We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel, Amazing Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Brighton Metropole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Brighton Metropole to your Saves list
Hilton Brighton Metropole
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel, Amazing Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

Honestly, I have no idea how this hotel got any negative reviews, because our experience was fabulous!! We stayed for 3 nights during the holidays.

My friends and I had to book this hotel last minute because our flights out of the UK had been cancelled due to poor weather conditions. And from the minute we walked in the door, the service was impeccable. The front desk, concierge and housekeeping were all welcoming, attentive and extremely helpful. There was not a single request they could not accommodate (needed a converter, needed someone who spoke Chez, needed weather forecasts, etc...).

The hotel was beautiful. It looked like they had been recently renovated, but they were able to maintain the old school charm of a posh English hotel. The lounge was inviting and the pool/workout room was very nice.

You couldn’t beat the waterfront location; in a safe area and a short walk to everything - the pier, the pavilion, the north and south lanes.

The breakfast was fabulous with an amazing selection of hot foods, cooked to order foods, pastries, fruits, and meets and cheeses! Even the scrambled eggs were great (scrambled eggs in England leave something to be desired vs. the States). Plus the room that it was served in was beautiful!

If there was anything that could be improved it would be the slowish service in the lounge and the fact that you have to pay for internet access. I would also say that the tiles in the shower needed a good scrub down, but I noticed this to be the case in every hotel I stayed at in Europe. Anyway, these minor inconveniences weren't enough to put a damper on such a great hotel experience!

Next time we’re in Brighton, we won’t look anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAssistance, Guest Asistance at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, January 13, 2010
I am so pleased you and your friends enjoyed staying with us.
Your taking the time to write a review is very much appreciated. I hope you will be returning to the UK in the not so distant future, when we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Brighton Metropole.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    598
    562
    406
    305
See reviews for
328
757
120
527
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

Stayed with husband and 2 kids - 9 yrs & 4yrs. Took advantage of hilton offer that kids room is half price of adults. Had interconnecting deluxe plus rooms. Spacious and nicely done up. Good modern bathrooms. Communal areas could do with updating. However despite this I could not recommend this hotel more. It is clear where the management has decided to spend its money - on the staff and they are all antastic. All the service was outstanding - even my extremely fussy husband was impressed. Kids loved pool.
Very good breakfast , with friendly chef George making pancakes, waffles and omlettes.
To be honest this is the best service we have ever had and we always stay in 4 or 5 star hotels. Previously stayed at The Grand (luxurious but small rooms) and thistle Brighton (good but not memorable). Hilton hands down winner - I am surprised it is not no. 1 in Brighton.
Had great trips out at Sea Life & Brighton Pavillion. Hilton reception gave us reduced price tickets (sea life half price, Pavillon free kids voucher). Both are worth a visit .
Tip - take your own toilet paper - Hilton seems to be using very cheap brand.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAssistance, Guest Assistance at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, January 13, 2010
Thank you very much for your recommendation. I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your visit. Our Facilities Manager has been advised of your thoughts with regards the toilet paper supplied. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review, and I do hope we will be welcoming you back to the Brighton Metropole very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

Booked a 2 night B&B break, first night just with the hubby but second night with friends as well. Overall we had a brilliant time
Staff- Staff were brilliant, very friendly and helpful, the whole trip.
Food - Breakfast was great, 1st day there was a queue as everyone had had a lay in i think! But staff were working hard to ensure we didn't have to queue for long. And had put out juice and pastrys for those queuing. The food was brilliant and the tables by the window were very nice as was the dining room.
Rooms- we'd paid a bit more for a king sized room, which was lovely but the heating was broken on arrival. A very pleasant young caretaker came but couldn't fix it. We were moved to a slightly smaller, but newly refurbished room. It was very nice, was still a very good size with an enormous bed and sea view and balcony and seating area. Our friends rooms were still nice but quite compact.
Hotel - the hotel itself is a beautiful building, pleasantly decorated and maintained to a very high standard.
We didn't manage to go the spa as had shorter opening hours, we did however visit the pool, which has a sauna, steam room and jacuzzi by it. They were clean, pretty average but we had a nice relaxing time in them.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAssistance, Guest Assistance at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, December 31, 2009
Thank you for your lovely comments, we do have a fantastic team of people here and I shall ensure your thoughts are passed on to them. I apologise for the inconvenience of your having to change your room, but I am pleased you were happy with the alternative accommodation offered. I Wish you a Happy New Year and hope you will choose to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

