We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, tourist class hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton to your Saves list
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
london
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great location, tourist class hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

The Royal Albion is not a grand 4 star sea side hotel (although it looks like one from the outside), it is a cheap and cheerful 2 star with larger than average rooms in probably the best location in Brighton. If you understand this and don't pay over the odds, you will enjoy your stay there.

On the plus side the rooms are large, the location cant be bettered and the breakfast is good and if you get a good rate, great value

On the minus side, the rooms ( and the hotel) is a bit old fashioned, service is not great - mainly because of lack of numbers of staff I thought as they all seemed very good just competely overworked/overwhelmed) - and there is only one lift.

At the weekend it is full of stag and hen parties so checking in/out can take a while, during the week it is full of penshioners on coach trips so the same, lol.

Its not trendy or modern, the staff to guest ration seems very low so don't come here for a weekend of pampering and luxury. However if you want somewhere central (right by the pier and the seafront), cheap and cheerful - this is a good place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    283
    352
    326
    727
See reviews for
199
736
89
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

We booked this for a family hotel, twin rooms, via the Britania hotels website and booking centre in Manchester. On the weekend of our arrival we discovered that we had been booked into their hotel in Folkstone. We had to wait over 2 hrs while they checked the recorded call, from months before hand for them to discover that it was THEIR ERROR. We now know while it was so easy to get discount!

We ended up for the first night with our group spread over 2 hotels, and then most of the party back into the hotel for the second hotel.

How to discribe the hotel, Tired, tatty, and unhygenic bathrooms. The place needs to be revamped and cleaned. Not value for money at all.

The staff in the hotel did their best they could for us and were very helpful, but sadly they are let down by the colleagues in Manchester, who even run one of the most arrogant anf rude customer services dept I have eaver experianced.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Booked this hotel for the weekend (16-18th July), for a Hen party (6 people)
When we arrived, It took a while to get checked in, as they couldnt find out booking refrence. We were given the key to our rooms and took the long walk to get unpacked. We had booked Twin rooms.
Walking to our rooms (floor -1 in the basement of the hotel) all you could smell was cigarette smoke, and the over whelming smell of Damp and Mould, this only got wose when we finally arrived in our room (room 171) the room was absolutly disgusting.
The carpet looked like it needed replacing 10 years ago, covered in stains, We would not have walked bare foot on it at all. The window opened about 2 inches, with the view of these big black pipes we can only assume were connected to hotel generator, the black pipes and the window were completly covered in bird poo. The Bathroom was disgusting, there had obviously been some sort of water leak in the room, causing the frame of the bathroom door to rot, lots of mould, and we had little bugs walking around on the bathroom floor with Flies coming out of the hole in the door where it was rotten.
The beds- very uncomfortable and would not have been able to sleep on them. It looked like they had got a moody 10 year old to make the beds, everything just chucked on the bed, not a good appearence at all.

We complained at the reception, and was changed to a double room- moved to room 221.
Generally a bit better, but still in a state of disrepair. Wall paper peeling all over the place, smell of damp/mould. Disgusting carpets, water marks above the bed and the best thing of all, a dead pigeon right outside the window!! (which again opens 2 inches).

The staff very unhelpfull-
requested 4 times at the Bar for an ice bucket, kept being told to return to the Bar after 15 minuteseach time.
The resturant staff very unhappy and unaproachable, it was very noticable they did not want to be on shift! Shoving people out of the way when they were trying to refill the buffet breakfast.

Disabled Access-
We did not have any people with disabilities within our party, but i personally witnessed an elderly couple, one in a motorised wheelchair struggling to get out of the hotel (around 5 steps, and 2 double doors) I offered my help, along with a few people passing by. They stated there was a ramp on the other side of the hotel, but it was completly unaccessable, having to move tables and chairs out of the way of it, and it was too steep and narrow for the wheel chair. Instead they had to rely on people to help them up and down the stairs, with someone carrying down the heavy wheelchair whilst the elderly man struggled down the stairs.

The lift!!
One tiny lift at the reception (it states in the lift it holds 8 people) that is for the whole hotel. It had enough room in there to hold around 4 people. It stunk of urine! we used it once the whole weekend, as there was just too many people waiting to use it all the time. the one time we did use it, not only did it smell, it came out with the quote " LIFT ERROR, OUT OF ORDER" whilst we were in it.....

Breakfast buffet-
The food- generrally ok, not the best, not the worse. The main problem with the breakfast we had, was the size of the dining room. It is way too small for the amount of people that are staying in the hotel. There are not enough chairs and tables, no space to be able to walk around in etc. it took us a while to be able to get to the food (whilst being pushed, knocked into, shoved etc) - Very unpleasent atmosphere to be eat in.

Location- well, this is the only good thing going for the hotel, Right oposite to the Brighton Peer and the sea life center, and the only thing that kept us going for the weekend!

