We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really good hotel on the seafront” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Umi Brighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Umi Brighton Hotel to your Saves list
Umi Brighton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   64 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“really good hotel on the seafront”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed as a couple and teenager for 2 nights. The staff on reception seemed a bit overwhelmed by the arrivals but eventually found us rooms. I must say our room was great, with a sea view and nice windows. Better than expected. The location is great: right on the seafront. Breakfast is in the really nice restaurant next door. A really good place to stay for a short break in Brighton.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umi B, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to umi Brighton in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    343
    197
    117
    119
See reviews for
107
416
58
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wonderful room, very big, clean and confortable like home. The toilet is simple but clean and big as well. Receptionist very polite and friendly. The restaurant is also amazing. Room and restaurant with sea view. No expensive. All excellent!!! If I'll go again to Brighton I'll go here for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umi B, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay. It was great to see that you had such a good time with us like the majority of our customers. I have passed your comments onto the staff and the restaurant.

I look forward to welcoming you back to umi Brighton in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my two sisters for an overnight stay. We had a little difficulty locating the premises and had driven past it several times on the main stretch of road.
The hotel staff upgraded us to a spacious 2 bedroom and this room would have easily accommodated 5-6 people. The room was clean and bed linen and towels fresh and plentiful.
The bathroom was a good size and the room had window seating and a small table that gave a lovely view of the beach.
The room included cooked breakfast which was in a restaurant attached to the hotel and it was a novelty eating breakfast in a themed restaurant of theatre boxes with matching décor.
Even when breakfast items ran short they were quickly replaced.
We had plenty to do and spent much time in Brighton Marina where the parking was free, a trip on the Brighton eye and fish and chips in a wonderful restaurant called The Regency.
The hotel has a deal with the NCP car park just behind it and the parking ticket was replaced with one from the hotel at half the price.
All in all a good night away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umi B, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and in Brighton.

I acknowledge the problems experienced with locating the hotel, and am in the process of looking at adding to our external signage to give an even clearer indication of our location and appreciate your comments.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review and I look forward to welcoming you back to umi Brighton.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a 3 night getaway. The staff was polite and friendly, although we were not able to check into our room until 3pm (quite a few other comments mentioned early check-in). The room was spacious and clean with plenty of towels and pillows. The only draw back is that our room was on the first floor and faced a large night club which made for a noisy night. However this is too be expected when staying at the waterfront in Brighton...bring earplugs or ask for a room higher up as I'm sure that would lessen the noise. Regardless, we would stay here again....and coffee shop next door is great!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umi B, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us. On occasion we are able to check guests in early, but this carries an extra charge, and is of course subject to availability.

Once again, thank you for your comments, I have passed them onto all the staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back to umi Brighton.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Have just returned from a 2 night stay at the UMI. You will find when you arrive, there is nowhere to unload your luggage outside the hotel and you have to pull up on the pavement offload your luggage and your partner while you (the driver) goes to park the car. The nearest is an NCP at £25 a day although the hotel will provide a discount voucher to reduce this to £12.

Overall the hotel is tired and could do with a serious internal face lift. Our room was spacious and adequate although the aircon was very noisy. If you stay here, ask for a sea view room as the hotel is in prime location and in the centre of all that is happening in Brighton.

The staff were friendly enough but the biggest complaint was breakfast. The restaurant. is VERY tired and includes some outside tables. Breakfast is also offered to the general public at a very reasonable price of all you can eat for around £4.50. The problem here is obvious, there are not enough tables left for guests and when you do get one, there is not enough food left. The 2nd morning we went to eat, it was packed and the staff available could not cope and in addition, although this sounds minor, there was only one spare coffee cup and that was chipped all around the circumference so this leads to a question over the hotels quality control policy. No orange juice, no eggs, no mushrooms but all you can eat tomatoes and bacon and toast.

To summarise, great location, great views but if you are expecting high standards, forget it.

Room Tip: 2nd floor and above sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umi B, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay. I was sorry to read that you weren't as satisfied with your stay as many of our customers are.

We have been completing an extensive internal refurbishment program, concentrating on improving the bedroom standards, which has been extremely well received, so I believe you are referring to the public areas, namely corridors, when you comment the hotel looks tired. Whilst these are on our refurbishment program we feel that priority must be given to the bedrooms, as this is where guest spend the vast majority of their time.

However, having acknowledged that attention to some internal areas is required and planned I must disagree with you regarding your statement about the restaurant looking 'VERY' tired. Little Bay is an award winning restaurant chain highly acclaimed in both Brighton and internationally for its service, food quality, and lavish decor. The gilt styled operatic themed decor is anything but tired, having been completely refurbished only two years ago. The service received on the morning, however, is not acceptable in any way and I have personally spoken to the restaurant team regarding this and offer my unreserved apologies.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We booked a twin room for 2 nights over the Bank Holiday weekend. Check in was really quick, took less than 5 minutes and the staff on front desk were helpful and polite.
The lift is tiny and took ages and was very 'juddery' - but as we were on the 5th floor this was the preferred option!

Our room had a sea view which we hadn't paid extra for so this was a lovely surprise.
Room was basic but nice and clean, same as the bathroom so had no complaints – the bed was very comfortable.
I know a lot of people have complained about the noise but you're on Brighton seafront so what do you expect? The hotel is right next to Oceana and our window partially overlooked the club but we had no problem with noise or being able to sleep.

Breakfast is in the restaurant next door (access via the hotel bar) so as it's a separate company you need to take your room voucher with you. One of the girls working there was quite rude and just looked like such a misery and basically just grunted at us for our voucher. Not great!
However there's a varied selection available at breakfast, all nice and hot and was pretty good so no complaints there.

The hotel is in a perfect location, right on the front and a 10 minute walk from anywhere worth visiting.

Overall it was a good stay and for a budget hotel was perfectly acceptable. I suppose some people just have to complain about something wherever they go, but at the end of the day you get what you pay for. I'd certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umi B, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us.

I'm sorry to hear you experienced poor service during breakfast, I have personally spoken with the restaurant team regarding this.

Once again, thank you for your comments and I hope to welcome you back to umi Brighton in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hengoed, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Lovely time , all staff really welcoming, beautiful views well worth the money, lovely places to visit fantastic shopping centre, nice little cafe attached to building, lovely rooms.
Fantastic location for when you have children, right on sea front and centered so everything is easy access

Room Tip: try to get a room with a sea view well worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umi B, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay. I was pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us, and our facilities.

I hope to welcome you back to umi Brighton in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Umi Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umi Brighton Hotel

Address: 64 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Umi Brighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umi Brighton is a 3 star listed Victorian building, built in 1873 it has the distinction of being the second oldest hotel on Brighton seafront and is situated on the corner of the famous lanes area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Umi Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umi Hotel Brighton
Brighton Umi Hotel
Belgrave Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umi Brighton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.