Went to Hilton Brighton Metropole on 28 November as a birthday treat for my husband. I had booked a superior room, however there was no heating in the room - the heating dial was hanging off the wall, so would have been clear for staff to see. Despite complaining twice, all we were given was a small electric heater for the bedroom and no heat at all in the bathroom. When I used it at the same time as the kettle all the electricity blew, and so had no lights, heat etc etc. I complained again to reception and once again no help was offered. On our return I emailed Hilton to say how disappointed I was with our experience, unfortunately Hilton Brighton Metropole did not feel I was important enough to reply!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAssistance, Guest Assistance at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, January 13, 2010
I am terribly sorry you experienced these problems, and concerned that you did not receive a response from Hilton. We have several contact email addresses, unfortunately I can not investigate further without knowing the address you used. All correspondence sent direct to the hotel will be responded to. All our guests are highly valued and their feedback is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

When we got to the hotel our room was not ready but that wasnt a problem we had an upgrade which we had to pay for which ive never had to do before as where ive stayed in diffferent hotels if there not busy they do it for free.
We had some drinks in the bar before dinner they had an offer on champagne when we asked what was free in the bag the reply was WELL WHAT DO YOU WANT IN THE BAG!!
to that we did not buy any. at dinner we were seated fast with our order taken in the same way from there it went down hill. The soup my partner had was cold when we called the waitress over her reply was well the bowl is warn!! but did get a fresh one i had fish cakes and well for a four star hotel did not think it would be TINNED SALMON but did not complane as i think the chef was having a bad night for our main i had chicken which was abit dry my partner had steak which he did ask for rare but when it came that was over cooked to so we called the waitress over she took it away only to bring it back and tell us THATS HOW WE COOK RARE STEAK HERE!!!! to this my partner told her he cooks for a living as soon as he said that she took it away and came back with a new one we did get some free drinks but to tell you the truth if i had not already paid the dinner i would have left at the starter. now the thing is the lady/waitress that served us was a manager so we over heard so that just made things even worse i did leave a card in the bedroom that we filled out and addressed to the manager but have had no feed back to which is rude but then again if they speak to there guests like that then there not going to reply to a bad review

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAssistance, Guest Assistance at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, December 17, 2009
All guest correspondence is read and actioned. Our time scale is for the guest to receive a reply from the relevant Head of Department within 14 days of receipt of correspondence. I have personally seen, read and forwarded your comments onto our Food and Beverage Manager and you will be in receipt of reply very shortly. It just remains for me to say that I am truly sorry you did not enjoy your dining experience and to thank you for your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton, sussex
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

Check in was very pleasant and fast and I was made to feel very welcome in a hotel that to be honest feels a bit out of my league, my room (421) was very comfy and clean looked rather modern with the feature wallpaper and funky bed linen, the work station was easy to use but a surcharge for the in room internet access seemed a bit of a money spinner for Hilton, as other hotels of this price and standard tend to offer free internet, (i.e. the Grand hotel,) the bathroom was a tad on the small side but very usable and clean with plenty of fresh towels and free top end toiletries, the room could of done with a seat in it apart from the one for use with the work station, a nice little bucket style seat would of fitted in just nicely buy the built-in wardrobe, the mini bar was locked shut but I did book the room at a rather late time on the day of check in, I did have one problem when I arrived with the bed rolling around the room on caster wheels but a quite word with the kind lady on the front desk soon saw that problem disappear,
Sunday morning I awoke not fresh but as the bed was a little harder than what I’m used to but a nice shower soon had me feeling at my best and breakfast was calling,
Breakfast is truly awesome at this hotel, loads on offer from a quick bowl of cereal to a full English and every thing in-between, made to feel very much at home and I must of spent at least an hour taking in the sights and sounds with a coffee and a free Sunday paper,