I would definatly not recommend this hotel to anyone. It needs to be completly refurbished from top to bottom, absolutly disgusting, couldnt wait to get home to have a bath to wash the hotel filth off of me.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

Booked a 2 night stay for my niece and her partner on 29th May 2010. The room was double booked; The room was disgusting and uninhabitable. The bathroom basin was cracked and the carpet in the room saturated, with what we will never know! The night duty manager confirmed the room was uninhabitable and my niece and her partner decided to check out that night. We were told no charge would be made. We have yet to receive a refund, even after speaking with the manager at least 3 times and sending at least 4 emails. AVOID, AVOID

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

My husband & I booked a 3-day deal at The Royal Albion as it worked out cheaper than a travelodge! I booked a standard double and called to check if our 3 year old daughter could just share our bed (at no extra cost) which they were fine about. When we arrived we were delighted to find we'd been upgraded to a superior sea-view room with jacuzzi (Rm 419) which went down very well with our wee girl. She loved watching the pier light up from our window as it got dark and the bath caused much hilarity. Our window opened to about 5inches which was fine as any more whould have been dangerous for our little one. A hairdryer and spare blanket and towels were provided in the room.The location cannot be faulted- close enough to have a dip in the sea or take the wee one to the pier and then nip back to change.There was a bit of street noise the first night (a Sunday) but it WAS the World Cup Final! This may be more of a problem with clubs etc at the weekend but as we were mid week it was fine. Breakfast, from 7-10am, was included as a cooked and continental buffet which was frequently refreshed. Toast was a bit bendy buts that's the only bad thing I can say about it really. We ate twice in the Lounge area as the breakfast room was quite busy and it was very relaxing to read the free newspapers and watch the world go by outside while having our coffee, and our daughter amused herself hiding behind the big leather sofas. There was also free wi-fi on the ground floor so we checked our emails on the laptop here too. Bar was reasonable and room service was cheap- if a bit limited. They also looked after our bags on our last day after checkout so we could have a wander around town. Desk staff were helpful in directing me to a chemist and when I requested out-of-hours bed change.
The only negatives I can think of, I would consider fairly minor: our dirty teacups weren't changed in our room; the decor was a little old-fashioned (but clean and in perfectly good repair) and that there was a very strange smell in the corridor outside our room (couldn't smell it at all once inside the room). I discovered the carpet outside our door was damp and this is what the smell was. I reported it and a cleaner was immediately sent to put down towels and a bucket ( for the drip from the ceiling which was the cause!) I don't know what they did to the stinky carpet but they made it better so I was happy with that. I would definitely stay there again, especially at such a good price!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

We stayed last year for a weekend, and although it wasn't perfect we decided to give it the benefit of the doubt and go back this year. Mistake! The room we had was one of the 'refurbished' ones (125). It had a great view over the Old Steine, but there was no way of ventilating it -the windows didn't open and there was no aircon. The mattress was incredibly soft and uncomfortable. After 3 nights we both had bad backache. One of the chairs had a disgusting bloodstain on it. The bathroom ceiling was covered in very bad water stains. On Sunday our room wasn't serviced, although we had been out of the hotel from 10:30am till 4pm. We complained on our way out to dinner at 7pm and were told it would be sorted out. When we returned at 11pm, someone had made the bed, dumped some clean towels and put some new cartons of milk on the tray. They hadn't removed the used cartons, emptied the bins, cleaned the bathroom or removed and replaced the dirty coffee mugs from our early morning drink. We complained again and the manager came up. She took the dirty mugs but they were never replaced, and emptied the bin. A maid came and cleaned the bathroom, although with a very bad grace. Both of us had upset stomachs after breakfast on both Sunday and Monday. The reception staff seemed unfamiliar with the words 'please' or 'thankyou', and especially unfamiliar with 'sorry'. There was only one person serving in the bar, who was extremely slow, so it wasn't possible to get a drink. I could go on, but won't. Basically, this hotel is in a brilliant position (although very noisy all night because of stag and hen parties) but don't stay there under any circumstances.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

This hotel has improved a lot since I was last there in terms of decor, to be fair. The main issues are the legions of stag and hen parties, the greasiest most unappetising breakfast in history (when mixed with huingover hens and stags blundering around in t-shirts reading "hayleys w**res" etc), and the thin walls which meant i was up half the night listening to some couple argue about whether dennis was better in bed or not. Add the fact that the jacuzzi's dont work anymore and a shower floods the bathroom - not great.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Address: 35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Albion Hotel in Brighton is a Regency Style Hotel built in 1826 which offers a warm and friendly environment in a premier position directly opposite Brighton Pier. So, if you are looking for a seafront hotel in Brighton, you won't get much closer than this. Facing the sea, it's right at the heart of the action. Our Brighton hotel is proud of its reputation as a family hotel. It can be tricky to find hotels in Brighton for families, which is why we make sure that everyone feels welcome staying with us. It's for our hospitality, not to mention our fabulous position, that the Royal Albion Brighton is one of the most popular hotels in Brighton. All of the hotels' 208 bedrooms are en-suite and provide facilities including television, radio, trouser press, telephone and hairdryer. Many of the rooms feature luxury Spa baths and stunning Sea Views. A spa bath facility in your own room means you don't have to leave your room to treat yourself to some fantastic bubbly relaxation.The Royal Albion's Jenny restaurant serves succulent traditional cuisine, the fantastic views out over the English Channel make dining here is an absolute pleasure. The Pavillion Bar and the Bar Rogue Cafe Bar are stylish drinking spots that provide good food and drinks with great music at night. You can be sure of an exciting stay at the Royal Albion Hotel Brighton.Our five Conference, Meeting and Banqueting rooms are elegantly furnished, equally suitable for day or evening events catering for up to 150 delegates. So if you are looking for conference facilities in Brighton, look no further than the Royal Albion Hotel Brighton. WIFI is available FREE throughout the hotel's public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.