We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location..friendly and helpful staff..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Umi Brighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Umi Brighton Hotel to your Saves list
Umi Brighton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   64 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
“Great location..friendly and helpful staff..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at the Umi while attending The Brighton Tattoo convention in feb.room was great,bed was comfortable,Breakfast was good,large breakfast buffet with something for everyone,staff were AWSOME! staff went out of there way to help us with everything..couldn't ask for a better location too,We will be back staying at this hotel again in May when we return to the UK..I d highly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umi B, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us, and like the majority of our customers found our staff attentive and helpful at all times.

I look forward to welcoming you back to umi Brighton in the future.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    343
    197
    117
    119
See reviews for
107
416
58
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pulborough
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night through an internet deal. It is very well situated right of the seafront and close to all Brighton's attractions. Our room was a good size (room 403) with a view of the sea and the old pier, lovely on a sunny morning. The bed was comfy, albeit a bit on the small side for a double. We also had a single bed in the room, reasonable bathroom bit basic but functional and again, lovely views of the sea.The breakfast was good, something of everything and all fresh, in a lovely theatrical, unusual setting! The bar unfortunatley was closed when we came back in about 10.30 ish on a Monday night, perhaps as it was quiet, you could have room service though. All in all a good place to make your base.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umi B, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us on Trip Advisor, your kind comments are much appreciated and were used in our recent training session.
Your positive feed back with regards our restaurant and breakfast service have been passed onto the Manager of Little Bay, who was also very pleased with the post and fed back to his team.
We find our bar lounge is very quiet and the bar situated in our restaurant appears to be more popular, this is open until midnight on a daily basis and the lounge bar open until 10pm unless our guests require it longer.
Thank you once again and we hope to see you revisit soon

Regards

Umi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south west england
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My daughter, my grandaughter and myself stayed at the UMI in January 13. We went to see the Xfactor tour. We can not fault this hotel at all. Pleasant staff, lovely food, lovely atmosphere.
Nothing was too much trouble.
Would highly recomend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umi B, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Madam
Thank you for your kind comments and glowing review. Your review has been fed back to the team, who were so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Umi Brighton in the near future

Kind Regards

The Umi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Staff friendly....Room good... although the views of the seafront were offset by the negative of the very noisy passing crowds of pubbers and clubbers. Whilst this is something the hotel can't do much about those seeking a quiet night might want to request a room higher in the hotel or at the back of the building.
Hotel very convenient to the tourist venues... a short walk from the train station.
The restaurant interesting with it's restaurant Theatre themed tables is certainly worth a visit

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umi B, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Sir
Thank you for your clear, concise and positive post with regards Umi. the Little Bay restaurant and our location.
We value any feed back, in order to assist us in moving the business forward and enhancing our guest offerings.
We hope to see you again soon in Sunny Brighton

Regards
The Umi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I had read many reviews about this hotel before booking and was confused how they could be such mixed reviews.....I now know why!!
My husband and I booked for one night. I booked direct with the hotel and over the phone the male member of staff was very helpful. I had booked a few activities for the evening so we arrived at 3.30. We were checked in quickly and given room 212, omg it was horrible the double bed took up the whole room and it over looked the roof with about 4 air con units and it was freezing, We could also hear everything the restaurant staff were shouting/talking to each other. We asked to move but was told by a fierce female receptionist they were fully booked. As luck would have it the heating system was broke so we had to move even though they forgot us and we waited 45 minutes,so missed the 1st show we planned to watch.
What a difference the next room 410 was large clean sea view and warm. The restaurant was amazing and 3 courses for £9.99 was amazing value. Breakfast was equally as good. We paid £105 for the room with was worth it for the second room but had we stayed in the original room I would of insisted on some sort of refund.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umi B, Guest Relations Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Madam
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor. Your kind and positive comments have been forwarded to our restaurant team, who were delighted.
I would like to apologise you had problems with the heating in your first room and was glad to see the team addressed this by moving you to an up graded sea view room. The actual room you booked was a small standard double and these rooms are much smaller than our sea view rooms but the pricing you paid is in line with the other hotels on the sea front and something we monitor on a daily basis.
Kind Regards

