We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location great for budget traveller” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton to your Saves list
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Location great for budget traveller”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights b&b. Good.. Room ready earlier than expected. Reception staff friendly. Lovely big sitting room with views of pier, wheel etc is best part of the hotel. Not so good... Breakfast very busy had to queue for food and wait for unoccupied table. Food ok with good selection. Bad... Decor and furniture throughout looks tired and dated. Noisy due to hen parties coming in late and banging doors. Air con units near bedroom window noisy 24hrs. Paid £65 per night which is about right for an old tired hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    315
    391
    353
    763
See reviews for
210
804
95
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel needs knocking down and re-building.
The decor is awful. The food is awful. The staff are awful, one staff member looks like an undertaker that has never cracked a smile!!! My sisters bed even had some carpet cut out from underneath and put infront of the bathroom!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Well not sure where to start, We went to this hotel as part of a coach party and to say we were treated as second class citizens is an understatement. We were unable to enjoy the entertainment that was on offer due to the lateness of our dinner sitting (despite the dining room being half empty in the 30 mins before we were allowed in) also the staff just need to communicate with each other....Information which they gave was then contradicted by a notice board a few feet away from the reception desk.
As we queued up for our first meal we were told that there was no record of our being in the room we were in... same thing next morning at Breakfast, then for our second evening meal we were told our room number was an unoccupied room ....then we were interrupted while eating our meal to be told we were in a room 2 floors below the room we were occupying.... and on 2 occasions while waiting for friends in the reception area we witnessed guests complaining that when they had checked into their rooms they had found that the rooms were already occupied to which staff didn't really seem very concerned.
The Hotel is a lovely old building and perfectly located for all the great attractions that Brighton has to offer.
Despite the many communication problems we had we enjoyed our stay very much and thought the hotel although a little tired was very clean just wish all the staff were giving the same information to guests

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I can't offer a view on the hotel itself but was frustrated at booking a room for a Saturday night and then having to cancel. The lady taking the booking went to great length to explain the cost, the extra admin fee etc, but then only informed me after taking payment that the check-out time was 10am. I have stayed in dozens of hotels and this is the first time I have ever come across such as early check-out time (so much for a lie in at the weekend!). When I asked for this to be extended - something man y hotels have done in the past for me for free - I was told there would be an extra charge. I decided to cancel and was told that the money would take 5-7 days to be back in my account. The latter might be more to do with the banks than the hotel but would it have really killed them to grant us an 11am check-out time? Mind you, reading the reviews here, I am not sure I am missing that much!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

A grand old hotel right on the sea front in need of a little TLC however still very functional as a lovely place to stay. Great views of the pier from the bar in the hotel. Close to the Brighton wheel. The shops in the Lanes are only a few minutes walk. Food in the hotel was basic however it was tasty and plenty of it. The room we stayed in had views park and the fish restaurant across the road. For an extra £10 per person you could have a room with a sea view.
Breakfast had a good selection.
Very pleasant and helpful staff, we would recommend staying here to anyone on a budget look out for the deals they do and it is work paying extra for the breakfast and evening meal options as you will be pushed to find a better deal for a 3 course meal with tea and coffee.

Room Tip: It would be worth paying £10 extra per person for a sea view as you will get a great view of the Pie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Have just returned from a 2 night stay in this ghastly hotel. Reception staff surly - gave us our key and sent us on our way. We had to trek with our bags down a flight of stairs and along endless dreary corridors and eventually arrived at our room. Opened the door to find it occupied - thankfully only clothes and luggage in room, so no embarrasing encounters with occupants. Had to trek back to reception and were allocated an alternative room next door to the original room, so another trek back. No apology from reception. Room was acceptable, although tired and the loo and the carpet needed a good clean. Breakfast was taken in some barn of a room furnished in the most basic uninviting way - tables were crammed very close and people kept bumping into our chairs. Apart from the cereals, food was almost inedible and the coffee was like grey dish water. Some of the chairs in the lounge area were ripped. That night went to sleep, only to be woken at 12.30 pm by a great cacophony of noise - realised our ground floor room was right opposite a night club - buses revved up, ambulance and police arrived and noise continued unabated until 4.00 am. Only positive was that the room was warm, plenty of hot water and linen crisp and clean. Just not enough to tempt us back, even though we visit Brighton frequently to visit our son. Will have to find alternative hotel - it can't be worse - can it?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel Monday to Friday with Travel style. I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel after reading some of the dreadful reviews.
I stayed in room 421, double bed, Jacuzzi bath, lovely and warm, no sea view, but this was not a problem.
Food is excellent, at times you do have to queue.
99p bar 6-9
Location is excellent for Pier, Pavilion, Sea life centre and shops.
A very relaxing, enjoyable break at a hotel that is yes dated but full of charm, and for what you pay I would not be expecting 5 star accommodation, I would expect clean rooms, polite staff, good food and that is exactly what I got.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Address: 35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Albion Hotel in Brighton is a Regency Style Hotel built in 1826 which offers a warm and friendly environment in a premier position directly opposite Brighton Pier. So, if you are looking for a seafront hotel in Brighton, you won't get much closer than this. Facing the sea, it's right at the heart of the action. Our Brighton hotel is proud of its reputation as a family hotel. It can be tricky to find hotels in Brighton for families, which is why we make sure that everyone feels welcome staying with us. It's for our hospitality, not to mention our fabulous position, that the Royal Albion Brighton is one of the most popular hotels in Brighton. All of the hotels' 208 bedrooms are en-suite and provide facilities including television, radio, trouser press, telephone and hairdryer. Many of the rooms feature luxury Spa baths and stunning Sea Views. A spa bath facility in your own room means you don't have to leave your room to treat yourself to some fantastic bubbly relaxation.The Royal Albion's Jenny restaurant serves succulent traditional cuisine, the fantastic views out over the English Channel make dining here is an absolute pleasure. The Pavillion Bar and the Bar Rogue Cafe Bar are stylish drinking spots that provide good food and drinks with great music at night. You can be sure of an exciting stay at the Royal Albion Hotel Brighton.Our five Conference, Meeting and Banqueting rooms are elegantly furnished, equally suitable for day or evening events catering for up to 150 delegates. So if you are looking for conference facilities in Brighton, look no further than the Royal Albion Hotel Brighton. WIFI is available FREE throughout the hotel's public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton Hotel Brighton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.