We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny Brighton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Brighton Metropole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Brighton Metropole to your Saves list
Hilton Brighton Metropole
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Redhill, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sunny Brighton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed overnight in a sea view room on a lovely sunny day at Brighton. The location was perfect right opposite the West pier. The room was well equipped , very clean and comfortable.

Staff were very helpful and efficient.

Breakfast was very enjoyable and the service was impeccable.

Room Tip: Excellent location right on the seafront
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard L, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you say the hotel does have a very good location on the beach front making it a great base to explore the local area and all the attractions Brighton has to offer.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, and I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    647
    627
    445
    335
See reviews for
360
863
129
573
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed at this hotel one night, room good view, wet dirty carpet, warm fridge that smelt of sewage, old dirty bathroom. Dined in the hotel and had a very upset tum, spent most of the night on the loo. Tried to have a swim when arrived but pool was full of children. So much for a romantic weekend,

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard L, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

Please accept my apologies for the disappointment you had with both your room and the hotel, please be assured we are renovating and improving the hotel on a regular basis.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Excellent location just few minutes walk from pier.but the room condition is so bad no maintainance work carried since ages .we stayed 2 nights had a bad experience since book in for special occasion for long .rooms seriously need to be looked after as the hotel is near the sea shore .food classic and drinks aussom .service outstanding in f/b.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard L, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

Please accept my apologies for the disappointment you had with the standard and condition of your room, your feedback has been discussed with my Chief Engineer for his review.

Please be assured we are renovating and improving the hotel on a regular basis.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed in the Metropole for 1 night and overall the hotel is very good. Our room was at the front of the hotel with a view of the sea and the, decrepit, West Pier and we thought it might be noisy. However, once the curtains were pulled the street noise was almost unoticeable. The room had been renovated recently with modern furnishings and was laid out to make the room seem quite large. The only slight drawback was that the dressing table/desk was in front of the window meaning you couldn't make the best of the great view.

We wanted to eat in but the restaurant was closed (and apparently is about 3 nights a week)and so food was only being served in the bar and was the bar menu and the room service menu. Food was very good (expensive wine!!) but you would think a 4 star hotel would have a restaurant open.

Parking is advertised at £18 which is expensive, However, when paying we discovered that it was £18 per day i.e. £36 for arriving 4.00 pm one day and leaving 8.00 am the next. Methinks a rip-off!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard L, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

Due to being a city hotel we do offer a very competitive rate within the city centre to our Hotel guests, a 50% discount on the original price which then takes the price down to £18.00 for 24 hour parking. However these discounts are only applied when you pay for your park at the main reception desk upon departure.

If a guest decides to pay at the car parking machine in the car park the discount will not be applied.
Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is not a 4 star hotel at all. it is at best 2 star. It is very tired and run down. I called the hotel before i arrived and questioned the reviews before booking to be told that Trip Advsior was for those who just complain. I advised that i use Trip Advisor and leave very honest reviews. I was reassured that the rooms had been refurbished and please give them a try. On arrival we parked the car in the underground car park and walk round to reception.. checked in and started to go upstairs.. all seemed fine and reception is in good order with friendly staff. The room however was very poor. Stained carpets. moulding skirting boards, fridge did not work and had exposed wires, stained towels and generally very very tired. I was paying £210.00 per night and was very disapointed. I called reception to complain and the general manager called me back. She was very polite and helpful. They reduced the bill to £100.00 per night and free wifi. She advise that they do have refurbed room but these where used for coporate viewings. I stayed as it was £100.00 per night failing that i would have checked out. My advise is stay at the Grand but book early as it is fantastic. HILTON Spend you money and refurbish this 2 star hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the Grand Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard L, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I was very concerned and sorry to read of the issues that you experienced and please accept my apologies.

Please be assured that I have discussed your feedback with the relevant members of my team and assure you further that the level of service one would expect will be restored.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

My husband and I spent a night at this hotel in March 2014. On arrival we discovered that as we are Hilton Honours members we had been given a free upgrade to a king deluxe sea view room. The room was lovely, very spacious, a spotlessly clean bathroom, beautiful views and an extremely large comfortable bed. The bar area had a very relaxing atmosphere and the bar prices were reasonable. The swimming pool facilities were an added bonus, just remember a £1 for the locker! On the Sunday morning we had breakfast in the hotel restaurant. There was a huge selection of food which was beautifully presented and very nice. Overall we could not fault this hotel and will definitely be returning especially as it is near to the town centre and the Brighton centre. We would like to thank Marianna the receptionist who checked us in she was very friendly and efficient and nothing was too much trouble for her.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard L, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review.

I was delighted to read that you had thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay at the hotel. It is always a pleasure to read that the service provided by our team made your stay more enjoyable.

Your positive feedback has been discussed with the relevant members of my team to share within their departments.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, and I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sompting, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Hotel is okay, staff friendly and welcoming. I did notice that it looks very worn and worst for wear in some areas of the hotel but my room was great no complains, lovely big bed. The breakfast buffet very good, so much to choose from. Cannot comment on other facilities such as pool etc. as I did not have time to use. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard L, General Manager at Hilton Brighton Metropole, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to add your review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, and I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Brighton Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Brighton Metropole

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Brighton Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Brighton's seafront, the Hilton Brighton Metropole hotel offers charming Victorian elegance alongside modern convenience. This large South of England conference hotel has 340 guest rooms as well as 33 meeting rooms, including three exhibition halls. Enjoy the convenient location of this Brighton hotel, within easy reach of major travel links just off the A23 and only five minutes from Brighton station. Gatwick Airport is 30 minutes from Hilton Brighton Metropole, and Central London less than an hour by train. Stay connected at your guest room desk with WiFi. Family Rooms are equipped with a double and a single bed - ideal for those with small children. Relax in a comfortable Deluxe Room with views of Brighton seafront, or select a Hilton Suite for a roomy seafront home from home. Choose from a menu of modern European classics in the Waterhouse Restaurant. The Waterhouse Bar & Terrace serves Costa coffee and Afternoon Tea in an exquisite setting. Unwind on the sea-facing terrace with drinks and enjoy light meals during the day. Hilton Brighton Metropole offers a choice of flexible space, quality facilities and excellent service. Our Conference and Events Team will ensure that events are tailored to your needs. Unwind in the fully equipped fitness centre and indoor swimming pool, warm tired muscles in the steam room or be pampered and polished on the Beauty Rooms our on-site spa, or treat yourself to a haircut in Cove Hairdressers. Alternatively indulge in what has become a Hilton Brighton Metropole tradition, afternoon tea 'Seaside Delights' in the Waterhouse Bar & Terrace with one of our 'Perfectly Paired' cocktails, or dine in grandeur under the ornately corniced ceiling of Waterhouse Restaurant. Walk down the original 1890's marble staircase of Hilton Brighton Metropole, and out into the chic boutique-lined streets of central Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Brighton Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel Brighton
Brighton Metropole

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Brighton Metropole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.