Reservations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Me and my partner had booked a room for a night just so we could get away for the weekend. We had arrived around 12:00 so we could leave our bags in the luggage room as the website had included it was only a £1 fee. I had told the receptionist that we had a room booked and asked if he needed my name or the reservation number, he replied with "What I need you to do is come back at 3:00 when check in is", We were both shocked by the blatant rudeness of this member of staff especially after saying this he ignored us and helped the people who had come in after us. Unfortunately we had already paid for the room otherwise we would not have stayed.

The room was pleasant, very basic and for paying £118 for one night in a supposedly budget hotel it was disappointing (there wasn't even a bed side table).

To make the already displeasing experience we had of the hotel even worse the fire alarm had gone off twice and both times had stopped as we were on our way down the stairs. On the second I decided to have a word at the front desk but a group of staff seemed too involved with each other in the corner hiding away from the other angry guests to get their attention. Once we had got one persons attention he was useless but he did manage to tell us there was a situation on the floor we were staying on which did not help comfort us in any way. Below is part of a response we had gotten from a member of staff at the hotel after e-mailing them our experience.

"We are instructed not to comment to our guests on the cause of the alarm, until the fire brigade have investigated and clarified the situation and must apologise once again if this came across in the incorrect manner to yourself."

If this is what the hotel procedures are I wonder why this did not happen on either occasion. I could be wrong but if a fire alarm goes off in a hotel full of people do you ignore it and the guests?

We have been offered a preferred rate and complementary upgrade which we are considering.

Room Tip: Compare The Hilton's prices before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed in Umi Brighton last night with my partner. We wanted a night away by the sea somewhere clean and comfortable. Umi was both. We stayed on the first floor in a double room overlooking the sea-the room was immaculately clean and rather large too. It was one of the black and white rooms. We had not paid for sea view so was pleasantly surprised. Upon check-in staff were polite and friendly, gave us all the info we needed. Breakfast this morning which was included in the price of our room looked lovely-I was too hungover to eat it sadly! We had no trouble coming back to the hotel at 3am this morning - man on the door was again polite and friendly. Good to know there was someone minding the entrance too. Bed was a little springy.
There are only two criticisms I would have of the hotel-firstly and mainly the price. £130 is to date the most expensive price I have ever paid for one night in a hotel especially given the fact it's February. I wouldn't exactly say it was worth it as such. Maybe £90 more appropriate. Secondly-and not really the fault of the hotel-the fact there is no on site parking. Russell Road carpark is not far but It is hassle having to carry your stuff from the car park (the first space we found was on floor 10!) to the hotel! The reduced rate for hotel guests of £12 for 24hours parking is not too bad but does add to the expense of an already pricey night away.
I would definitely stay at Umi again if the price wasn't so high or if I win the lottery!! To summarise-amazing location, good, clean, comfortable accommodation with pleasant, friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umi B, Manager at Umi Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive review on trip advisor and your high rating. I can see by the rate you quote that you stayed with us at a weekend and like all hotels in Brighton Friday and Saturdays do carry a higher rate than the rest of the week.. We are situated in a prime location on Brightons sea front and our rates are actually lower than 90% of our fellow hotels on the front.
With regards the NCP car park, please feel free on your next visit to pull up outside the hotel and drop off your bags before parking.

Kind Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Umi Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umi Brighton Hotel

Address: 64 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Umi Brighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umi Brighton is a 3 star listed Victorian building, built in 1873 it has the distinction of being the second oldest hotel on Brighton seafront and is situated on the corner of the famous lanes area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Umi Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umi Hotel Brighton
Brighton Umi Hotel
Belgrave Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umi Brighton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.