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAssistance, Guest Assistance at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, December 14, 2009
Thank you for taking the trouble to post your review. I am so pleased you felt welcome, the whole ethos of Hilton is to ‘Spread the Warmth and Light of Hospitality’. I have passed on you thoughts with regards the idea of an additional chair and the issue of the caster wheels on the bed to our Facilities Manager for review. Thank you again, your comments are much appreciated and I do hope you visit us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beccles
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

this is my 3rd stay at this Hilton, the first time was a disaster, the 2nd time was a waste of money, and this 3rd time was......... well interesting?.
ok........ arrived 3pm sat afternoon to a very wet and windy seafront, parked car in hotel car park ( plenty of spaces but tight!), checked in ( took 3 Min's), and went to my room.
this was a single room that i booked via lastminate.com for £61, so considering this it was worth the money, however if i would have paid the full £144 via Hilton's website i would have demanded a room change.
the room was fairly big if a little tired but warm and clean, had safe trouser press but no mini bar.
bed was comfy and i slept well , didn't wake refreshed but i think this was due to the beer i had with friends the night before.
didn't use the gym but did use sauna and pool........ this is where it lets itself down a bit..... i like to have 2 towels, 1 to have around my shoulders for sweat ( in the sauna), and 1 for drying after my final shower, the attendant insisted i can only have 1 towel..... ok ok , yes its not the end of the world i know but from a hygiene point of view its important, didn't complain , will just take 1 from my room next time, just thought it was a bit "petty".
gotta say breakfast was delicious!, did enjoy it , plus it was novel to eat whilst watching huge waves crash onto the promenade, it was force 10 gale outside, they wouldn't even let you use the front entrance as it was THAT bad!.
ok , to sum -up, it did the job fine, lovely building and staircase, and enjoyed my stay..... oh and parking is £14. for 24hours.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAssistance, Guest Assistance at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, December 7, 2009
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us despite the wild weather! I have checked with our Safety Manager and he has advised me that the front entrance single doors were indeed closed to ensure guest safety, however the front entrance revolving doors were still safe to be used. All our rooms have mini bars provided, so I have asked our Facilities Manager this morning to do a check on all single rooms, as we do not have your room number. Also I have passed on your thoughts regarding the issuing of towels to our Spa Manager and await his reply. Thank you for your review we welcome your feedback and look forward to a fourth visit from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Brighton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Brighton's seafront, the Hilton Brighton Metropole hotel offers charming Victorian elegance alongside modern convenience. This large South of England conference hotel has 340 guest rooms as well as 33 meeting rooms, including three exhibition halls. Enjoy the convenient location of this Brighton hotel, within easy reach of major travel links just off the A23 and only five minutes from Brighton station. Gatwick Airport is 30 minutes from Hilton Brighton Metropole, and Central London less than an hour by train. Stay connected at your guest room desk with WiFi. Family Rooms are equipped with a double and a single bed - ideal for those with small children. Relax in a comfortable Deluxe Room with views of Brighton seafront, or select a Hilton Suite for a roomy seafront home from home. Choose from a menu of modern European classics in the Waterhouse Restaurant. The Waterhouse Bar & Terrace serves Costa coffee and Afternoon Tea in an exquisite setting. Unwind on the sea-facing terrace with drinks and enjoy light meals during the day. Hilton Brighton Metropole offers a choice of flexible space, quality facilities and excellent service. Our Conference and Events Team will ensure that events are tailored to your needs. Unwind in the fully equipped fitness centre and indoor swimming pool, warm tired muscles in the steam room or be pampered and polished on the Beauty Rooms our on-site spa, or treat yourself to a haircut in Cove Hairdressers. Alternatively indulge in what has become a Hilton Brighton Metropole tradition, afternoon tea 'Seaside Delights' in the Waterhouse Bar & Terrace with one of our 'Perfectly Paired' cocktails, or dine in grandeur under the ornately corniced ceiling of Waterhouse Restaurant. Walk down the original 1890's marble staircase of Hilton Brighton Metropole, and out into the chic boutique-lined streets of central Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Brighton Metropole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.