking showed were available when you stayed should you have wished to upgrade your original booking.
I would urge all our guests to speak to the team whilst at the hotel, hence giving us the opportunity to assist our guests and be informative about our product.
Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We are a family of four and all stayed in one family room. It was spacious and had a good view. It was a little noisy due to the road and the night club in the street opposite. It seemed to have a number of groups of lads staying based on the noise around 2 am. The decor was OK but for the money we were expecting a higher standard, especially the bathroom which was very poorly maintained. The restaurant was rather grotty. The staff were mostly OK apart from one rather grumpy receptionist.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umi B, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor and would like to this opportunity to apologise you did not enjoy your stay. We have a 24hour reception and a 24 hour Duty Manager and if we had been advised of any of our guests disturbing fellow guests it would have been addressed immediately. Our bedrooms have all been refurbished and apologise they are not what you are expecting. Our bathrooms are of an older design, but are maintained by our maintenance department so everything is in full working order, but a more modern design of tiling and flooring will most certainly be our next refurbishment plan..
We and Little Bay take on board an opera themed restaurant is not to everyone's taste but grotty it is not.
I am horrified any of the Umi team were grumpy with yourself and as the Manager would be most grateful if you could contact me in order to address this immediately, I look forward to hearing from you
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I stayed at Umi for 2 nights whilst in Brighton for a conference. The location is ideal, just a couple of minutes walk away from the Brighton Centre.

Pablo gave us sea view rooms on the 2nd floor. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable and, from what I could see, individually decorated too. The bathroom was clean too, but is in need of updating. Everything worked as it should.

As other reviewers have said, noise does filter up from the streets, but when a hotel is in such a location, you'd expect that.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umi B, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your honest but accurate review on our hotel. We have refurbished all of our bedrooms, but where as our bathrooms are in good condition would agree some of them are of an older design.
Pablo like all the team know how important customer service is to our brand and your review has been passed onto him.
Its most refreshing to read our guests love our central location in the city but take on board the location does mean there is some expectation of noise level.
We hope to see you revisit Umi in the future
Regards
Team at Umi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Umi Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umi Brighton Hotel

Address: 64 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Umi Brighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umi Brighton is a 3 star listed Victorian building, built in 1873 it has the distinction of being the second oldest hotel on Brighton seafront and is situated on the corner of the famous lanes area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Umi Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umi Hotel Brighton
Brighton Umi Hotel
Belgrave Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umi Brighton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.